Noob with a sick Technobeam

SchulzSchulz Registered User
edited November 2010 in HES Automated Lighting
Hello all,

I just today received my very first intellegent light, a used Technobeam i made in 2001 (black stripe w/ the laser) and I am getting a LTO, LTR and Color error. I'm pretty sure from what I have read here that the corresponding motors need replacing. I was getting a FX error as well, but after rototing the FX wheel manually it started working in the Self Test.

I would prefer to send this in for repairs. I'm in Washington State near Spokane and was wondering if any of you know of a repair center close by.

I might be up to replacing the motors myself, but I have a feeling that more adjustments/repairs might need to be done to this fixture as well as a good cleaning.

Any sugestions are welcome, and I hope to be an active part of the HES forum community.

Thanks,

David Schulz

Comments

  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    A few more things:

    This Technobeam came with no mounting yoke, so I'll need to order one or, if one of you have an extra laying around I'll buy it!

    It shows that it has over 3k on the lamp, so that probably needs to be replaced.

    There are Technobeam motors on eBay going for 59.00 a piece. I think is a bit high in price yes?

    I also have a Studio Spot 250 on the way. Some of the parts are the same as the Technobeam right?

    Thanks,

    David.
  • ryanwilkinsonryanwilkinson Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Lightparts is a great place to get parts. They know all the numbers and such. It is all OEM parts.

    Ryan
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Schulz wrote:
    A few more things:

    This Technobeam came with no mounting yoke, so I'll need to order one or, if one of you have an extra laying around I'll buy it!

    It shows that it has over 3k on the lamp, so that probably needs to be replaced.

    There are Technobeam motors on eBay going for 59.00 a piece. I think is a bit high in price yes?

    I also have a Studio Spot 250 on the way. Some of the parts are the same as the Technobeam right?

    Thanks,

    David.

    Your in luck! For the most part the Technobeams and the SS and SCOL 250 use a lot of the same parts and motors.
    $59.00 is a rip off!:rippedhand: They must think we are stupid.:dunce:
    List price OEM from HES is only $45.00!
    Considering the age your gonna put in quite a few motors... the force is strong on this one.. ;)
    Technobeam are easy to work on and tear down. Take your time and have a clean place to lay out your parts in order. You need to gut them to replace motors but thats a good thing in my view. It gives you full access to everything and the sled just slides right out. Keep a hand under the transformer so you don't bend the sled. I call it "birthing the baby".:D
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Puffy,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I recall you mentioning in another thread that you have the repair manuals on PDF. file. If I could get them for the Technobeam and Studio Spot 250 that would be awesome. I don't want to start taking stuff apart without knowing what all this stuff is.

    Does HES still have these parts in stock?

    Thanks,

    David.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2007
    HES still has the exploded view diagrams on their support pages. Here's where to go for these:

    http://www.highend.com/support/automated_luminaires/technobeam_views/

    Hope this helps:)
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Ok,

    I got the thing apart and the Litho/Color wheels ready for the new motors. So far it's not rocket surgery :headbang:

    Another Question; does anybody know the life expectancy of these motors?

    And before I start buying motors..

    99270070 x2 for the Color and Litho Rotate

    99270072 for Litho Wheel
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited March 2007
    in my fixtures, which are in a touring enviroment,
    they are struck around 30-40 hours a week, I usually get a few years before I have to start replacing motors on a new fixture,
    So depending on what motor, and how often you use them, it can vary.
    And of course, some motors just fail, so you never know,
    Joshua Wood
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Schulz wrote:
    Puffy,

    Thanks for the encouragement. I recall you mentioning in another thread that you have the repair manuals on PDF. file. If I could get them for the Technobeam and Studio Spot 250 that would be awesome. I don't want to start taking stuff apart without knowing what all this stuff is.

    Does HES still have these parts in stock?

    Thanks,

    David.

    They have parts BUT, HES has sold the Technobeam To STRONG!
    Strong now is the parts source for the TB. Getting parts at the moment is a bit screwy at the moment. Use the same part numbers as before.
    Lightparts.com also has parts and expert knowlege of all fixtures.

    I have a few CD's and a full set of mans. HES has 4 of the CD's available and I'm getting deluged with requests to supply copies of mine.

    Will the head of HES service please have some of the CD's remade!!!:aargh4:
    I get e-mails every few days for them. The idea of having them on the net on this site is ok but what about people who do not have net access readily available to them. The CD's rock!!! when you on a job site and dont have net I can always pull out my trusty CD's! :poke:
    You could spend $500 and make the world of repair a better place!;)
    I'm in the middle of several installs and have no time or access to a CD burner. Ya got till LDI to pull it off befire I show up and tap you on the shoulder. At the point I'm gonna do a Rosey O Donnel on ya!:18:

    Back to work... I got 50 fixtures to tear down and repair lookin me in the face.:eek:
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    No problem on the manuals for the now Puffy. I've overcome the fear factor of taking theses apart for the moment. I'm actually looking forward to taking the Studio Spot 250 apart when it gets here :Eyecrazy:
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited March 2007
    There pretty easy. A few screws here and there and you can get access to anything. :cool: If ya get stuck just give me a call.
  • TimMillerTimMiller Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Be sure it is the motors by spinning the shafts of the motor. If it turns easily then it is probably not the motor. If it is stuck or hard to turn then that motor is bad. Also motors go bad from sitting for extended periods of time with lights in dusty or damp environments.
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    I am suspect of the Litho Rotate motor as it does spin easy. If the Litho wheel motor is out will that cause the Litho Rotate to also show a sensor
    err on start up?

