Whole Hog 3PC For MAC !!

2»

Comments

  • neil-NSLXneil-NSLX Registered User
    edited February 2010
    I think we need a Mac Version too.

    But, in my opinion ESP for Mac has come out a bit soon. Theres not a lot of things fully working in ESP - and its painfully slow on a Mac.

    I have some doubts that this will be done any time soon however, since I am led to beleive Barco are spending more money into their video side, rather than the High End areas.

    I also think its a great shame that HES has gone in the direction of these Showgun, Showpix etc units - rather than re-inventing/re-working more modern equivelents of the X.Spot and Studio series, which in their heyday were great and very popular lights.
  • joeshepardjoeshepard Registered User
    edited March 2010
    I'm a Mac guy but I'd be totally happy with just an iPAD app which is essentially what Robbie said they have already started development on. I feel like the MAC vs Windows debate is quickly becoming moot. I can currently run HOG 3 on my MAC using Bootcamp but it still is pretty unusable as the interface really doesn't work properly without a playback wing with it's wheels and thus can't be easily carried around for remote focusing. As all of these tablet devices are beginning to change what's possible it seems pretty obvious that the small device model is the way to go.

    The "works on any small device" approach that Robbie spoke of makes a ton of sense. Having a Hog app that can be easily ported to Android, iPhone, or whatever comes out in the next couple of years seems like the best bang for the time spent to write the code.

    Can't Wait!


    Joe
  • andybabinandybabin Registered User
    edited March 2010
    As it relates to developing a MAC solution..

    As a group we would like to do it however there are some serious hurdles to overcome..

    1. Debian Linux != MACOS - There a tons of differences from a linux perspective where we today we can't just compile on Mac and we get it for free

    This may be a long shot, but would there ever be consideration to making a public debian (non console) release? I understand it'd probably be powerPC only but I'd love to run hogPC under linux (on mac hardware)

    ...windows scares the crap out of me.
  • Greg151Greg151 Registered User
    edited March 2010
    I would much rather have an app for my phone to do remote focus with my Hog PC setup!!!!!!!!

    Also new features are way more important to me than a mac native version. I believe a console computer should be dedicated almost exclusively to being a console.

