HOG iPC Networking ?????

ChrislimChrislim Registered User
HI to all

Sorry to bother
I am new to the HOG 3 been using HOG 2 for awhile now .
Question one
How can I hook up the following
1 x HOG iPC ( Show Console )
1 x PC running HOG3PC V3.0 ( Back UP )
1 x PC Running WYSIWYG R22 ( Visualizer )
Pls advise me what gears should I get to make it happen .

Question Two
How can I get my HOG 2 Effects convert to be able to use in HOG 3
As I got quite some Effects that we created .
Pls advise

Thanks

Comments

  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited January 2009
    I don't think that you can convert hog II effects to hog 3 effects, this two different effect engine.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited January 2009
    Chrislim wrote:
    Question one
    How can I hook up the following
    1 x HOG iPC ( Show Console )
    1 x PC running HOG3PC V3.0 ( Back UP )
    1 x PC Running WYSIWYG R22 ( Visualizer )
    Pls advise me what gears should I get to make it happen .

    You are going to want an ethernet switch and straight Cat5 cables to connect all three of these.

    Assign your H3PC and WYg computers static IPs in the same range as your iPC, or use the DHCP boot server available from the Network config on the iPC.

    If you want your H3PC as a secondary (client) console, make sure to disable "Run Server" and set a different console number than your iPC (usually "2" or greater is fine).
    Chrislim wrote:
    Question Two
    How can I get my HOG 2 Effects convert to be able to use in HOG 3
    As I got quite some Effects that we created .

    You can't....custom effect tables are currently not available with H3 software....it is logged as an enhacement though.

    Hope this helps:)
  • ChrislimChrislim Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Pls advise on hooking the following Gears

    Option 1
    1 x HOG 3
    1 x DP 2000
    2 x Hippo

    Option 2
    1 x HOG iPc
    2 x Hippo

    Pls advise how can I get them to work
    thnks
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Chrislim wrote: »
    Pls advise on hooking the following Gears
    Option 1
    1 x HOG 3
    1 x DP 2000
    2 x Hippo

    If you only have the one DP2K you will want to connect it to the Hog Net port on the rear panel of the wholehog 3 using a cat 5 crossover cable. You can then use the DP2K to output DMX to the 2 servers.
    Chrislim wrote: »
    Option 2
    1 x HOG iPc
    2 x Hippo

    Like I said in my email to you chris, we will need some more information about what you are trying to do. You said in your email that you have your iPC connected to the Hippo via a network cable... Are you trying to output art-net to the hippo directly from the iPC? If so.. this isnt possible, you can however add a DP8K to output art-net or more universes from the console. (I think, I would advise checking with HES staff about this first...)

    My best advice would be is to control the servers via DMX directly from the console. Or get a DP8K and use art-net.
    Chrislim wrote: »
    Pls advise how can I get them to work

    Are you trying anything to get them working? Or does the information above solve your problems?
  • ChrislimChrislim Registered User
    edited February 2009
    Sorry for the late reply

    I have not got the chance to test it
    Will have the chance in the next day run .

    Thanks for all the info

    will post for answer
Sign In or Register to comment.