faster access to the Fade Changes button?

VeldaVelda Registered User
perhaps its uncommon to use the button as much as i do every day, but il throw it out there anyway.

Its a bit of a pain keeping the Fade Changes button on the programmer window as i usually have it on an external monitor to free up space in the touchscreens for pallets. So in the heat of a show when im turning fade changes on or off its usually too slow to find the mouse, move it over, and hit the button on the external display. I end up moving the window to a touchscreen, hitting it, and then moving the window back.

It wouldnt be so bad if the cursor didnt move every time you touched the screens. Then i could just leave the cursor over the button most of the time.

It just seems like its such a useful feature that it deserves easier access for on the fly lighting which is usually pretty hectic anyway. That blank soft button on the top bar would be great.

There are some buttons on the hog that i dont think do a damn thing right now. Like the control button? Or have i just never looked into it? It would be great if some of those unused blank buttons could be mapped to Fade Changes or maybe even a macro in the settings somewhere.

Comments

  • QueerdooQueerdoo Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Velda wrote:
    It wouldnt be so bad if the cursor didnt move every time you touched the screens. Then i could just leave the cursor over the button most of the time.

    The way that touchscreen works is those "emulate" a mouse.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Adam,

    Control is exactly that...if you press the hard key it is the same as tapping the on-screen button to get to fixture resets, etc. It is also used to swap screens when calibrating external touchscreens.

    I never put the programmer window on a non-touch external monitor personally, because it does make using the toolbars very difficult. The only screens I might ever put on an external non-touch monitor is a Cuelist or Output.

    I tend to assign different fade/delay times and paths before I record a cue, so having the programmer on one of the two console screens is much easier for me to verify I have what I want before I Record. If for some reason you really need to put the programmer window on an external monitor the I would suggest getting an external touchscreen.
  • SourceChildSourceChild Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Adam,
    I recently moved a show from a 4 screen console back to a 2 screen console because the power of views eliminated the need to keep using my external touch screens. Yes, I understand you are not using external touch screens but I also realized that if I just add back one monitor (no touch) it would be a dock for my additional tools.

    Trust me on this, the view palettes are your best friends. I have found that creating a view page for each fixture type on my rigs gives me instant access to things. Try splitting up your views on to multiple pages and then do this. Close all windows and capture the editors you are constantly changing as views and then change them to additive views. Do this for one on the external monitor and one on the desk monitor.

    This way, when you open an editor, it will start on your external monitor if that was where you left it, or just touch the button to send it to the external. When you have finished editing from your palette groups, simply press the view to move the editor to the desk screen and you can touch fade changes (or whatever else you need to change).
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2007
    Adam,

    One of our plans (as logged in enhancement #5868) is to add Fade Changes as one of the options for the customizable trackball buttons. This would give users a dedicated hard key for toggling the fade changes option in the current editor.

    You are correct that there are a couple of buttons on the console face panel that we are still in the process of implementing, but we try to be very careful when we do so to ensure that functionality we add is consistent with the concepts and syntax used for the rest of the console. Even if the Control key weren't already used, it wouldn't make much sense to use it for Fade Changes unless we were going to send out new key caps for it to all of our users.

    I'd like to follow up a bit on what Todd said. I generally only use my first 10 views, but one of the great features of the Wholehog 3 is that there are so many different ways that it can be setup and run. I just wanted to make sure that before you ran off and tried creating views with editors that you were aware that the Programmer is the only editor that can be recorded into views. You cannot record cue, scene, palette, or parked editors as a part of a view. The view will record, but any object-specific editors will not be recalled.

    Thanks.
  • aphylotusaphylotus Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Hi Tom,

    I defintely like the idea of being able to set the fade time function on a hard button, and yes the ones around the trackball are a good choice.

    Really great idea

    Tom
  • leebotleebot Registered User
    edited May 2007
    That would be a nice option to add to the trackball buttons. Will we be seeing that anytime soon?;)
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2007
    Lee,

    We're currently working on a couple of releases internally that will be keeping us very busy in the near future. I'll add the comments from this thread to enhancement #5868 and indicate that people are requesting this, but it's very unlikely that we'll be able to implement this feature in the next few months.

    The good news is that our next major release will include some important bug fixes and some exciting new features.

    Thanks.
  • leebotleebot Registered User
    edited May 2007
    Bug fixes are always welcomed improvents. New features are great but I completly understand focusing on bug fixes first. I know yall work really hard at improving the console. I am just gratefull you take such a large amount of time to listen to users and are so helpfull expaning the console and other ways to achive the same results when a problem is incountered. :hogsign:
  • SourceChildSourceChild Registered User
    edited May 2007
    I'll be sending you an email shortly Tom with some of my ideas. Haha! Better be prepared for a long read.

    True though, I can only think of software enhancements that would make my day. Personally I am very happy with Hog 3 as an operating system transparent of any specific hardware. Oh and that little thing you showed me I think addresses one hardware issue I would have any major complaint about.
  • VeldaVelda Registered User
    edited May 2007
    i like the trackall button idea. Cant wait to see it.

    Thanks
  • HgSiegenthalerHgSiegenthaler Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited May 2007
    Hi there
    One more time my wish:
    I like to use palettes with different fade change times.
    Why we can't use following command: group XY TIME 5 Colour YX (fade in 5sec to the colour)?
    Cheers
    Hg
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2007
    Hg,

    We've had a few discussions in other threads about improving the ability to sneak fixture parameters directly from the command line like you describe. We have feature requests open for some syntax enhancements that would make this much easier.

    Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.