    Greg
  • JeffMJeffM Registered User
    edited March 2010
    Many of us can see the MAC as being a very nice computer, but the cost of the MAC vs PC is why I have never went the way of a MAC. I can have 2 PC's to every 1 MAC dollar wise. I sold a single widget to a friend who has a MAC. He has no wings and when he uses the front panel encoder wheels with the mouse, there are problems getting them to work correctly. So unless you have a program wing, your pretty much SOL on the MAC.
    High End has their plate full of unfinished and incomplete projects that need their attention way before they worry about another operating system for the MAC.
    Let's see them finish the fixture builder.
    How about a remote focus application for Windows XP/Vista? Windows 7 for HOG 3PC and for the consoles?
    Who cares about an Iphone App? I am with Sprint and cannot use an Iphone anyway. I have a blackberry.
    How about fixing the bugs we have in the consoles operating system before creating new features and more stuff to trouble shoot?
    How about making the Axon work like it should even 95% of the time?
    Maybe if High End would stop wasting money manufacturing the Studio Color 575 fixture(dead horse that knowone is buying) there would be resources available to finish some projects. Oh and we really needed another 100lb mirror fixture again......NOT!
    LED fixtures with media servers built in them is another brilliant waste of time and money that could be better used.
    There is your R&D money and resources to have a MAC OS right there!
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2010
    JeffM wrote:
    Many of us can see the MAC as being a very nice computer, but the cost of the MAC vs PC is why I have never went the way of a MAC. I can have 2 PC's to every 1 MAC dollar wise.
    Well, with the Mac, you can have a fully functional PC with Bootcamp. So, you actually get 2 full working computers. I use my MacBookPro ALL the time for both Windows and Mac. Windows side for Hog3PC, Wysiwyg, GMa OnPC, etc. No issues at all.
    JeffM wrote:
    I sold a single widget to a friend who has a MAC. He has no wings and when he uses the front panel encoder wheels with the mouse, there are problems getting them to work correctly. So unless you have a program wing, your pretty much SOL on the MAC.
    There must be something setup wrong then. As I said above, I use my Mac for programming Hog3PC 5-7 days per week with NO issues.
    JeffM wrote:
    High End has their plate full of unfinished and incomplete projects that need their attention way before they worry about another operating system for the MAC.
    Agreed...
    JeffM wrote:
    Let's see them finish the fixture builder.
    How about a remote focus application for Windows XP/Vista? Windows 7 for HOG 3PC and for the consoles?
    Who cares about an Iphone App? I am with Sprint and cannot use an Iphone anyway. I have a blackberry.
    How about fixing the bugs we have in the consoles operating system before creating new features and more stuff to trouble shoot?
    Again...agreed
    JeffM wrote:
    How about making the Axon work like it should even 95% of the time?
    What doesn't work on the Axon for you? I use Axon's and DL's 5-7 days per week and it's never had an issue. I'm curious as to what you're having problems with.
    JeffM wrote:
    Maybe if High End would stop wasting money manufacturing the Studio Color 575 fixture(dead horse that knowone is buying) there would be resources available to finish some projects. Oh and we really needed another 100lb mirror fixture again......NOT!
    LED fixtures with media servers built in them is another brilliant waste of time and money that could be better used.
    I have to disagree with you here. The Studio Color is a definite workhorse. We own quite a few (and just purchased more). Show me another fixture that does color mixing, runs on 110v and is convection cooled (this is the reason we have VL1000's, Studio Colors and Studio Spot CMY Zooms). We had to have NO FANS.
    Cyber 2.0 is a great fixture when you have either trim issues or sway issues (I have a few places where I can't use a moving head because of the truss sway...and yes, I've seen the RSC Light Lock)
    Same with StudioPix/Showpix. I use them a lot for daytime shows that want eye-candy and lo-res video.
  • JeffMJeffM Registered User
    edited March 2010
    No doubt that the studio color is a solid work horse in that is works and works with minimal problems ever. As far as studio spots, yes, very dependable units.
    Now here are the flaws. studio color: loud pan/tilt belt noise. Way louder than the fans would be. Start mixing colors on the studio color and get several different shades of blue, magenta, and yellow between fixtures. Also has no zoom and noisy strobe function. Studio beam blows the studio color away. Lighter, faster brighter and quieter!
    And yes, I use these fixtures often. Studio Spot just has not light output. Not bright enough. Sad when a technobeam is just as bright at 250W as the studio spot is at 575w.
    Axon servers work great when they are booted up and running. It's the 25% of the time when they will not boot up at all, then your resetting them and playing the waiting game for them to correct themselves. Same problem in the DL 2 & 3. Same servers. Or the occasional time when you walk away from the system for a while to set up another room leaving it running, and return to find it locked up. Real nice.
    And yes, I use them all the the time also. I own Axons myself.
    I have yet to get a client that wants to piss away enough money to rent a studio or show pix nor have I seen any good use for the over priced/designed fixtures. I love a moving mirror and own technobeams. If they weighed 100lbs and took up 4 ft of truss, I would not have any! I also do my own fixture repair and do so for many other companies that own moving lights. I have repaired more studio colors than I can remember. The dichroics in those lights are terrible.
  • Mick MurrayMick Murray Registered User
    edited March 2010
    I was recently doing a show in the arts space of an engineering college in the us. The students have developed their own lighting and video protocol based on an ethernet system, they have an iphone app for remote control of the same and are working right now on an iphone wireless intercom system, a modular automated stage dolly system (similar to visual act) and further development of the lighting protocol and a heads up projected display show control system with augumented reality and similar systems developed and posted ton the ted forum for technical development, it was pretty amazing to see their enthusiasm and their progress without any real leadership or direction toward cureent industry based or passed products, they are developing for the needs of their performance space and engineering a solution that fits. I'd imagine these guys could do a lot toward helping a hog 3 mac beta version and there are a lot of us here that would test it even if only for programming and visualiser use it would be a great help.... so if anyone at HES would like help from these genious programmers please do get in touch
  • holesinthedarkholesinthedark Registered User
    edited April 2010
    Doesn't make much sense when the consoles are Linux and Windows based, plus you cover a larger number of users with Windows versions, especially when you can run the Windows versions on Mac.

