Real World Units... Whers is BPM.

jmsait19jmsait19 Registered User
edited November 2006 in Wholehog 3 General Discussion
I noticed in the manual the section about Real World Units, and the abstraction layer and all. It talked about measuring the strobe effect in BPM. I've tried all sorts of thing to get this, but it displays the strobe in Hz.

Is this something that can't be changed, or am I totally missing it?


Thanks,

Jason

Comments

  • GOGOGOGO Registered User
    edited August 2006
    jason,

    the bpm is i.e for chases.
    the bmp rate is shown in the fader window when a chase is assigned
    to a masters fader.
    you can also press chose for a chase q-list and change the speed on the left encoder wheel.
    also there is a learn timing function if you press and hold choose and the playbutton several times.

    for strobing the real world value is shown in hz.
    at the moment you should not overexpect to much from this value.
    because it is not real world.
    it doesn't matter what the designation is.

    so you still have to do the strobes by eyes and REAL world....


    robert gurk
  • jmsait19jmsait19 Registered User
    edited August 2006
    Bummer, I must've missed that, or just assumed it would also be applied to the strobing (hint cough new feature cough hint)

    the Hz measurement is accurate though, correct?

    I could expect 1Hz to equal 60 BPM (1 cycle/second * 60 seconds/minute).

    So as long as I knew the tempo of the song I could calculate it that way, right?
  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited August 2006
    Actually no... -In theory yes, hovewer since theres only a handfull of calibrated fixtures in the library, it won't do you any good if you don't use those fixtures.. and i'm not shure if the strobe has been calibrated on those either..
  • jmsait19jmsait19 Registered User
    edited August 2006
    boooooo...

    So it is a fixture problem that can't really be fixed.

    Is there somewhere I can find a list of fixtures in which this measurement would be accurate (calibrated fixtures)?
  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited August 2006
    http://www.flyingpig.com/support/hog3/downloads/library/web_table_v4-0-173.html

    that is the current list atm.. but as you see, theres not many Y's.. and im not shure if they are only calibrated on the colour, or if strobe is included.. i guess Steve or someone else can spread some light on the subject.
  • jmsait19jmsait19 Registered User
    edited August 2006
    eh, no reason to really carry on here. you answered more questions. we don't have those fixtures. I'll just keep going by eye...

    Thanks again,

    Jason
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited August 2006
    Anders,

    You are correct that the calibration chart on the web only refers to colour calibration. Currently the fixtures are not calibrated on other parameters, although that was the original intent.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited August 2006
    Hmm...it would be nice to tap in those parameters...and it goes at least as close it can...

    Tapping would be nice for Strobe, gobo rotate and FX cycle...
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited August 2006
    Sami,

    That's a great idea.
    I've logged your request as enhancement #9841.

    Thanks.
  • rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited November 2006
    Learn tempo would be great also.

    Ross
Sign In or Register to comment.