Library issue....how to update?

InakiInaki Registered User
For soem reason the library I have for my MAC 550s Extended won't spin the 2nd Gobo wheel. I was wondering if I update to a library with this implemented, will it screw up the programming I already have?

Comments

  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited May 2007
    According to the information from Martin.com,
    the 2nd wheel on the Mac550 doesn't rotate.
    Hope that helps,
    Joshua Wood
  • InakiInaki Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Actually Channel 11, from 79% - 94% is wheel rotation. The gobos won't rotate, but the wheel will.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Normally you need to see whatever Gobo wheel it is that you want to spin and touch the screen above the encoder wheel to change from "Slots" to "Spin".

    However this does seem to be missing from the 550 profile for some reason.

    You should post this under the Library Requests section so Steve can get this fixed.
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited May 2007
    My apologies for the misunderstanding,
    Joshua Wood
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2007
    Inaki,

    To answer your original question, changing a library should only cause problems with existing programming if the new library *removes* functions or features that had been used.

    When we store cues on the Wholehog 3, we store the real-world values that are used when programming. This means that if you change the slot name of one of your gobos, any time the old slot had been programmed, cues will not appear to have data because the slot stored in the cue is no longer present.

    This also means that when we update libraries or change fixture types, we don't have to change any of the data in the cues. During playback, we determine which cue data applies to the new fixture type and that data gets used.

    Since no cue data gets changed, if you have problems after the library update, you should be able to revert to the old library and return to where you were previously.

    I hope this helps.
  • InakiInaki Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Thanks Tom, I didn't want to take the plunge. I'll let you know how it goes.
  • davidfitwedavidfitwe Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2007
    I just checked the HOG on the Jewel, just to double check. And indeed no wheel rotation for wheel 2 in the library. If you get an updated library, and you let me know how it effects things on the Freedom. Once things are cool, can you let me know if you had to do anything with your shows, and also how you changed all of your 550's to the new library.

    David Wetmore
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2007
    I haven't seen any acknowledgement of the issue with the profile here, so I am going to post another thread under the Library section so Steve will see it.
  • InakiInaki Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Thanks Marty, I have to check the current libraries. All these software updates, and no library updates. I'm a slacker =(
  • davidfitwedavidfitwe Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2007
    The new library was posted. I am going to try it with my headliner show. I just backed it up, so I can go back to it if I have problems. I am going to leave my production shows alone just in case. I will let you know if I have problems.

    David Wetmore
  • davidfitwedavidfitwe Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2007
    Steve,
    I downloaded the new 550 profile, and tried to install it, but I got an error.

    I backed up my showfile, then tried to merge the library file.

    The error I got was:
    You cannot merge shows or libaries with different major revison numbers.

    How do I get around this and what does it mean?
    David Wetmore
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2007
    David,

    I've already replied to your other threads, but I'll add the same information here as well:

    We only increment the major revision number (the first number in the version) when we make significant architectural changes to the library that have the potential to cause compatibility problems or that depend on certain console software to function properly. This is why it isn't possible to merge libraries with different major revision numbers.

    Luckily, Significant changes like this don't happen very often. We've been using the v4 library for more than 2 years now.

    Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.