work on Axon

stephlightstephlight Registered User
edited February 2008 in Axon HD
hi,
i had only used the DL2 and not the AXON alone, but what could be fantastic is to have the oportunity to create the look directly on computer, drag and drop files in layers, open close move masks with mouse in layer window, move files position in layers with mouse.... and after create a look with times in the axon that would be send via DMX values, or, as I prefer, a function which send informations in the programmer of the console to save a cue. we could also have an interactive software with DL2s on a PC that would reproduce the interface of the axon wih slots for each DL2.

Thanks

Comments

  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited February 2008
    Hi Steph,
    Not sure what you would gain by having "interactive software" for DL2 and axon when they are the same thing except for pan/tilt/iris etc? please explain further as i am interested.

    I always thought if you wanted to program DL-2 before having the fixture you would program using an axon ??

    Cormac
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited February 2008
    Have all functions on two screens allows faster access to them.
    Having three layers you can see, having preview of pictures and videos and oportunity to drag and drop them in layers permits a more rapid and effective worrk with the designer and the director.
    It could be a great thing for "Live".

    At the baseit is not to program DL-2 before having the fixture but to have opportunity to see and to show, but it could perhaps be used to program before having the fixture i don't have thought to that.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited February 2008
    stephlight wrote:
    what could be fantastic is to have the oportunity to create the look directly on computer, drag and drop files in layers, open close move masks with mouse in layer window, move files position in layers with mouse.... and after create a look with times in the axon that would be send via DMX values, or, as I prefer, a function which send informations in the programmer of the console to save a cue. we could also have an interactive software with DL2s on a PC that would reproduce the interface of the axon wih slots for each DL2.

    The best way to do this is to have an AXON hooked up to a local monitor.....create the look you want on the AXON and then simply CLONE that look to your DL.2s using the "copy" syntax from the H3.....worked great for me over the fall on tour in live situations b/c all the shows were outdoors in amphitheaters, and it did not get dark until just before the band hit.....did it for 16 weeks straight with no problems:headbang:
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited February 2008
    Please tell it to the producers that they will have two pay more just to have opportunity to make clone :D.

    Can we create look on Axon and after send it to programmer?

    In fact what would be great is to have an Axon software that would talk to DL2 through Ethernet :headbang:
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited February 2008
    stephlight wrote:
    Please tell it to the producers that they will have two pay more just to have opportunity to make clone.

    Just build it into the cost of rental from the onset....you shouldn't be doing multiple DL.2 shows without a switch and Cat5 cables anyway since this can cause problems with the master clock, object sync-ing, etc... when using Collage.

    You wouldn't show up to a gig with a console, some fixtures, and no DMX cables right?.....same for Cat5 cables and gigabit switches for DL.2s....it just is part of what you need to do the job properly.
    stephlight wrote:
    Can we create look on Axon and after send it to programmer?

    Absolutely...create the look on the AXON...then CLONE to DL.2 fixtures....all of this happens in the Programmer.
    stephlight wrote:
    In fact what would be great is to have an Axon software that would talk to DL2 through Ethernet

    The only problem with this is where does the Ethernet control end and the DMX control begin? There would be conflicts here as the two systems would be competing to tell the fixtures what to do at the same time.
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited February 2008
    Just build it into the cost of rental from the onset....you shouldn't be doing multiple DL.2 shows without a switch and Cat5 cables anyway since this can cause problems with the master clock, object sync-ing, etc... when using Collage.

    You wouldn't show up to a gig with a console, some fixtures, and no DMX cables right?.....same for Cat5 cables and gigabit switches for DL.2s....it just is part of what you need to do the job properly.

    I was talking about Axon, why must they pay for DL2 and AXON, that is the question.

    Absolutely...create the look on the AXON...then CLONE to DL.2 fixtures....all of this happens in the Programmer.

    Don't think you had understand, I want to create the look In the Axon sowftware with out console, next send the look to programmer and/or DL2, with this option you will just have to push [record] [enter] this is existing on a French media server, something really impressive that will perhaps change many things in media severs.
    The only problem with this is where does the Ethernet control end and the DMX control begin? There would be conflicts here as the two systems would be competing to tell the fixtures what to do at the same time.

