Timecode & SMTP questions

PimmerPacKPimmerPacK Registered User
Timecode & SMTP questions


I am working on a show wich has some complex issues and programming so I need to work with timecode. Normally I use the midi-input on the Hog3, but for this show the midi-source is too far away from the FOH so I have to go with SMPT.
I was looking for the MIDI/Timecode Processor on the High-End site and noticed it's not there anymore. Is this product discontinued? I was looking for the specs to see what is better for me to use: The MTC-Processor or the USB LTC widget? Is there someone who has the specs for me?


If you have used one or both of these, what are the pro's and con's of them?


So, I get SMTP in the desk from one of the two devices, set the port to LTC and my show will start running. Now can I output this timecode over the MIDI-Output of the desk? I will be running a Hippotizer HD on timecode as well, and when I go through the desk, I'm sure the hippotizer always has the same timecode as my desk.


There will be 2 Hog3's in a network, does the secondary desk automatically have timecode as well or does it need a separate input?


Just one more question: When I simulate Timecode without any input from MIDI or SMTP can it output timecode via the MIDI-output? So basicly the Hog is a timecode-generator.


Gr.
Pim

Comments

  • nibornibor Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    I use the time code widget all the time and have never had any problems and it also works with my lap top in Hog3 pc a grate little deal.
  • PimmerPacKPimmerPacK Registered User
    edited January 2008
    That's good to hear. It does look like the most simple solution.
  • nibornibor Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Today is a Holiday in the States but I am sure somone from Highend will answer the tech questions ASAP
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited January 2008
    Pim,

    The USB SMPTE widget is the best choice for SMPTE. The Ethernet MIDI Timecode Processor is no longer for sale. There is no need for most customers to use an Ethernet device for SMPTE input to the console.

    When you are working with multiple consoles, you can choose the timecode source in the cuelist window. So for example you can select the input from the server desk when you are working on the client desk.

    As for timecode output, NO you can not output timecode from the console or widget.

    We have many productions currently running via SMPTE or MIDI timecode around the world and I think you will find it no problem. Again the best choice is to use the USB Timecode widget.
  • PimmerPacKPimmerPacK Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Hello Brad,

    Thanks for the answer. The USB Widget will be the first choice then. I'm sure it will work as good as a direct midi-input.

    And for the the timecode output, does it not output timecode when just simulating output, or also whit the SMTP input? As I then need to split the SMPT-signal. One for the Hog, and one for the Hippotizer.
    No problem with splitting the signal, just to be sure and don't have any suprises.

    Gr.
    Pim
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited January 2008
    Pim,

    The Wholehog software does NOT output timecode under any condition. The timecode circuit is a one-way input only device. You should be fine splitting the timecode...
  • PimmerPacKPimmerPacK Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Ok, thanks! Makes sense, and now I'm sure.
    I'll get the supplier to bring an LTC-Widget, SMPT-splitters and a converter and I'll be fine.

    Gr.
    Pim
  • Frankv1234Frankv1234 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Hi pim,

    I use the timecode widget a lot for show and also need to split it often. Last time i had some problems because of extreme long cable runs. I just used a very simple audio mixing desk to boost up the level before splitting. If you have any questions or want to build a test setup with a ltc widget don't hesitate to contact me. (06-53904441)

    Greetings

    Frank Verbeek
    Production Partners
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited January 2008
    If you're splitting or need to amplify your SMPTE run, and you have an okay budget. Don't mess around, with juryrigged y's and amplifing through mixers and such. This fixes (almost) all, don't leave home without it...

    http://www.brainstormtime.com/sr26.php
  • Frankv1234Frankv1234 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Hi Jason,

    Thanks for your reply. I never heard of this device. The solution i used was suggested by a well known video company in the netherlands. It worked for me fine in the past but will sure request a quotation for this device to add to my set.

    Greetings

    Frank Verbeek
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited January 2008
    I second the Brainstorm. It let me run LTC 150' to a timecode widget and was rock solid.
  • PimmerPacKPimmerPacK Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Hello Frank,

    I've stored your number, can always be usefull! What do you use now for to split the SMPTE-signal? As far as I know the audio-company (Ampco) will take care of the SMPTE-runs, so I'll contact them to see what they use.

