64 bit computers

prmuchaprmucha Registered User
So I know that Hog3 is not supported by 64-bit windows, and that the wings and widgets are not supported by windows running 64-bit either. However, if I was to put a copy of 32-bit windows on a machine that is built for 64-bit, would that work with all the Hog3 products?

The reason I ask, specifically, is that I'm looking at the HP Touchsmart PC and that is a 64-bit PC. So consequently, I want to know that if I dumb the software to 32-bit, will the hardware still allow me to use Hog3PC, wings, widgets, and DP's?

Comments

  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Well, ok, different question now. Apparently, the 64-bit computers will not allow dumbed down 32-bit windows on it. However, you can install XP or Vists 32-bit on microsoft virtual PC 2007.

    So, will the wings/widgets/DP's/Hog3PC work on Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 running on a 64-bit computer operating Vista 64 assuming I'm running XP or Vista 32-bit on the Virtual PC portion?
  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited February 2009
    I run 32 bit editions of windows on "64-bit" capable computer every day. Both Intel and AMD processors can run 32 bit OS's quite happily. I suppose the PC manufacturer could potentially mess up the BIOS to the point that it won't boot a 32-bit OS, but I've never run across any like that.

    We don't recommend using Virtual PC, Parallels, or any other virtuallzation environment. It may work for you, but for show-critical environments it's just another layer of things to go wrong.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Thanks Eric. That's good to know. I assumed using any of the virtual environments would be bad, but I guess I read wrong on the HP Touchsmart forums regarding the 32-bit windows on a 64-bit computer.

    The only thing that is mentioned in the little information on the computer is that you need a 64-bit BIOS to run the processors. Maybe this is what I'm misreading? Or would that mean you cannot run a 32-bit OS?
  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited February 2009
    I've seen a lot of problems where older BIOSs won't support a 64 bit OS, but I've never seens the opposite. Still, it could happen. It may also be a case where HP only officially supports 64-bit editions, so you'd be on your own for drivers, etc.

    Unfortunately, the only way to know for sure is to try it.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Ya I figured as much. The OS shouldn't affect the BIOS though correct?
  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited February 2009
    The OS shouldn't affect the BIOS.

    BIOS is the built-in firmware that the computer uses to configure its own hardware and load the first part of the OS. Once the OS is up and running it takes control of all the hardware and BIOS is largely ignored.
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Hi Patrick
    I have a hp touch smart. I had the same issues with the 64 bit windows. It used to run but they have now locked it. (the wings never worked.) I have made my computer dual boot so I loads windows vista 64 + 32. By doing this in vista 32 bit mode the hog pc works but not all the drivers are available for the computer. You can run a virtual box and I did get it to work with the dmx out. It was running vista 32 in the virtual box. I ran a show like this and it worked. But as on another thread there isn't a date or timeline for 64 support so I decided to dual boot.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Hey Michael-

    So the machine will boot as 32-bit windows without a problem? Really, as long as the wings, widgets, Hog3PC boots, and the touchscreen works I will be happy. Do you know what specifically doesn't work right away?

    -Patrick
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited March 2009
    On vista 32 the issues I have is that it can’t see the pci express slots so my graphics cards is generic and the tv tuner doesn’t work. Due to this the hp touch smarts apps wont work. The touch screen works straight away. You can also download the update drivers. I downloaded all the new drivers and it still didn’t get everything to work. Some of the updates it says something like computer doesn’t meet min requirements. But on hog pc the wings and output dongle works.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Really, the smart apps aren't that important to me in the case of the Hog3PC apps. Mostly, I'd just like an alternative to a large console, which is harder to afford, and still be able to take my Hog3 when I want it. It's a temporary fix, yes, but as long as the touchscreen works, really, I am a happy man.

    So out of curiosity, how do you use it? I planned on putting both the primary and secondary screen on the main touch (hiding the programming window when I have the programming wing attached) and using a single or dual external monitor for my other tasks. I figured with the 22" screen, both the primary and secondary could fit on one touchscreen?
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited March 2009
    I bought the 26 inch version and run the primary and second screens on it and hide the programming and playback when I have the wings plugged in. I then layout the screen the way I want and as they are so large you can have the dmx outoput open and the color picker and still have the pallets in quarters and they are still large enough.
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited March 2009
    I wasn't sure how large it would be, but sounds like large enough to do anything I want that's for sure! Thanks for the insight. I may just have to get myself one of those now.
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited March 2009
    Any news on the software bwing 64 bit ready? Also re the drivers for the wings ect?
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2009
    Hi Michael,

    The news is that we still have plans for this, but we do not have a release date at this point to publish. Not only is there development involved, but also additional testing is required. I will post to this thread when we have a timeline.

    thanks for your patience,
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited May 2009
    Is there any news yet? Should I just wait for windows 7 or would I be waiting longer?
  • GekbeestjeGekbeestje Registered User
    edited May 2009
    Mika_Aus;37648 said:
    Is there any new yet? Should I just wait for windows 7 or would I be waiting longer?
    Well, it doesn't work on windows 7 64bit yet. It does work on the 32bit version... So it's all bit related.

    Waiting for the 64bit support here. For the timebeing I will install XP 32bit for wygiwyg and hog3pc only.
  • but0017but0017 Registered User
    edited May 2009
    windows 7 64 bit would be good as all new notebooks and most touch and tablet devices are becoming mainly 64 bit processors, windows 7 seems to be the way in OS in the future so i would like to change asap when it arrives.
  • Mika_AusMika_Aus Registered User
    edited May 2009
    Any news yet? I have just about had enough with microsoft. Is there any plans to release in linux? As the hog 3 runs in linux it wouldnt be too hard??
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2009
    Michael,

    My original post in this thread is still correct. When we do have news regarding OS support I will be sure to post it here.

    thanks,
  • but0017but0017 Registered User
    edited May 2009
    i agree with michael, a platform that is open to development by anyone so there is always room for improvement and enhancements, i think a linux install for pc would be a great advantage, and as alot of the consoles are linux based it shouldnt be too hard to make it compatible as a HogPC install.
Sign In or Register to comment.