Visualisers

stue austue au Registered User
Any chance of future versions being able to support visualization software running on the system to external monitors? Im an MSD user and would find it a handy feature being able to run my software on the one unit instead of carrying both

Comments

  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    I remember this being asked a while back, and though I don't remember where the post is, or even what was exactly said, I do remember the short answer being no. HES has stated that they would rather the performance of the hardware being directed torward the processing of the data and not towards the computing needed to create previsualization.
  • stue austue au Registered User
    edited May 2008
    i can understand that allthough so many other brands have previsualization as standard on there desks so i think its something that carnt be ignored
  • glen010glen010 Registered User
    edited May 2008
    I do not want it in the desk.. an its very simple to get you laptop connect to the console to run the vis next to you. so you can have a flavour of vis you like.

    why make the desk do harder work? let the desk do what is was designed for.. running the show,
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2008
    I agree...the visualizer is always better when separate. This is the very heart and soul of the Hog-3 architecture. When you need something more....simply add it to the network along with dedicated processing.

    Need more DMX...add processors to the network.....need a visualizer or three...add them to the network....all the while never affecting the performance of the desk b/c you add dedicated processing to handle whatever it is you added.

    This is one of the many advantages the H3 has over every other console out there.

    BTW- the H3 still comes with a WYG dongle so technically there is a visualizer included in the purchase of a full desk.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    I also think running a visualizer on a console is a little bit asking for trouble...many of them are not very stable...
  • nibornibor Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    Get ESP Vision it works right off the cat5,
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2008
    Stuart,

    We've discussed implementing basic visualization functionality into our console range and it's something that may happen in the future. Personally, I feel that there are some advantages to running visualizer software on a separate computer. First, visualization software tends to require lots of processing power. Running a visualizer on the console means that there are less system resources available for controlling your lighting rig and responding to user input. Second, different people have different needs for visualizers. By offering Ethernet connection to WYSIWYG, ESP Vision, MSD, and Capture, our users can choose the visualizer that best suits their needs. Third, developing a visualizer is a large undertaking and having developers working on this would mean fewer developers working on other enhancements.

    This is just my personal opinion. We certainly haven't ruled out the possibility of adding some visualization functionality to the console. What visualization features would you like to see running on the console?

    Thanks.
  • stue austue au Registered User
    edited May 2008
    My idea was that if you had ypur own software and you wanted to you could then choose to run it from the desk. i use both wysiwyg and msd and have both. Its not something that has to be there and you can choose to use it or not. I feel during production weeks or shows were you have not the best sight lines from where your running the show it could be a handy feature. in the end it would be a users choice thing
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2008
    Aah. I get it. You just want to save the additional PC and be able to install an existing visualizer to run on the console. I'd say this is fairly unlikely for a few reasons. The biggest is that our consoles don't all run the same operating system. The Wholehog 3 runs linux, and I don't believe that any of the visualizers that we will connect with will run natively on that OS.
  • stue austue au Registered User
    edited June 2008
    thats right just less cables and space. im currently running the roadhog and in future plan on moving up possibly to the full boar just would be a handy feature
Sign In or Register to comment.