Man Down!

barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
edited August 2007 in DL.3/DL.2
So this weekend I did a gig with five DL2s in collage mode. All week long, they worked perfectly. Upon curtain time, one of them (center) looked to be off. The CMA showed it still there. I did a Global Reset, and it still did not come back in. It turns out the fixture was on, and it was displaying the right graphics, however the pan and tilt were out of wack. At first it seemed the axis might have been swaped, but that was not the case. I had control of the pan and tilt, they just wouldn't go where they were suppose to. I couldn't even refocus the fixture back to it's spot on the screen...it just would not go there. I ended up doing the show with out it. I had to refocus another head and change it's keystoning on the fly to fill the gap. I never did find out what happened to it. My theory was that before the curtains opened, they were resetting the stage for the performances and something must have bumped the fixture and through off it's position. I'm sure a hard reset would have fixed it, unfortunatley know one knew where that one fixture's breaker was. They would have had to reset all of them...which wasn't an option.

Comments

  • FxDrewFxDrew Registered User
    edited August 2007
    I've found that doing a Global Reset does not always get the fixture back online (v1.3.1b1208 the Graphics Engine would not comeback online and required a power cycle). Did you try just doing a Position Reset as opposed to a global reset?
  • SBlairSBlair Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited August 2007
    A Global Reset will only reset the motion component. It will not reboot the computer. If you are having Graphics Engine issues you'll want to do a Graphics Engine Reset.

    Scott
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited August 2007
    I was getting output, so I know the lamp and the graphics engine were fine. It was the pan and tilt that were not functioning.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited August 2007
    I've found that sometimes when I've got a cranky DL.2 doing a "Shutdown" from the console, waiting about 5 minutes and then a "Global Reset" can bring things back to life as this kills power to the motors as well for a bit.
  • Pan&TiltPan&Tilt Registered User
    edited August 2007
    We have been experiencing a number of issues with the DL-2s not returning to their programmed positions on both the pan and the tilt. We even made a few postings a few months ago here without and luck.
    After spending about 2 hours with the operator and the units in the shop (thinking it was operator error of course) troubleshooting the problem I have found an interesting problem on our units.
    It appears the set screw securing the Pinion assembly to the drive motor was not secure causing the motor shaft to slip inside the Pinion assembly.
    It was just tight enough to drive the belt but would slip. Upon trying to tighten the set screw it appears that is was already tight, we had to "break" the Locktite type sealant and ran the set screws in approx. a turn and a half with the tilt screws only requiring about a half turn compared to the pan screws.
    We found that the case in both the pan and tilt Pinions on all units.
    After securing these Pinion set screws we have not had any problems since and the units are working better than ever. They have not missed a preprogrammed position since and are right on the money.
Sign In or Register to comment.