Tracking data

rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
Something which annoys me is the tracked data when a new cue is created with edits track forward deselected. I may be missing something in an options menu? This is my example:

Lets say I have 2 desk channels patched.

I record a new Q1 with channel 1 @100% and no data for channel 2.

Next I record a Q0.5 with edits track forward deselected and channel 2 @ 50%.

When I go to Q1 channel 1 is @100%, channel 2 @50%.

Perform the same operation on a Hog 2 and in Q1 Channel 1 would be @100% and Channel 2 @0%, which is actually what I require.

Frequently when programming I need to add a preset cue retrospectively to all my songs. On the Hog 2 I can do this without altering my song cue list data. On Hog 3 it appears I need to block Q1 unnecessarily?

Thanks Ross

Comments

  • SfeerPeerSfeerPeer Registered User
    edited January 2009
    you can use "que only" in the quelist-option, but then it works for all que's in that list...
  • rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Does not address this issue sadly, although clearly a well used and valuable option in other programming situations.

    Ross
  • AndyPAndyP Registered User
    edited January 2009
    I've also run into this when I want to create a 'rig check' Q before my show's Q stack. Making your 1st Q a block Q is the only way I can think of getting around it, which I agree is a bit of a pain. I'd much prefer for it not to track through like Ross suggests.
  • SfeerPeerSfeerPeer Registered User
    edited January 2009
    maybe use the "release on end"-option?
  • rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Again this does not remedy the issue. It's unfortunate as I rely heavily on this method for my personal style of programming/reheasing shows.

    Ross
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Ross

    I must say this bugs me also... HES should put more resources fixing tracking issues and also the really annoying timing bug. It's a bit shame that one of the top consoles have this kind of bugs with tracking and timing.

    1) the bug Ross mentioned
    2) add a new channel to cue using merge or update and using cue only. Cue only adds off value to next cue and the timing is showing default timing instead cue timing in the cue editor, but it doesn't fade using that time.
    3) The difference between H3 Cue only option and H2 maintain state. In H3 channels are released using release time not faded using cue timing.
    4)Difference in backtracking when using merge and update with cue only...the way update works is so totally wrong. Cue only is done in the wrong place. It seems that nothing is updated in the cue you are updating, but the value which is the source of tracking is changed and reverted back to original right in the next cue...the result is that you changed a value for example 10 cues back, but the cue you updated didn't change.
    5) bug #11682
  • rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    The timing issue you mention Sami frustrates me greatly also. However I have never found a reliable way to repro it. It appears that in some specific undeterminable cases the timing adopted is the default or tracked parameter one and one not the current cue global timing, effectively splitting the cue times, and yet on other occasions using the same keystrokes the global cue time remains in tact. I see this happening over and over again but cannot create a consistent reproduction.

    Ross
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Ross,

    See also http://forums.highend.com/showthread.php?t=6111&highlight=bug+%2311682

    They know what is wrong and the fix is coming, but progress has been a bit slow....they have also a kind of timing bug :)
  • rosswillrosswill Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    I see it. I think I remember logging some of this before also a way back.

    Ross
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Brad could tell what is the current timeline for fixing these bugs. IMO, timing bugs should be fixed as soon as possible. Also the merge/update issue in backtracking is very annoying. It can cause very confusing things to happen.
    The way cuelist Cue only option works now, I can live with that, but I know a few programmers who have been a bit confused when trying to figure out what's wrong with their chase timing.
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited January 2009
    Sami,

    The timing bugs are of course very important and we are planning to solve them as soon as possible. I do not have an exact time to post, but it will be as soon as we can.

    thanks for your understanding,
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2009
    Thanks Brad,

    I think, many theater operators/programmers will be very happy when that happens.

    Keep up the good work!
Sign In or Register to comment.