Inhibitor Bug

barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
2.3.1 Wholehog 3

When I move an additional group to an available master as an inhibitor, some of the other inhibitors uninhibit their fixtures. It doesn't seem to be consistant.

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2008
    Do they re-inhibit after moving around the faders? If not, when open the groups up are the proper fixtures still there?
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Nope. Groups are fine.

    Here it is in detail...
    Master 1 is GM
    M2 - inhibitor for group 2
    M3 - Inhibitor for group 61
    M3 - Inhibitor for group 6
    M4 - Inhibitor for group 1

    These four inhibitors are down on fader. With the faders up, I move group 3 to M5 and then move group 49 to M6. As soon as I pod down on M5, some of the other inhibitors return, even though the fader for those is still down. When I start to bring one of those faders up the inhibit part kicks back.
    It doesn't seem to ever be the same faders that uninhibit each time it happens.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Just wanted to add that my inhibitors are dropping out even when I move a Cue List to a Master.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2008
    When you are moving these inhibitors and cuelists around, are you moving them on top of something else already on that master or are you moving them to blank masters. I haven't had any success reproducing your problem so far. Also, are you using a template page in the show?
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Empty Masters and no template. FYI, I spoke to Josh Thatcher who said he has seen this issue too.

    I currently have seven inhibitors.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Also, Chris, I haven't tried to repo this without a second console networked to the show. I'm wondering if that is part of the problem.
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    Aaahh....Scott, that might be the key.

    Recently I had a LOT of issues with inhibitors when I had more than the actual Hog 3 online. Let me see if I can dig up the thread.

    Jon
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2008
    I don't remember this being an issue post version 2.3.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2008
    The second console is more than likely causing this issue. When working in a mutli-console environment we have to decide which console will have control over a fader since networked consoles are not able to dynamically change physical fader position based on client activity. We call this locking/unlocking faders. When a fader is locked on it has control of the intensity of a master. When it becomes unlocked/locked off (no control) you have to push the fader through the value that was set by the other console or perhaps to full or 0% depending on the circumstance. Faders often get unlocked when working a mult-console environment and I have a feeling this is what is happening when you are moving lists from one master to another. I am looking into this.
  • jthatcherjthatcher Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    I am recently seeing that the inhibitive master unlocks everytime I update or merge into a cuelist should this be happening. Don't use them all of the time. Two consoles are networked. Faders inhibitted on one and still up in the other. Before the merge the one console is down and shows that. The other does show that it's fader is up but definately inhibited. After the merge or update the fader un-inhibits and have to reset the fader.

    Is this by design?
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited May 2008
    Scott and Joshua, can you please confirm whether or not you have seen this on a single console setup. I think I understand this issue on a multi-console setup but have not had any luck on a single console.
  • jthatcherjthatcher Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2008
    I have not seen it or can recreate it on a singe consoe set-up.
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2008
    Joshua,

    I am sure I have seen this logged as a known bug with multi-console. I will look through our database and let you know the status.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited May 2008
    Logged as bug #11701

    In a multi-console setup, when a cue is recorded on the server, the client's fader levels for all inhibitive submasters will lock on and take over control for the inhibitive submasters.

    100% REPRO:
    Start a new show on the server with all faders @ 0%
    Log on client desk with all fader @ 0% as well
    On server console patch 1 trackspot and 10 desk channels
    On server console Generate Auto-palettes
    On server console move group 13 (all trackspots) to master 10
    On server console move fader on master 10 to full
    On server console record desk channel 1 @ Full on master 10
    Notice how the inhibitive submaster on master 10 goes to 0%

    Also seems to occur when you do cue open or merge data into a cue in a mutli-console setup with this repro.
Sign In or Register to comment.