How to use a DL.2 to display PowerPoint

willsonmwillsonm Registered User
edited May 2008 in DL.3/DL.2
First off I'm an AV novice, I'm primarily an IS Application Manager. I just inherited a new facility that has 3 DL.2s. My customer community wants to use the projectors to show PowerPoint presentations.

How can I do this?

Convert PowerPoint to mpeg2

Comments

  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    What is your Power Point Source?

    Depending on what you're doing, you can either convert all of the slides to JPEG's and import them into the DL2's but that would be a lot of work for every new presenter.

    The other option is to get a scan convertor for your output device to convert it to S-Video. You can then run an S-Video line up to your DL2's (depending on distance, etc) and put a Distribution Amp on the pipe with the DL2's to split it between the 3 fixtures.

    This way, no matter what hooks in at the scan convertor, you dial up the S-Video Input on the console and you're good to go.

    Does that help?
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    I would use a DA and send it to all 3. You never know when you might need it. It doesn't mean they have to have the dousers open on anything other than the one you're using. And yes, they would all have the same signal.

    You could be in the middle of a presentation and have a projector failure. All you'd have to do is open the douser on one of the other ones and you could continue going without any real issues.

    Just a thought.
  • willsonmwillsonm Registered User
    edited May 2008
    That's a good idea it doesn't hurt to have a back-up. Is a DA a digital amp?
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    Distribution amplifier...

    Something similar to this...

    http://www.vpi.us/vsplt-sv-8.html

    (This is just an example...not a recommendation. The one linked will only do 800x600 resolution. Be sure to check the specs of whatever you find)
  • Sandals512Sandals512 Registered User
    edited May 2008
    I would just interject instead of using S-video which isn't that great of a signal i'd simply go with VGA or RGBHV

    In your situation i would simply go VGA direct in. Your computer should have it as the output, if not simply use an inexpensive DVI -> adapter.
    You will still need a distribution amp, just get one for VGA. Easily obtainable online.

    So you can simply take VGA straight out of your computer, into the DA and then out to each DL2.
  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2008
    I would just interject instead of using S-video which isn't that great of a signal i'd simply go with VGA or RGBHV

    The one thing to keep in mind with this set-up is that the VGA and RGBHV inputs do not go through the graphics engine as the S-video input does but rather straight to the projector. As a result, you lose any ability to keystone the image or use any other manipulations that are available in the DL.2.
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    schiefels wrote:
    The one thing to keep in mind with this set-up is that the VGA and RGBHV inputs do not go through the graphics engine as the S-video input does but rather straight to the projector. As a result, you lose any ability to keystone the image or use any other manipulations that are available in the DL.2.

    That was the exact reason I didn't suggest the VGA/RGBHV ports...in that you lose the graphics engine. For most cases, I would say it might be fine. However, if you are using the DL2 in a location that requires keystoning or even some possible effects down the line, you're best option is still the S-Video line.

    That is, unless you have time to save every PPT frame as a JPG, upload it, and program it in your console....
  • Sandals512Sandals512 Registered User
    edited May 2008
    I personally still feel that for something such as powerpoint S-video will not be an acceptable solution.
    If worried about keystoning etc I would get an external unti that allows that (screenshaper,imageanywhere etc) and use that.
    Shoot some video cards even have keystone options.

    Or just get them to upgrade to DL3s and run them SDI :)


    ok, after just playing for a second i would convert the slides to jpeg. much easier than i though.
    I never knew, but in powerpoint once the presentation is open select the "save as option" and select to save them as jpeg option. puts all the slides in the folder.
    So in theory 30 second to open presentaion and save in a new folder.
    45 seconds to put into lights
    3 seconds to auto-set dmx values.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2008
    I agree with Sandals....sounds like you really need DL.3

    A better option than loading all your JPEGs into the DL.2 is to use a video editor like Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0.

    You can place all your JPEGs on a timeline.....stretch to time, add transitions, etc...then export as MPEG-2 and simply play back one file.

    This will probably take you a lot less time than trying to program a linear slide show with DMX and Graphics layers.

    Hope this helps:)
  • gwcwc3pogwcwc3po Registered User
    edited May 2008
    To show powerpoint with dl.2 I always used s-video, the quality is great plus you still have keystoning etc. But if you really want to upload it in your dl.2 Ill go with Jpeg since you can decide to stop or go on every image not like in a movie where it play non stop. My point of view!

    Anthony
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2008
    gwcwc3po wrote:
    I always used s-video, the quality is great

    s-video is not great if you have any kind of detailed text such as in graphs and charts that need to be displayed.....for truly presentational graphics s-video is terrible, but for live input it is just fine.
    gwcwc3po wrote:
    But if you really want to upload it in your dl.2 Ill go with Jpeg since you can decide to stop or go on every image not like in a movie where it play non stop.

    Well that's what the PAUSE mode is for;)

    Just build a list that "Plays Once Forward" with an autofollow to a second cue that goes into "Pause"....works really well at least until this feature is implemented:

    http://forums.highend.com/showthread.php?t=4931
  • gwcwc3pogwcwc3po Registered User
    edited May 2008
    There a Pause mode:O? Oh wow Then Sorry:P
  • Frankv1234Frankv1234 Registered User
    edited May 2008
    For those that are using a mac.

    Open the powerpoint presentation in keynote. Choose file > export > quicktime movie.

    Convert the quicktime movie to mpeg 2 with a appropriate convertor (don't use compressor) and upload it to the dl2's

    then use the system as Marty described.

    Main advantage of this system is that the transitions and bullet-points the presenter added to the presentation are still displayed !

    Greetings

    Frank
Sign In or Register to comment.