Axon Zoom

Terry MacTerry Mac Registered User
edited December 2008 in Axon
Does the Axon have Digital Zoom on any of the Graphics Layers? I have an application where the client wants to zoom the image smaller on LCD monitors to simulate a film strip.

Thanks

Comments

  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Hey Terry,
    Shouldn't be a problem. You can adjust both the X, and Y scale per graphic layer to get the image size and aspect ratio you want.
  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited December 2008
    Hi Terry,

    There's a few different options for doing something like this. As Andris pointed out, you can simply use the X and Y scale to make the layer smaller. Also, you can use the Z position function on the layer to move the layer back. The layer will technically be the same size, but will appear smaller because it is further from the 3d "camera". You can also use the view point Z position to move the "camera" back a bit, which again will make the layer appear smaller.

    One last thing, which may or may not work for you application, is using the "Film roll" effect. This effect allows you to scale the image smaller, and you can also make the media "roll" from top to bottom or bottom to top to simulate a film strip rolling by.

    Hope this helps.

    Best regards,
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited December 2008
    You may run into issues by scaling with the Z-plane, the X and Y scaling is much safer in my opinion. There is potential for layers to be on the same plane concurrently or one being 'hidden' by another which will cause visual problems that cause needless head-scratching.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited December 2008
    True....but X&Y scale are only 8bit parameters and can look "steppy" when doing crossfades on them.
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Right, but the Z scale is also 8bit...
    It would be nice to have scaling parameters 16bit though.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited December 2008
    Yes...all the "Scales" are 8bit, but "Z-position", and "Z-viewpoint" are 16bit.
Sign In or Register to comment.