Floppy drive replacement...?

bitbratbitbrat Registered User
So I have a couple of links for you.... I have been researching the idea of replacing the floppy drive in a Hog 2 with some sort of card reader, and I have come across these sites (one is linked from the other) - does anyone have any experience with this, or any comments....?

http://jimwarholic.com/2009/04/fdd-floppy-disk-drive-emulators.php

http://www.plrelectronics.com/floppy_to_usb.php

I can see where problems might arise if someone rented the board and only had their show on floppy, but they could (?) just copy the show to a thumb drive first.... Also, there are floppy/flash card reader combo drives available, but these all appear to require the equipment to ALREADY be able to use USB...... Dunno, thoughts?


AJ

Comments

  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited December 2009
    I have no experience with these devices, so can't advise you either way.
  • bitbratbitbrat Registered User
    edited December 2009
    OK then, anyone else? ..... anyone,....? Bueller? Anyone?
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited December 2009
    I have not used one, but can't fathom how they could fail to work. The floppy interface is a standard, and as long as they adhere to it, the console would not know what the actual hardware device is . . . . I don't, however, think that you would get any additional capacity, though, since the diskette size is pretty much hard coded into the console software. What you *would* get is zero moving parts . . .

    Oh, and god only knows what format the data is stored on the thumb drive/memory card it . . . while it *should* be compatible with another system, who knows? If they are just emulating the floppy electrical interface, and passing the data onto the memory stick/card in MSDOS/VFAT, then all should be golden . . .

    I'll have to keep this in mind if/when my Hog gets a sick floppy . . . of course, $15 to replace the floppy can take you a *LONG* way compared to $275/each . . .

    - Tim
  • rob0260rob0260 Registered User
    edited March 2010
    We have installed 2 x IPCAS USB floppy emulators in our Hog 1ks with no problems at all.
    It took about 30mins per desk to install but just be aware the Hog needs to format each virtual floppy which takes about 3-4 minutes per floppy. we spent and hour or so formatting a dozen or so floppys each to make the saving easier for the operators.
    :cool:
  • jamoco87jamoco87 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    rob0260;45751 said:
    We have installed 2 x IPCAS USB floppy emulators in our Hog 1ks with no problems at all.
    It took about 30mins per desk to install but just be aware the Hog needs to format each virtual floppy which takes about 3-4 minutes per floppy. we spent and hour or so formatting a dozen or so floppys each to make the saving easier for the operators.
    :cool:
    would it be possible to advise as to which model of IPCAS USB floppy emulator was successful as there are 3 versions available.

    thanks
  • rob0260rob0260 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    Pretty sure our models are IPCAS 0202042-100 they have been in for 3 years now with no problems. When we purchased there was only one type.
    :cool:
  • jamoco87jamoco87 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    rob0260;63775 said:
    Pretty sure our models are IPCAS 0202042-100 they have been in for 3 years now with no problems. When we purchased there was only one type.
    :cool:
    thanks for your reply there are 2 types available see link below:

    http://www.ipcas.com/products/floppy-disk-emulation-floppy-emulators.html

    i would probly look at getting, version to as it seems to be a more out of the box plug and play no hassel option, as outlined in a comparrison table the first link on the website

    do any of those look the same or similar to the emulators u purchased?

    thanks for your :1zhelp:
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited November 2012
    The V2 would seem to be the clear choice, since the Hog is a pure MS compatible file format . . . but interested in others thoughts as well . . .

    And I just wish the prices on these things weren't so insane!

    - Tim
  • rob0260rob0260 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    The black box V2 are the ones. we have
    :cool:
  • jamoco87jamoco87 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    rob0260;63793 said:
    The black box V2 are the ones. we have
    :cool:
    thanks for everyones input, much appreciated
  • big earsbig ears Registered User
    edited November 2012
    Just to clarify to people who have done the change over .

    this is a straight plug and play ? so you remove the old floppy disconnect power and data and the V2 fits in the same slot reconnect power and 34 pin cable and away you go happy days .

    it dose seem that simple but just checking because if it looks simple its generally not :cool:
  • rob0260rob0260 Registered User
    edited November 2012
    It really is a simple installation. I set ours back into the desk further so the USB does not stick out to far. as we had a couple of incidents of crew packing down and leaving a standard size USB in and crushing it in the case. We now use a micro USB and leave it permanently in....No issues for a year+ now.:cool:
  • big earsbig ears Registered User
    edited November 2012
    rob0260;63809 said:
    It really is a simple installation. I set ours back into the desk further so the USB does not stick out to far. as we had a couple of incidents of crew packing down and leaving a standard size USB in and crushing it in the case. We now use a micro USB and leave it permanently in....No issues for a year+ now.:cool:
    good to know Rob thank you ;) now i just need to get around to it, My one is getting a little noisy and ten years old
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited November 2012
    Were the e-Bay units the same one mentioned, or a Chinese knock-off?

    If the latter, how's the quality of the item?

    - Tim
  • LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
    I know this is an old thread but I'm curious have you found a way to mount the USB thumb drive on a computer? I purchased a different brand and I'm unable to see the data on a PC. Do the IPCAS provide software or a driver for viewing/editing the contents on a PC?
  • LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
    Ok, I just figured out my answer... had to pull out my old XP laptop to make the software work and viola I was able to get the USB drive to mount and see the floppy disk volumes on the thumb drive
  • LIGHTMANNZLIGHTMANNZ Registered User
    edited February 1
    I Have Just Replaced My Floppy With A GOTEK SFR1M44-U100K USB Emulator.I Brought A Gotek SFR1M44-U100K Model As These Are Way Cheaper Than The Ipcas Model , So This Thread Is In Order Of Installation.
    1. Remove Back Of Hog Console.
    2. Remove Power & Ribbon Cable Of Floppy.
    3. Remove Floppy Drive.
    4. Install Emulator Into Hog Console.
    5. Plug Cables Back In Making Sure They Are The Right Way Around.
    6. Turn Desk Over ( Face Side Up )Leave Back Off Until Testing Emulator Is Done.
    7. Plug In Console Power & Before Powering Up , Insert USB Stick Into Emulator.
    8. Keep 2 Fingers Pressed On The 2 Buttons On The Gotek Emulator & Switch On Console Power Then Release Fingers From Emulator,This Should Be Starting To Count Up To 999 Which Takes About 2-3 Minutes , Then When Finished Counting 000 Should Be Displayed On Gotek.
    9. Try Saving A Show To The USB Stick & Turn Off Console.
    10. Plug USB Stick Into A Computor & Under My Computor It Should Say Library 1 & If You Open It You Should See Library Folder,Setup Folder & 8 .Dat Files.
    11. If So You Have Succeded, No Need To Format USB Or Use Any Software That Came With Gotek As It Self Formats USB When You First Power Up Console. GOOD LUCK. & Put The Back Cover Back On.
Sign In or Register to comment.