    Why would you want to run software in emulation when you can run it native.
    In my experience as a designer, the majority of my peers run a Mac, not a PC.
    A native Mac version would be appreciated by those of us who use a Mac.
    I dont see this as a waste of resources but an additional income stream for High End and also the support of a large number of users.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2010
    Why would you want to run software in emulation when you can run it native.
    In my experience as a designer, the majority of my peers run a Mac, not a PC.
    A native Mac version would be appreciated by those of us who use a Mac.
    I dont see this as a waste of resources but an additional income stream for High End and also the support of a large number of users.

    Well then we are going to have to agree to diasgree. ;)

    If you run it via Bootcamp it IS native.

    Most of my peers in the industry fall into the "power-user" category for computers, and looking at the power-user trends....Mac has been and is getting crushed there due to things like no Blu-Ray support and lagging behind anywhere from 6 months to two years in GFX card and processor support offering much fewer hardware options for Mac users (not somthing power-users take very kindly to).

    A Mac version wouldn't generate any more income for HES-FPS-Barco b/c the software is free.
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited May 2010
    And about Linux version?
  • leebotleebot Registered User
    edited May 2010
    You would think it would be a minor change to port it over to linux. But really how many users that would want it on linux don't already have a pc they can run it on. I would rather they spend time working on bug fixes and enhancements.
  • andybabinandybabin Registered User
    edited May 2010
    leebot wrote: »
    You would think it would be a minor change to port it over to linux. But really how many users that would want it on linux don't already have a pc they can run it on. I would rather they spend time working on bug fixes and enhancements.

    I personally would love a x86 (or even PPC) linux binary. As I think has been addressed in this thread many times. A lot of people have issues with windows.

    If the full hog3 can run linux why can't any of the smaller varieties?

    I understand linux is more of a "poweruser" OS, but do what a lot of enterprise apps do, only support a certain distro (probably some form of debian variant as thats what the hog 3 is based off of)

    Would it be possible to install the hog3 linux package on a powerpc distro? Has anyone tried it?
  • ayyal36ayyal36 Registered User
    edited May 2010
    jxgriffi wrote: »
    I use it in Parallels all the time. That's how I do my remote focus. Hook up the router, choose the network, open Parallels and go for it. Works like a charm. I've never even setup bootcamp because I don't need the horsepower as I only have 2 XP programs left (Wyg and Hog3PC). Everything else, I keep running in my Mac environment and just switch over as needed.

    i have a hardware installation notification when i plug my widget into my mac. im running windows through bootcamp. why is this not working?
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited May 2010
    ayyal36 wrote: »
    i have a hardware installation notification when i plug my widget into my mac. im running windows through bootcamp. why is this not working?

    Without knowing the error or any other details, I can't really say "why" it's not working.

    Give some details about your computer, windows version, Hog3PC software version, etc. along with the actual error your receiving and I might be able to help you.

    You might try giving High End Support a call to see if they can help you too.
  • ayyal36ayyal36 Registered User
    edited May 2010
    Hey all,
    I'm running windowsXP through bootcamp on my macbook. I've installed all the software properly and disabled all firewalls as well as my internet connection. Every time i plug the widget in and try to install it the 'hardware update wizard' window reads, "problem installing this software, a service installation section in this inf is invalid." has anyone stumbled upon this error message!?
    PLEASE HELP!