    The other three Litho, Color and Fx rotate are seized up or feel rough when spun.
  • TimMillerTimMiller Registered User
    edited March 2007
    the motor will not cause a sensor error on startup. Unless it is blocking the sensor than it may.
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Right, I might be a little confused. The sensors do "sense" the movement of the Litho,Color and FX wheels right? When I first started it up, it was giving me four erorrs LTO,LTR, Color and FX as well as a "sens" message somewhere in the mix. I'm going to bummed if this thing still is not working after replacing the motors. :sad:
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Ok here's the deal,
    the sensors sense when a tab passes through the sensor,
    BUT, if a motor has failed in such a way that it cannot get the motor to turn at all, the fixture may send a sens err, if the tab is blocking the sensor. try manually pushing the wheels all to a new position, and home the fixture again, to see if the error clears, if it doesn't I would test the sensor.
    In the test menu, there should be sens option,
    you can select the sensor you want to test, and manually spin the wheel, and when the tab passes through the sensor, the display should change from on to off.(or vice versa, i forget which way it is)
    that will tell you if the sensor is causing a problem..

    FYI, a motor spinning too easy can be a sign of a bad driver chip,
    take a new motor and spin it without it plugged into a fixture, now plug it into a fixture the motor will be harder to turn, as it turns into a little generator,
    thats why if you move the head of a fixture while it is unplugged the motor lights flash on.

    To test this, just remove the driver chip and swap it with one from something that you know works, and power it back up and see if the problem follows the chip or stays with the motor.

    Good Luck
    Joshua Wood
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited April 2007
    Woodj32177 wrote:
    Ok here's the deal,
    the sensors sense when a tab passes through the sensor,
    BUT, if a motor has failed in such a way that it cannot get the motor to turn at all, the fixture may send a sens err, if the tab is blocking the sensor. try manually pushing the wheels all to a new position, and home the fixture again, to see if the error clears, if it doesn't I would test the sensor.
    In the test menu, there should be sens option,
    you can select the sensor you want to test, and manually spin the wheel, and when the tab passes through the sensor, the display should change from on to off.(or vice versa, i forget which way it is)
    that will tell you if the sensor is causing a problem..

    FYI, a motor spinning too easy can be a sign of a bad driver chip,
    take a new motor and spin it without it plugged into a fixture, now plug it into a fixture the motor will be harder to turn, as it turns into a little generator,
    thats why if you move the head of a fixture while it is unplugged the motor lights flash on.

    To test this, just remove the driver chip and swap it with one from something that you know works, and power it back up and see if the problem follows the chip or stays with the motor.

    Good Luck
    Joshua Wood

    Oh yeah! Excellent point.
    To me motors are a matter of "feel". I class them several ways.
    1. A Normal motor You feel a certain resistance and can feel the steppers as you rotate the shaft. The feel is constant.
    2. A Spinner. Shaft rotates way too easy and almost spins free. You don't feel the steps. (replace)
    3. A Loper. Kinda like a camshaft. More resistance at one point on the motor and not enough on the other side. You can feel it in the steppers as you rotate the shaft. (on the verge of death / replace)
    4. A Chunker. Similar to a loper but much worse. (replace)
    5. Frozen. It's locked up and wont move hardly at all. (replace)
    Have a few 3773 chips handy in case you need'em.
    95% of the time it's a bad motor causing the errors.
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited April 2007
    Today I received the Studio Spot 250, in what was one of the worst packing jobs I've seen. One of the side covers was cracked off and the back shell had all four screw mounting points broken off..thank you UPS!

    Here is the good news..everything works great on this light! And the real kicker is I got this thing for $630.00! I'm fixing the broken shell with epoxy as we speak, I dont think the damage will be noticeable when I'm done.

    Thanks again for all the help, I've learned an amazing amount just in the last week with the help from this forum. I'll be ordering those motors from lightparts tomorrow.

    Cheers,

    David.
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited April 2007
    Tell Don Frank said Hi!:D
  • SchulzSchulz Registered User
    edited April 2007
    I got the motors today. Popped them in and everything is working! Thanks
    again for all the help, there are good people here.

    David.
  • David DePiettoDavid DePietto Registered User
    edited November 2010
    Wow thanks guys this helped me out a lot. I just got my first 10 technos last week. What a great light.
    Is there anyway you could send me something on how to take apart the lights .I need to chang the shutter motor. and dont want to make any mistakes
Sign In or Register to comment.