DL3 Interlacing Problem

jabadgerjabadger Registered User
edited April 2008 in DL.3/DL.2
I have some odd thing happening with my DL3's. In my mockup I have three fixtures in a 1x3 collage. If I have a movie running on layer 1 and then add another movie on layer 2 and then try turning that movie around using the Z Rotation or try panning it around using the X and Y position, the image on Layer 2 will start breaking up digitally. Almost like a bad interlacing problem but worse. Makes it unuseable. The only way I have been able to avoid it is to put the image onto a 3d globe and move that around.

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited April 2008
    Sounds like you are experiencing "Z" fighting.....what console are you using?

    This can happen with DL.2s as well.

    Simple solution is to move the GFX layer slightly in Z-Space by changing the Z-Pos a few points so the layers are not trying to occupy the same Z-space.

    Hope this helps:)
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited April 2008
    I was moving the Z Pos all over the place and still was getting the same response.

    Using a Virtuoso.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited April 2008
    This might be obvious, but are you moving the Z-Pos on GFX layers individually or all together?

    You should be moving the Z-Pos independently from one another or the problem will persist

    Try checking the default values in the Virt profile as well.....I would think that it is OK, but worth a look as I have never used DLs off of one personally.

    You can also try using the DL.2 profiles with DL.3 as they are similar enough to rule out a possible profile issue.
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited April 2008
    Using the DL2 profile already. The Z Pos only makes a difference if I'm using a 3D object. I didn't recall seeing anything happening when I moved it without a 3d object.

    I'll play with it some more when I get in.
  • SBlairSBlair Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited April 2008
    Jason,

    As far as the engine knows it is always using a 3D object. The 4x3 object is still a 3D object, just with very little depth. You can still get Z-fighting occuring even with it.
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited April 2008
    Yeah, I see that now. No more lines. Thanks :-)
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited April 2008
    No problem....glad everything is good now!:)
Sign In or Register to comment.