Hog 3 touch screens problems

TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
I'm having problems with our Hog 3 touch screens. They display just fine, but no touch controls or touch button functions. I've tried to update the software and have done a full install. Nothing seems to be working. Under the system information there isn't a firmware listed for the touchscreens. I thought this was part of the full install software package. I've checked the connections and cables and all that seems to be fine.

Hog III serial # 61FA043120

Wholehog software version: v2.6.0 (b 2071)
OS version: Linux 2.4.19
QT version 3.2.0
Front panel firmware version: 3
Touch screen firmare version: (none listed)

Not sure what else I can try other than send it in for repairs. I'd like to avoid that if possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Tim,

    It sounds like a hardware problem to me. Check the connections for the touchscreens within the console. I suggest that you contact our support department at 800-890-8989 or support@flyingpig.com and they can walk you through how to check this.
  • TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
    edited September 2008
    I've already taken the face plate off and did a visual inspection of the connections and couldn't see any disconnections. I'll look again and see if i missed anything. After that i'll contact support. Thanks for the reply, Brad.

    Tim
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Hello, if the touch screens and the buttons above and below the touch screens are not working there are a few possibilities. If the Touchscreen PCB which is in the center of the console between the displays has been changed it needs to have software loaded onto the EPROM. You may try this even if the PCB has not been changed.

    Press and hold down the PIG button while powering on the console.
    When you see the prompts as when doing a Full Install of the software you can release the PIG button.

    Select CONSOLE TEST
    Select USB UTILITIES
    Select BURN TOUCHSCREEN EPROM

    If this does not help the Touchscreen PCB may have failed or the PCB connects to the Processor PCB via a wire harness. You can follow the wire harness to location USB 3 on the processor PCB which is near the silver battery. Chack the cable and make sure all wires are in the connector properly etc.



    If the PCGB has not been changed.
  • TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Hey again. I tried what Mitch told me to try. When I did the Burn Touchscreen Eeprom it came up with: Can't Find Eeprom Wizard Device. I then tried the List USB Devices and the response from that was: Can't Open USB Map File. Let me know what I need to do next. I've downloaded another copy of the v2.6.0 Full Install in case the one i was using is corrupted. I'll check back in a few minutes. Thanks for the help guys.

    Tim

    Oh yeah, I did take the face plates off again and checked all the connections. Everything looks fine. It just seems like i'm missing a device driver or something software related. But then again i'm not an expert.
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Hi Tim, if you still have problems after you do a Full Install of the software, the touchscreen PCB may have failed or there could be a short in the cable etc.
  • TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Hey again. I've done a full install of the software, that didn't work. I called the 800 number and talked to one of the tech support guys and he told me to try and reinstall a previous version of the software. I tried that and it didn't work, still no response from the touchscreens. I have a few more things to look at but i have to put this project off until tomorrow so i'll post what i find in the morning. Its looking more like a problem thats out of my hands, it might be taking a little trip to the shop. Thanks for all the advise and help today.


    Tim
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Hi Tim, are you installing v2.6 or are you using a beta v3? Make sure you are using v 2.6.
  • TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
    edited September 2008
    i was using v2.6.0 to start with and then tried to downgrade to v2.5.0 as was recommended by the tech at flying pig systems. They still aren't working. I have a second Hog 3 that's out on a show right now, when it gets back i'm gonna transfer the PCGB out of it and see if they work after doing that. If they still don't work then i'll send it in for maintenance.

    Tim
  • TDMaloneTDMalone Registered User
    edited September 2008
    Hey guys. I came in this morning and tried to look a little closer at the connections for the touchscreens and i almost missed it. i was lookin at the USB 3 connection and saw that the sodder connections had melted slightly and come loose. so what i did was plugged it into the USB 4 and the touchscreens work. so what i need to know is can i keep that in USB 4? i still haven't figured out what caused those connections to fry and everything seems to be working fine. But i'd still like a second opinion.

    Tim
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Hi Tim, yes using USB 4 should be ok.
Sign In or Register to comment.