Technobeam w/ stuck focus

muvmentmuvment Registered User
edited January 2008 in HES Automated Lighting
I've been setting up a rig for NYE and 1 of the technobeams has a malfunctioning focus. It looks like the motor is fine, but the focusing sticks in areas. Anybody have a fix? I may not be able to get parts in time for the show, but if its something simple, like a stepper motor, I can pick that up locally on monday.

Comments

  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Unless you have something in the way or the focus rails are bent, it sounds like a motor.:)
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Right,
    It should move easily,
    It really sounds like a motor..
    Joshua Wood
  • muvmentmuvment Registered User
    edited January 2008
    After disassembling and cleaning, the focus no longer skips. It slides smoothly, but at a 255, the focus tube only gets about 1/2 way up. It seems that everyting is perfect except the tbeam thinks the focus track is half the size it really is.
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited January 2008
    This may not be the issue, and since I don't have one in front of me at the moment, I can't check..
    But, there is a focus setting for wide and narrow lens options, Is there any chance the fixture setting got changed to a different mode than the rest of the fixtures?

    If the motor isn't skipping there isn't much that it can be..

    Does it try to run too far in the opposite direction? or is it fine just running within its limited range?
    Joshua Wood
  • MadogMadog Registered User
    edited January 2008
    This sounds like a problem in the lens setting. There are three options for the lens (Narrow, Normal, Wide). These settings are for the other lenses you can put in the T-Beams. Both narrow and wide shorten the travel of the lens tub because the alternate lenses stick out the front of the lens tub and interfere with the dimmer flags if you don't change the setting. (I've actually only worked with the wide and normal lenses but the narrow setting seems to produce results similar to the wide setting.)

    I've also found that you can't get a sharp focus on the litho wheel if you have the normal lens set setup for 17.5°. On most of our fixtures I can get a sharp image if I use the normal lens set setup for 17.5° and set the fixture up for either wide or narrow lenses. However this limits the travel of focus and doesn't work on every fixture. It seems to be due to the inconsistency (+/- 1°) of the lenses as with this setup sharp on the litho is still at the very end of the travel. (I don't remember if it's near 0 or 255)

    The lens settings are under Set>Lens>Norm, Wide, Narw

    Not quite in time for NYE but hopefully it helps.

    -Mat
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Yup! Lens setting... The force is strong on this one.:D
  • muvmentmuvment Registered User
    edited January 2008
    Thats got to be it. I suspected a simple configuration issue, but I reset the tbeam when i first got it. Aparrently, it still likes its old memories. For instance, the lamp hours never resets, upon reboot, its always back to the pre-erased hours.
  • TimMillerTimMiller Registered User
    edited January 2008
    whenever you do the lamp rest function you have to hold down enter, and it will do a little flashy thing on the display or say hold, you have to continue to hold it until it says 0000
Sign In or Register to comment.