iPC Lost Video card 2 then crashes

MemphisAudioMemphisAudio Registered User
edited January 2011 in Wholehog 3 General Discussion
I have another customer who owns an iPC and this issue has happened twice. You turn on the console, when it comes to the show menu your external monitor and left monitor, which are plugged into Video card 2 have noise and interference like crazy. Opened the console inspected the card looks good pulled it out reseated it turned the console back on still nothing. In a matter of time with this noise on the monitors the console will just die. You try to turn it on and the red LEDs on the back shows power, but no activity on the hard drive or nothing, the cdrom doesn't even try to read. So at the moment they have a dead console. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS ISSUE?

Comments

  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited June 2009
    This is a pretty serious issue by the sounds of it. Most probably to do with some sort of hardware failure. I would contact the HES support dept: [EMAIL="support@flyingpig.com"]support@flyingpig.com[/EMAIL]. Also, your local Product Support Specialist would be a good point of call.

    Regards,
  • improveimprove Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited June 2009
    HI,

    We had sort of the same issue the other day.. the second graphics card died on us just then. And you really cannot get the IPC to work or do anything at all....

    We replaced graphics card with the same (we thought) and ended up doing a complete reimage of the XPE in order to get the drivers to work with this new card..

    A lot of work I can tell you...
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    Just having a very similar issue with my IPC, the graphics card seems to have died, now I cant get the IPC to run at all, i have taken the card out and tried to re install the OS but it just keeps giving me an error message saying HOG 3 PC HAS ENCOUNTERED A PROBLEM AND QUIT, is this the same problem you where having ???? does the IPC need the second graphics card in the PCI slot to run ?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    You might have a bad video card, and if you remove it you will have issues.

    There should only be one video card.

    When you are installing are you doing a complete restore using the ISO restore image?
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    Hi Marty, yeah the graphics card has been playing up for a week now flickering on and off, today it died and the IPC will now not start up. I have taken the graphics card off the Main Board and tried to do a full ISO install of the HOG OS, it goes through the whole install process and seems fine, The IPC then restarts and I get the error message shown in the attached picture. this is as far as I can get ?

    Help ?

    so will the hog IPC not work if there is no second graphics card ?

    Cheers,

    Dave.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    If you do a Full Restore without the GFX card installed you will have problems for sure....better to have a bad card installed than no card.

    No card will undoubtedly give you problems.

    Try replacing the 90-degree adapter first to rule that out....then try a new video card if that doesn't work.

    Hope this helps.:)
  • stevejardenstevejarden Registered User
    edited September 2009
    Im having similar problems and getting the same error message could not get the console to boot at all at my last show. i have replace video card and right angle conector also bios battery.

    I did notice the time was out on the bios setting when i went in to check while I was trying to work out what was going wrong.
    I replace the battery but no luck.

    does anyone have any other ideas as to what could be causing these errors?

    Could it be the hard drive, ram or the bios itself?

    I also need this solved asap
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    :1zhelp:Hi All,

    Tried a number of things last night but with no luck, but there are 2 things that are still amiss ! I am waiting for a new GFX card (i ordered the same one that was in the IPC) and I dont have the correct BIOS settings as my motherboard is not listed on the HES IPC BIOS help doc.

    I have also sent Mitch a mail so hopefully monday morning USA time (today) i will get a responce, I am hoping that the 3PC software will not start because there is no 2nd GFX card or my BIOS settings are incorrect ?

    I will reply back as soon I hear any more
  • improveimprove Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    Hi,

    Sounds similar indeed.. We bought online a graphics card and installed it. Then did a complete reinstall from the XPE image... After that the desk runs fine... For a couple of year now..

    Succes with yours.
    XOP15;41231 said:
    Just having a very similar issue with my IPC, the graphics card seems to have died, now I cant get the IPC to run at all, i have taken the card out and tried to re install the OS but it just keeps giving me an error message saying HOG 3 PC HAS ENCOUNTERED A PROBLEM AND QUIT, is this the same problem you where having ???? does the IPC need the second graphics card in the PCI slot to run ?
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2009
    Hi All,

    Thanks for all your help and input. I fitted a new video card, re-installed the XPe Image and HOG OS and the IPC worked 1st time, it seems that the IPC will not run with a missing or faulty 2nd video card.

    Cheers,

    Dave.
  • chuymxchuymx Registered User
    edited December 2010
    HI XOP15

    where I can get that video card myself, since I have the same problem and I am in mexico

    thanks
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    Hi There,

    I bought my replacement card from ebay, the spec is listed below, it cost me £30.00 + P&P

    Radeon 9250 128mb DDR VD VO PCI, be sure you get the correct one though as I bought 1 that had a different mother board connector on it the ebay member in the UK i bought from was called cilcain24

    Hope this helps.

    Dave.
  • chuymxchuymx Registered User
    edited December 2010
    perfect I hope you can buy with confidence with my credit card and can be sent to Mexico without any problem x who also thought it was the adapter 90 º pci and you connect the graphics card on a pc I did not image and remove and press the processor on your motherboard and put it back into the ipc console and it worked but had a bit of false contact and varied picture and appreciated like a low-resolution VGA monitor, but I hope it can be achieved with time.

    thank you very much and good luck friend

    chuy mtz
  • chuymxchuymx Registered User
    edited December 2010
    excuse my English is not very good I'm using translators!
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    I also had a problem with the 90º connector, this sometimes works loose, I do have a fix though. replace it with a ribbon connector from these guy's http://linitx.com/viewproduct.php?prodid=10137

    good luck
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Staff, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    Hello, you can get the video card and 90 connector at High End Systems. Part number 80430131, list price is $168.59.

    You can see our online parts list at the link below.

    http://www.highend.com/pub/support/parts/PartsPricing.pdf

    You can get the Parts Order Form and Credit Card Auth form at the link below.

    http://www.highend.com/support/parts/
  • chuymxchuymx Registered User
    edited January 2011
    MITCH XOP15 and thank you very much, and identify the problem and my video card, your processor can be seen from the plate and stop sending video to the monitor I think is what I have to replace. thank you very much for your great help I hope to have it resolved soon. Happy New Year friends
Sign In or Register to comment.