D-tek switcher/preview rack

chrislighthallchrislighthall Registered User
edited September 2008 in DL.3/DL.2
Has anyone used the D-tek rack that High End sells?
I have a customer that wants to use it with some DL2s. They want the rack to be at FOH. What is the best way to get the whole thing at FOH or just a preview for each camera to FOH?

Thanks,
Chris Lighthall

Comments

  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited September 2008
    Hi Chris,

    Along with the D-tek Mixing unit, we sell S-video Baluns that are adapters to run S-video over Cat-5 cable. We have tested these Baluns with Cat-5 runs up to 1500 ft without any degradation in signal. You would end up having two runs per fixture from the stage down to the D-tek. This would allow for preview of each camera as well as the mixing ability to take any input and put it to any output.

    Hope this helps. If you have any other questions, please let me know.

    Thanks,
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited September 2008
    Chris,

    I have used the D-Tek rack along with the baluns, preview monitors, etc. and was VERY happy with it.

    I used an 2 existing "open" ethernet runs with the baluns at each end to get signal from the DL2's back to FOH.

    There's a really good live video primer on the High End site here.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    IMG_7812.jpg
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited September 2008
    The D-Tek is a really great addition to a DL system....I've used them quite extensively.

    Follow this link for how HES does it:
    http://www.highend.com/support/digital_lighting/dl2supportguide/dl2livevideoprimer.asp

    If you use this "standard" one...you will have to run 8 lines of CAT-5 to FoH for the baluns. 2 lines from each fixture to the FoH rack. (not counting network/CMA lines)...unless you are less than 100' away in which case you can use regular S-video cables if you prefer.

    I personally use a different method involving some other Baluns that allow you to send 4-composite signals down a single Cat-5 cable.

    I've attached arough diagram of what I do...as well as a photo of my FoH from the last "Alice In Chains" tour, where I use two D-Teks together for a 6-IN x 6-OUT config....I had 16 LCD previews running off of a mere 4 Cat-5 wires.

    Feel free to ask more if any of this is unclear.

    Hope this helps.:)

    ****EDIT**** Looks like Jon,Matt, and I were typing/uploading at the same time ;)
  • chrislighthallchrislighthall Registered User
    edited September 2008
    To all,

    Thanks for the great tips. I like the quad balun the best. I really appreciate it.

    Chris Lighthall
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited September 2008
    No problem...just know that the quad baluns are not "standard", but you can get them fairly easily.

    I have some from Muxlab, and some from ATI technologies....the big thing with all Baluns is don't mix brands within the same system.
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited September 2008
    Yeah Chris,

    I forgot to mention the quad baluns (Muxlab)...yes those are what I use also.

    They come in 2 flavors...you can get them RCA (Standard on the website)...but they also have BNC available.
Sign In or Register to comment.