palette timing not referenced in cues

mikeozowenmikeozowen Registered User
Cues reference the parameter values in palettes but not any palette timing. Is this intentional? I would like to build cuelists from palettes with timing where the timing is referenced.

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited October 2008
    To clarify, you would like to be able to change timing in a palette and have the cues that reference that palette change their timing as well?
  • mikeozowenmikeozowen Registered User
    edited October 2008
    yes exactly - just as parameter values reference. I want to build quite a complex cuelist that involves complex timings - but it is easy to build it from palettes that include timing (eg different timings for different parameters). Once built, I would like to be able to just tweek the palette timings in order to update the cuelist's timings.
    If palette timing did reference in cues, then just like with parameters, the reference can if necessary be eliminated (after the palette is selected) by adjusting the timing manually.
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited October 2008
    Hi Mike, you probably not remember me, but we talk together in Bercy for the Polnareff Show, I'm also programming some shows for A. Longchamp et V. Mongourdin, I'm happy to see you here.

    I already spoke about that point hear: http://forums.highend.com/showthread.php?t=3054 but I thing that point had been missed.

    I'm totally agree with you, this point is important and the same thing with group palettes, if we modify a group cues that use this group should be modified, i'm talking about that somewhere but i can't find the thread :dunce:.

    @+
    steph
  • mikeozowenmikeozowen Registered User
    edited October 2008
    Hi Steph. Good to hear from you. I am working with Alain at the moment - trying to find ways to do the 'Alain style' on a Hog3! Hope to see you again (but maybe not Polnareff next time?).
  • mikeozowenmikeozowen Registered User
    edited October 2008
    OK I see that people might want to use 'timing only' palettes that do not reference. But when the timing is associated with actual parameter values in the palette, perhaps this can link the timing to the value (in terms of referencing)?
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited October 2008
    I hope to see you soon to speak about Hog 3 and other things.
    I think that time values should be like all other values, if the palette is not a global one, all features even time, fixture number and a priority value for each parameter of each fixtures should use global, allows refs, per type, per fixture (not for group), as direct (even for group palettes).
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited October 2008
    stephlight wrote:
    if we modify a group cues that use this group should be modified, i'm talking about that somewhere but i can't find the thread :dunce:.

    I have it: http://forums.highend.com/showthread.php?t=1685
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited October 2008
    I would really like to see "group" palettes with timing.
    A group with X amount "virtual" fixtures and timing. You could drop any fixtures to that group and timing is applied to those fixtures. So, basically a timing palette. It would be pretty powerful when we get back sequence palettes? (I hope that will happen someday).
    I like the idea of timing and group palettes, but also I'm wondering how it would affect updating. How hard it would be keep track on everything when adding a fixture to a cue or changing timing of a cue and using update?
Sign In or Register to comment.