    Thanks
  • quinnquinn Registered User
    edited May 2010
    ayyal36 wrote: »
    a service installation section in this inf is invalid

    see C:\Windows\setupapi.log

    there are likely missing files, which is typically corrected by re-installing 3PC.
  • codystoltzcodystoltz Registered User
    edited July 2010
    I vote mac U know Well yes u can achieve it going the scenic route but why? if thiers a way to make it so it can run off of mac than they should do it its only going to be one more feature that will make the console look that much better. Which by the way they need to hurry up on the wing drivers for vista 64 bit. Went out and bought a $1800 touch screen pc to run it with the wing and the wing wont work....
  • moti aroshasmoti aroshas Registered User
    edited July 2010
    just do it
  • HM828HM828 Registered User
    edited July 2010
    No brainer, absolutely
  • schlepboyschlepboy Registered User
    edited July 2010
    Back in the day the Hog was on Power PC... then things went over to the dark side of PC and have never recovered... BTW. Hog PC runs well under the "Wintell Native" side of the Mac... so why not go native and skip the shell?
  • renomorenomo Registered User
    edited November 2010
    I run HOG3PC on my mac all the time with VMware Fusion. It creates a virtual computer onto which you can install whatever OS you want. I have a light version of XP and have all my offline editors on it.
    Super easy to install programs onto it and move files into and out of it (drag and drop), all in a program that runs in a window in MAC OS. Make it fullscreen and its like having a PC. Its AWESOME! No need for a separate mac version with this program.

    Of course iPad and iPhone apps would be nice.
  • schlepboyschlepboy Registered User
    edited November 2010
    renomo,

    To a point I can agree but why have a PC when you can have a Mac????

    Utilizing a wintell shell still means you deal with wintell programming full of wintel garbage... kinda like cleaning the leaky trash bag out of the can, installing a new trash bag without cleaning up, and wondering why it still smells! UMware is great but it still requires homage to XP etc.

    If you are going to go native go native... in programing these days it has its challenges but the reward is addressing the full potential of the Mac OS!

    Humbly yet still totally a Mac fan,

    Shlepboy
  • drathbundrathbun Registered User
    edited January 2011
    Am I missing something in this discussion? The WholeHog consoles are built around PC computer with embedded Windows OS correct? So they are basically PC computers with elaborate keyboards and interfaces. The HogPC is basically the OS from the stand-alone consoles that can be run from a PC computer. HogPC is free to download. To get DMX out you need widgets or wings etc.

    So why in the world would High End spend any amount of time developing a HogPC/Mac? What is the return on the investment of development time? Would they sell it? How many people would buy it considering they can run HogPC on their Macs now? Would they make money selling more widgets? I doubt the return on investment would be worth the effort.

    Unless I'm missing a Mac market somewhere? :dunno:
  • JonvgJonvg Registered User
    edited January 2011
    Can Anyone plz tell me how i can get the playback wing and the DP to work on VMware i can see it under the VM USB but have no control.. Also can any1 tell me how i can use a monitor in VMware.. Thanks
  • magiclightmagiclight Registered User
    edited January 2011
    Wow! Sure it's great idea to run HOG PC on MAC OS. I use MacBook Pro and run HOG PC using Bootcamp with Windows XP. But... if Wholehog consoles run under Windows, what about showfiles compartability? Would it be possible to download showfiles created on HOG PC under MAC OS to any Wholehog console? MAC use different files system that Windows.
  • QueerdooQueerdoo Registered User
    edited January 2011
    magiclight wrote: »
    Wow! Sure it's great idea to run HOG PC on MAC OS. I use MacBook Pro and run HOG PC using Bootcamp with Windows XP. But... if Wholehog consoles run under Windows, what about showfiles compartability? Would it be possible to download showfiles created on HOG PC under MAC OS to any Wholehog console? MAC use different files system that Windows.

    It works... It's not depend on filesystems, it depends on fileformat. And all consoles (WH,iPC,RH,RHFB,PC) use the same...
  • kinglevelkinglevel Registered User
    edited March 2011
    +1

    Seriously, almost everyone i know in this business likes mac. So i dont see why we should use bootcamp or other virtualmachines...

