Roadhog Broken Screen

AndyPAndyP Registered User
The right hand screen in my Roadhog has mysteriously stopped working. When I start it up it gets power as the 'No signal Check cable' message comes up on both screens as normal, however nothing displays on the screen after that. When a show loads, all of the toolbars etc that should be on the right hand screen display on the left one along with the usual left screen stuff.

The touch screen part of the right screen still works as when you run your finger around it, the mouse moves around the left hand screen - however the calibration is now way out on the left screen!

I presumed the VGA had broken or come lose so I took the desk apart to find that all of the connections were intact. I unplugged the VGA out of the right screen and plugged it into an external monitor and even with a restart, nothing was displyed on this screen.

This leads me to believe it's either the VGA cable (which i doubt, as when I plugged in the external monitor, the self test disappeared, suggesting it was receiving a signal-just a black one) or the video card.

I noticed that the left screen seems to come out of the inbuilt graphics and the right screen comes out of removable video card. Could it be this video card that is Donald Ducked?

Anyone got any thoughts......desk is just being used for playback at the moment so not too much of a biggy....but programming the next show early in the new year is going to be impossible!

Also, what is the length of the manufacturers' warrantly as desk is about 18 months old - so outside a 12month warranty, but I'm hoping it might be a 24month warranty! (A long shot I know, but worth a stab!)

Thanks

Andrew

Comments

  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Video card/drivers? VGA cable itself is defective. Having never had to take a console appart before I cant really provide much assistance. Others im sure will quickly reply to this however. Have you contacted your local product support specialist? Im surprised mark didnt mention this to me when I was at the royal court the other day for the Radio City gig. I was the young dude in the Road Hog t'shirt.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited December 2008
    I remember one time a screen went dead on our Road Hog when the BIOS battery went bad. It's a simple a cheap fix if that's it.
  • AndyPAndyP Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Oooh the BIOS battery sounds interesting.....we've had trouble with the clock loosing an hour every time the desk is powered down...so maybe this is what it is......I'll try that tomorrow! Thanks

    I've not contacted anyone yet, as this problem only happened yesterday and I was in shows all day!
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited December 2008
    BIOS makessome sort of sense... but not entirly... If it was that surely the console wouldnt function. I'm sticking to video car and or drivers.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited December 2008
    BTW the last time I checked all the FPS console warranties are for 2 years.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Joe, just as a word about what I had....we had a bad BIOS battery on our particular RoadHog. It wouldn't save the settings of the console entirely (ie one screen would not work), but did work enough to allow us to use the console. All the DMX outputs functioned, and technically we could program with it. So, the console did function, persay, just had a monitor that wouldn't turn on, but did show up in the beginning saying no input just as said above.

    Basically, all the things that he said about the external display card simply not outputing were the same too, as well as a screen not working when the system finally started up.

    That's just my suggestion on it with the BIOS battery, but it could be wrong too. It's just a real inexpensive fix if that's the issue.
  • AndyPAndyP Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Update:

    I changed the BIOS battery and partial success!

    The problem still exists exactly the same, however the screen that wasn't working is now displaying and the one that was, isn't anymore!

    I heard a rumour that when you change the BIOS battery it defaults to only using one screen and that you have to enable the 2nd? Is this right? If so, how do I enable the 2nd (left hand) screen?

    Ta

    Andrew
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2008
    I would suggest a call into the service guys at HES. They should be able to walk you through whatever you need to do rather quickly...

    Chris Ferrante (Germany)
    Wholehog Consoles
    chris.ferrante@barco.com
    +49.174.340.8518

    Jens Hillenkotter (United Kingdom)
    Wholehog consoles
    jens.hillenkotter@barco.com
    +44.7515.772.116
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Jens is definitly the nearest, despite he lives in london whcih is 300 miles from liverpool lol.
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited December 2008
    Hello, the link below has the proper BIOS settings and instructions on how to get to it. If you changed the battery you will probably need to go through and make some changes to the BIOS which are on the document linked to below. The left display not working can be a BIOS issue.

    http://www.flyingpig.com/support/RoadHogBIOSSetup.pdf

    FPS consoles have a one year warranty.
  • AndyPAndyP Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Update:

    I reset all the BIOS settings on Saturday night and bingo! It was a success. Thanks to everyone for their help with this.

    Interestingly, despite now having a nice new shiny BIOS battery, the clock still seems to loose an hour every time the desk is powered down....any ideas?

    PS I haven't upgraded to V3.0 yet, but it has been happening in numerous software releases.
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited December 2008
    I know this is going to sound patronising.. but are things like the time zone etc set to the right ones?
  • d.pendletond.pendleton Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Andrew, I've just sent you a txt message about this....
    Deano.
  • dwp-avdwp-av Registered User
    edited December 2008
    My iPC loses an hour everytime it powers down as well. Never gave much thought to it, but if there is a fix, I would be interested in hearing it. BIOS battery perhaps, and is there a document on changing it out??
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Yes it can be found at www.flyingpig.com inder documents. It is clearly labbeled.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Andy, glad to hear that the BIOS battery replacement and BIOS settings worked to get that screen back. It's a strange matter about the losing an hour though.....not sure what that is.
  • edited December 2008
    Install the latest OS image; That should take care of the time jumping by an hour at each boot. Older images don't handle the daylight saving time transitions properly.
  • AndyPAndyP Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Just to finish this topic off....having now upgraded to the latest XPe my clock does now keep time! Thanks Eric!
Sign In or Register to comment.