    Why conflict? If there a choice at start or good priority, there is no conflict, and you can already plug dmx and Artnet in DL2 with out any troubles, i had done this week, and as i tell you this is existing right now not on other media server , so it can be done on other one.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited February 2008
    stephlight wrote:
    Don't think you had understand, I want to create the look In the Axon sowftware with out console
    Gotcha;) ...yes we are talking about two different methods here. It could be cool to have a more advanced version of CMA that would allow you to do something like this.....there would need to be bi-directional communication to the lighting desk though so the DL.2 fixture can update the desk as to its' new values for recording into a cue

    Might work something like this...
    - DL.2s and "Advanced" CMA running together on a network
    - Use "Advanced" CMA to create the look and then send to one or several DL.2s over the network
    - DL.2s then send updated info back to the Hog-3 Programmer either with bi-di DMX or through network (like a visualizer "AutoFocus" would but with more info)

    Having a standalone program would probably violate the stock content licenceing....whereas if it was simply triggering the file when connected to the DL.2 it would not....hence "Advanced" CMA.
    stephlight wrote:
    i tell you this is existing right now on other media server

    Sounds interesting....which one? I'd love to check it out and see how that works.
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited February 2008
    Yes! Now we are talking about the same thing.
    I don't think you will see the french one soon, Dip media develop it for them and only for them, i don't know if it will be commercialised one day. It is an incredible small and light software with unlimited possibilities. The guy who is developing this system was working on artificial intelligence and his own intelligence is not artificial. One thing is sure is that he show that it is possible so other will do it if they don't want to commercialise it.
  • MarkScottMarkScott Registered User
    edited February 2008
    One media server that has an "onboard" editor is the Hippotizer. I had a chance recently to mess around with one and it is pretty slick. However, the whole time I was using it I felt that I really wanted a console to run it with. To me the joy of dmx media servers is the simplicity. One person can control lighting and digital media easily and efficiently. While there are advantages to having an offline editor, I feel the added complexity is not a fair trade off. My friend who has the Hippo says that that is all he is doing now on gigs. Just running the media server. This is working for him and his partners and they are quite successful but at that point why not have a whole video department?

    The soul of the Axon and DL-2s are that of moving lights. They just have all sorts of digital type features. That is the genius of it. They are not digital media supercomputers pigeonholed into running DMX - they are moving lights that have grown into digital tools. If you start adding anything more complex than that you run the risk of turning it into something else entirely.

    Everyone has different needs and different ways of working but just because one or two other media servers behave a certain way doesn't mean they all have to work the same way.

    Just my two cents.

    -Mark.
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited February 2008
    Hi Mark,
    Hippotizer has an "on-board" editor but what is done on computer can't be send to light desk, what i ask is an option with the one every body can work, the who prefer to use desk, those who prefer to use computer and finally those who want to use both.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited February 2008
    MarkScott wrote:
    One media server that has an "onboard" editor is the Hippotizer.

    Hey Mark,

    Are you talking about the preset editor? Catalyst has this as well. This is the interface used to create cues on the sever that the lighting desk triggers.....this reduces the number of channels needed on the desk, but requires separate operation of the server to create the cues. Both Hippo and Catalyst can be fully controled via DMX as well depending on what mode you run them in.....I personally don't care much for the Hippos....for that type of application I much prefer Catalyst...I find the Hippos very klunky (as thier name might suggest;) )...the one really nice thing that Hippo does do is "frame interpolation" when slowing down the playback speed of a piece of content.....apart from that I find Catalyst to have many more features, eaiser to use, and just to be a stronger product overall. Both Catalyst and Hippo are "2-D" environments though....whereas DL.2 and AXON are true "3-D" environments.

    At any rate, while server-presets are useful for these products, it is a different thing than the type of pre-visualization we are talking about for DL.2/AXON
  • MarkScottMarkScott Registered User
    edited February 2008
    I misunderstood what the Hippo could do. I only had a few hours with it. I know it can be controled with DMX, there just wasn't a console around when I was using it... I am sure there was something about previewing what was coming up. Just remember it wrong, I guess.

    The 2-D / 3-D thing bothered me, too. Hippo works for my friend but given the choice I would way rather have an Axon/DL-2 (and a HOG!).

    -Mark
  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited February 2008
    As for creating looks inside the axon software and then send it to the H3, I much rather prefer a proper connection between the DL2/Axon/any other mediaserver and the H3, with proper clip preview etc. I think it's a better use of developing time, rather that evolwing the CMA/Axon/DL2 software, Of couce in a perfect world we could get both.. But as an example i would much rather see that mediaserver exchange protocol that has been developed and beeing used by increasingly number of other consoles/servers, included in the dl2/axon and the H3. Or something even more funky, but i would also like to see it beeing compatible with the other brands's protocol.

    -As for the hippo, i totally agree with you marty! That interpolate is the only thing I miss in every other server!! it is sooo nice to be able to slow down that much, and still get a good looking clip!
Sign In or Register to comment.