    EVERY software these days should be multiplatform, makes life a lot easier
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited March 2011
    Developing for further platforms take time and people, if I would had to choose between:
    - Multi platform software
    - most features and kicker updates
    I Would choose second one.
  • dandan Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2011
    I vote with Marty.
    There are far more important things that the developers could be working on, especially as the product still does not do what it originally said on its tin 9 years ago.
    There is no touchscreen mac laptop (the ipad is a toy, not a laptop) available so its a pointless exercise.
    D
  • inroyalinroyal Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Instead of developing a native mac os x version of hog3pc fps should put some effort in programming a native Hog remote iPad/iPhone app over wifi. Connect like a client on the server system for remote focussing with a small useful gui...
    Basically an easy job for programmers

    Thanks
  • lumenlumen Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Build it and they will come.
  • inroyalinroyal Registered User
    edited April 2011
    lumen wrote: »
    Build it and they will come.

    In order to to that I'd need documentation about the networking protocols, communication between the server & client etc. not possible without proper informations and documentation...

    Sorry for that...
  • inroyalinroyal Registered User
    edited April 2011
    We could do that with finding out the protocol with ethereal... could take a while
  • jussikamunenjussikamunen Registered User
    edited April 2011
    No doubt multiplatform support would be nice for other than pc users.
    But since hog3pc is usable via virtual pc I would not start using resources to any new platform version.

    Proper HES supported RFU software is way more important. Any really portable device would do it for me (apple/android/?).
  • jussikamunenjussikamunen Registered User
    edited April 2011
    jxgriffi wrote: »
    I have to disagree with you here. The Studio Color is a definite workhorse. We own quite a few (and just purchased more). Show me another fixture that does color mixing, runs on 110v and is convection cooled (this is the reason we have VL1000's, Studio Colors and Studio Spot CMY Zooms). We had to have NO FANS.

    I agree with Jon, no fans and loving it. We are keeping Studio Spots alive for this exact reason. Working a lot with philharmonic orchestras and noise really is an issue. Also using a set of VL1000´s but very disappointed with all the motor noise...
  • inroyalinroyal Registered User
    edited April 2011
    @Jussi

    I think you should move this post...
  • jussikamunenjussikamunen Registered User
    edited April 2011
    inroyal wrote: »
    @Jussi

    I think you should move this post...

    Inroyal,
    have you read the whole thread? Specially the part where HES resources are discussed (starting from post #56, page 2) and whether resources used in some moving heads should be discontinued or not and if the manpower to hog3mac development could be found from there.
  • tymontymon Registered User
    edited October 2011
    the titan series avolites consoles have a wonderful solution for a remote: there is a little web server on the console, so no matter if you use iphone/ipad/ipod touch and safari, or any other device, as long as it has a web browser and wifi..
  • John DavisJohn Davis Registered User
    edited February 2012
    I have a Mac mini and boot it in windows 7 and its fine. I think they should fix the DMX Laggy for the iPC. I have an upgrade (new motherboard) kit which cost a pretty penny and the DMX Laggy is getting on my nerves.
    John Davis.
  • dasweetdudedasweetdude Registered User
    edited April 2012
    l think a mac version would be good alot more stable on mac then windows.l do love my windows had it since 95 but my mac has given me less trouble.
  • dasweetdudedasweetdude Registered User
    edited April 2012
    l think a MAC one would be great just cause there isn't alot of MAC users does'nt mean they would'nt use it l'd prefer to use Hog PC on a MAC then my PC or windows laptop.
  • SHOWGUNSHOWGUN Registered User
    edited April 2012
    I wonder why we haven't gotten any HES Staff members on this post yet... I'd like to know what they think in relation to this post!
  • dasweetdudedasweetdude Registered User
    edited April 2012
    Not really sure l know that l have been a windows user since windows started still got my original copy of windows 95 got my mac last year and l still think os/x is alot more stable then windows its why l have'nt bootcamped my mac or even bother to use paralell desktop ect on it.I think that maybe to make the hog program in the mac language might be too costly for them to get it up to scratch as there's still little bugs in the windows version esp if you dont use xp.Not everyone wants to stick with xp and may prefer windows 7 or vista.
Sign In or Register to comment.