Effect OFF

cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
Software 2063
Console IPC
Name Cormac jackson


Hi,
Can anyone tell me what happens when you turn an effect off using the drop option in the effects table.
So for example i have a cyan effect flag moving in cue 1 and in cue 2 i use an effect off pallette what should happen?
I may be wrong but in previous versions the fixtures would have no effect and return to a default state of no colour,i am now getting a state in cue 2 where the cyan flag is at 50% or halfway in all fixtures?
Is this correct as i'm not sure.

Edit this is happening in colours only and in a effect containing flags and scrollers combined.


Regards and thanks Cormac

Comments

  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited June 2008
    I don't remember necessarily in previous versions. However, what I have always done is roll the size of the effect from whatever it is down to 0%. That stops the effect, and in the same cue, I have the color or other attribute go to where I want it in that cue.
  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited June 2008
    Hi Patrick,
    thanks for the reply.
    I think the way i approach this is not the same as you but good to know your method also.

    Cheers C
  • prmuchaprmucha Registered User
    edited June 2008
    I agree, always good to know many methods of going about the same thing. I do too enjoy learning new ones.
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User
    edited June 2008
    Cormac,

    I think what you're seeing is correct. (I apologize if what I'm about to say is obvious). When you put an effect on an attribute, there are two inherent pieces; the base value and the effect table value.

    When you make an effect that takes Cyan from zero to Full, you generally put Cyan at 50% (that's your base value) and apply an effect (such as a Sine wave) to the Cyan parameter in your FX table.

    When you later select 'OFF' in the FX table, you should be left with Cyan at 50%.

    So when you want to get out of an Effect, you actually would need to turn the Effect OFF and select the new value you want Cyan to go to.

    --

    I believe, also, that if you are currently playing a cue with FX on Cyan, you can simply select the applicable fixtures, modify the color, and record your new cue. (I'm not sitting in front of a console to check this, though.)

    Cheers,

    Phil
  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited June 2008
    Hi Phil,
    thanks for the reply,nothing to obvious for me :)
    I understand about base values and yes when i do colour effects my base values are usually 50% and i use sine waves etc.
    I record an off effect pallette and use them to switch "off" the effect in subsequent cues.
    So what your saying is that it depends what my originial base value was in the effect which will determine the state in cue 2 where the effect is off?
    I was under the impression that if i recorded an "OFF" effect pallette the default fixture state(in my case open or no colour) would be what would be i would see in cue 2.

    Thanks for the information.
    C
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2008
    cormacjack wrote:
    I understand about base values and yes when i do colour effects my base values are usually 50% and i use sine waves etc.

    A way to make sine table to give only positive values is to use 200% FX length.
Sign In or Register to comment.