    Thanks Jason for the device you've mentioned. It does look like a great piece of equipment. I'm definitely gonna have a look for that.

    @ Frank: There is a Belgium dealer: http://www.beedistribution.com The price is E 479,-. It's quite a bit of money, but when working with timecode a lot, it will be worth it I guess.

    Well, I'll start programming on Tuesday the 28th of this month, and the show is on the 7th of the next, so there is time for trial and error!

    Gr.
    Pim
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    For what it's worth, I've also had success with this product:

    http://www.midi-classics.com/h/h25351.htm

    Looks like it costs more than the previously mentioned item and I'm not recommending one over the other.

    Have a great show!

    Phil
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Yeah the SR15+ does the same thing but a whole lot more than the sr26. The sr15 more than any of us really need but it is useful to have the built in tc readout
  • Frankv1234Frankv1234 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    gone do this message in dutch to pim. so sorry for those who are not of the netherlands but im just lazy.....:D

    Pim,

    Als het enigzins kan dan zorg ik ervoor dat mijn ltc widget aan het eind van de tijdcode lijn zit. Als dit door omstandigheden niet kan dan split ik ook nog wel eens het tijdcode singaal gewoon met een 1 op 1 xlr splitje. Werkt meestal probleemloos.

    Laatst had ik een hele mooie tijdcode reader vanuit de reportagewagen gekregen 16 digits met blauwe leds (zo mooi bij je tafel :D ) en gelijk ook een actieve tijdcode splitter. Ik zal volgende keer eens even kijken welk merk dit was.

    groetjes

    frank
  • jabadgerjabadger Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Right! What he said...
  • titiotitio Registered User
    edited June 2008
    I've had a weird problem and need help, I use a Wholehog III and a Hog3PC as well, I had used Midi timecode coming into the wholehog III and never had problems, for a specific show we needed both consoles with timecode, I installed a midiman port into my pc set it up in windows and then fired hog3pc, the device is listed in the midi inputs and I configured the console to take this Midi timecode, but the clock doesn't move at all, I am using a MIDI distributor to send the signal to both desks, my wholehog III gets it perfect while the hog3pc doesn't, I can't figure out the problem, if I invert the cables the wholehog III gets it, while the hog3pc doesn't, so it's not a signal problem.

    So I either configured the hog3pc wrong or the hog3pc only works with a LTC unit, can anyone help????
  • spcentralspcentral Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2008
    titio wrote:
    I've had a weird problem and need help, I use a Wholehog III and a Hog3PC as well, I had used Midi timecode coming into the wholehog III and never had problems, for a specific show we needed both consoles with timecode, I installed a midiman port into my pc set it up in windows and then fired hog3pc, the device is listed in the midi inputs and I configured the console to take this Midi timecode, but the clock doesn't move at all, I am using a MIDI distributor to send the signal to both desks, my wholehog III gets it perfect while the hog3pc doesn't, I can't figure out the problem, if I invert the cables the wholehog III gets it, while the hog3pc doesn't, so it's not a signal problem.

    So I either configured the hog3pc wrong or the hog3pc only works with a LTC unit, can anyone help????

    i would make sure all the settings are concurrent between your two consoles. From what I am reading in the manual, Timecode brought into a console, is then distributed throughout the show network. So in theory, the Midi going into your Hog 3 should be accessible from your Hog3Pc. Do you have the two networked together? Otherwise i would just give a quick glance to the manual. Section 28 (pg 307) should be a good place to start.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited June 2008
    Are the two networked together? or are they running seperately?
    If they are networked make sure you have selected the correct console as the timecode source, and simply run into the main console, not both.
  • titiotitio Registered User
    edited June 2008
    the two consoles are not networked, because one of them is running the lights and the other is running two catalyst servers...
    so the patching is completely different on each console and they're not running the same show....
    My problem is that using a Hog3PC by itself I wasn't able to input any timecode at all, I was using the WholehogIII just to test that my connections and signals were fine.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited June 2008
    sounds like a probelm with your MIDI input device to the H3PC....is it designed to be used for MIDI timecode? or just MIDI notes?
Sign In or Register to comment.