Studio Command Lamp Problem

EsotericEsoteric Registered User
edited April 2009 in HES Automated Lighting
Okay, so now I have a Studio Color with a pulsing lamp. It is not the dimmer but the actual lamp pulsing at a regular interval.

Never seen this before.

Any ideas?

Mike

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Sounds like either a bad lamp, or a bad ballast?

    How many hours are on the lamp?

    What model SC?
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Sounds like either a bad lamp, or a bad ballast?

    How many hours are on the lamp?

    What model SC?

    Brand new lamp.

    SC700.

    Where the ballast in this unit?

    Mike
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2009
    If it is a 700 model it might be the LPS as well as I know that they were prone to issues there.

    Check out the support area here for full schematics, exploded view diagrams, etc....

    http://www.highend.com/support/automated_luminaires/studiocommand.asp

    Hope this helps. :)
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    It was the LPS. This is their 8th LPS failure out of 16 units in 6 months.

    Mike
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    120v non dimmed. 20A.

    They are two per circuit I think. I told them that was a bad idea, but I think they have left it that way.

    Mike
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    Okay there seems to be a misunderstanding here. They are on regular 120V 20A circuits (wire pulled to drop boxes directly from a panel), they are not on dimmable circuits, period.

    Thanks

    Mike
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    They are out of warranty.

    Mike
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    Just replaced.

    Mike
  • EsotericEsoteric Registered User
    edited April 2009
    I have the one that just failed. But it didn't completely fail like the others, but rather it made the lamp pulse.

    Mike
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited April 2009
    At 100v a single unit pulls 10amps....two per circuit is most likely what is casuing your issues.....you are WAY too close to the power threshold.
  • kevinj.lawsonkevinj.lawson Registered User
    edited April 2009
    The Power Factor Correction explanation makes sense when you have a physical dimming circuit between your switching power supply and your power source. My question is can you still potentially damage your PSU's if instead of a dimmer you use a relay switch?
Sign In or Register to comment.