IPC Midi

cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
Hi,
have little if any experience using midi and an IPC,
can anyone give me the basics of setting up.
Would like to use midi enabled keyboard to trigger cuelist on IPC,

Thanks in advance Cormac

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited November 2007
    Hey Cormac,

    Are you using H3 or H2 mode on the iPC?

    In H3 mode your keyboard must be able to speak MSC, MIDI notes are not implemented yet.
  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited November 2007
    Hi Marty,
    Hog III mode.
    Ok cool so what would i need to do instead to get around this ? midi>usb link ?software on a laptop and then midi >midi or am i way off...

    Thanks C
  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited December 2007
    Anyone got anything on this one???

    Cheers Cormac
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited December 2007
    Cormac,

    As Marty said the only MIDI commands that Hog 3PC can receive are those formated as MIDI Show Control (MSC). If you can define the MIDI string that your keyboard outptus then you can configure the keys to send specific MSC commands. Otherwise if the keyboard is sending MIDI Note information the software will just ignore it.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited December 2007
    cormacjack wrote:
    Anyone got anything on this one???

    Sorry, didn't mean to leave you hanging Cormac:)

    If you REALLY have to do this, and you cannot configure your keyboard as Brad describes, then there may be a program available that can interpret MIDI notes and output MIDI MSC strings, but I have never tried this. It seems like more trouble than it is worth that way.:D
  • Florian PloderFlorian Ploder Registered User
    edited January 2008
    It would be really fine to use Midi Note numbers in Hog3 mode! Maybe it is possible in one of the next Software update.
  • ChrisTallChrisTall Registered User, DL Beta
    edited January 2008
    It would be really fine to use Midi Note numbers in Hog3 mode! Maybe it is possible in one of the next Software update.

    There's a couple of recent threads on MIDI triggering.
    Here's one.
    The solution I provided is relatively inexpensive and easy to implement.
    But I would like to see MIDI NOTES implemented.

    http://forums.highend.com/showthread.php?t=5046&highlight=midi

    Cat
Sign In or Register to comment.