scene or cue

comet...comet... Registered User
sorry for the dumb question but what's the difference between storing a look in a cue or a scene ?

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited October 2007
    The simple answer is not much. Scenes and cues both store looks in the same fashion, however, to get technical here, scenes are single looks that are stored in the scene directory while cues are looks that live inside of cuelists (which can hold multiple looks/cues) and those cuelists are stored in the cuelist directory.
  • comet...comet... Registered User
    edited October 2007
    that's what i kinda figured, thanks.
  • tedcooktedcook Registered User
    edited December 2007
    which begs the next dumb question... why bother using a scene?

    From browsing the forums I've learned that scenes allow you to create IPCB faders. Are there any other advantages to a scene over a cue currently? What situations (other than IPCB) make you say, "this should be stored as a scene"?
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2007
    For example during rehersals I use scenes, cause we jump around quite much and test all kind of things. When things get a bit organized I make a cuelist (copy scenes to cues)
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2007
    I use scenes all the time for things that I don't need to put in lists.

    Ex:
    Houselights
    Hazers
    HTP Conventionals
    Bump Effects
    ACL flashes
    Blinders

    Pretty much if it's just a single "cue," I dump it to the scenes directory. That way I always know where they are.

    My two cents....
  • tedcooktedcook Registered User
    edited December 2007
    Is there a way to release a virtual scene just by touching it again? I know I can touch/hold then hit release, but this is cumbersome.

    If I record a single item on a cuelist (like hazer @ full) and use "add release end cue" option then I can very simply turn it on and off by touching the cue with guard off. This seems to be an advantage for putting single items in a cuelist as opposed to putting them in a scene.
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2007
    You can't "add release at end" on a scene because it's only 1 scene. What I do for scenes (virtual ones at least) is create a line of scenes in my view. Directly below those, I make another row of scenes with just comment macros to release the one right above it. I also make a "scene" at the end of each row to release the entire row so I can hit it quickly.

    For example:
    First row of scenes.... Scene 1 / Scene 2 / Scene 3 / RS1-3
    Right below those.......RS1 / RS2 / RS 3

    Does that make sense?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2007
    You can also do a SCENE+RELEASE to release all your scenes without releasing any of your lists.....LIST+RELEASE works in much the same way.
  • MarkScottMarkScott Registered User
    edited December 2007
    I have another question....

    Is there a way to see the "cuelist" view of a scene without having it on a fader?

    When I open a virtual fader either by holding open and touching the scene or Scene x Open I am always taken to the editor window. Is there something I am not seeing?
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited December 2007
    There actually isn't any way to get a scene to open in cuelist view without having it attached to a master. Your best bet might be to open the scene by temporarily moving it to a master, recording it into a view, and then deleting it back off the master. Either that or enable more playback bars so you can get more scenes on a page.
Sign In or Register to comment.