Can't install 3.1.0

Geert AEDRENTGeert AEDRENT Registered User
While updating from v3.0.4 to v3.1.0 following problem occurs,
-starts installing,unpacking,
-you must restart your system,
-after reboot IPC starts normal and update is not installed.

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited November 2009
    Most likely the issue you are experiencing is related to the availability of system memory. Please try the the following procedure:

    1. Attach a keyboard to the console and power on the console.
    2. During the boot process, press the DEL or DELETE key to enter the BIOS settings screen.
    3. When prompted to enter the BIOS password, enter: hesipc.
    The BIOS Setup Utility will open.
    4. Navigate to the advanced tab, select the chipset, and change the video frame buffer size to 8MB.
    5. Press F10 to Save changes and exit the BIOS Setup Utility.
    6. Once saved, the console will boot as normal and you should now be able to install v3.0.5 of Hog3PC
  • Geert AEDRENTGeert AEDRENT Registered User
    edited November 2009
    Tis solved the problem, thank you
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited November 2009
    Excellent. Good to hear.
  • joeshepardjoeshepard Registered User
    edited November 2009
    Interesting addition to this thread. I just upped the RAM in my iPC to 1 gig and now it will do the updates without changing video frame buffer size to 8MB. In fact I can't change the video buffer size to 8MB. If I try to set it to 8MB the iPC gets stuck at the beginning of Windows booting and just continues to reboot. But it all works well if I just leave the video frame rate at 32MB.

    For those interested. I'm not noticing any real speed differences while running shows on the iPC after the RAM upgrade but boot times seem faster!

    Joe
  • ksaundersksaunders Registered User
    edited November 2009
    What spec of ram did you use
    Did you install a 1gig module or 2 x 512
  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited November 2009
    A few notes: There are 5 different hardware versions of the iPC; What works for one version may not work for another. Older versions shipped with 512 meg, newer with 1 gig.

    In general, we don't recommend upgrading memory. The software is intended to run within the production memory, and that's how we test.
  • joeshepardjoeshepard Registered User
    edited November 2009
    I replaced 2 256 modules with 2 512 modules (512mb PC2700 ECC CL 2.5) from RamJet their part number was TS64MLD72V3J. Price was about $90 not including shipping.

    Joe
Sign In or Register to comment.