midimap file

AndrisAndris Registered User
I edited my midimap.txt file so it only contains the following info:

version = 40
go:8 = note:72

I did this because the MIDI trigger to the hog is coming from someone's laptop and I don't want any errant incoming MIDI data to do unintentional button presses during the show. I'm wondering if this is OK to have only the function I need to be in the file. I'm pretty sure this won't affect anything (except for slaving another hog which I'm not doing), but wanted to be 100% on this before I go onsite.
With this file and MIDI connected, when the console sees note 72 coming in, it does a 'GO' on fader 8. Will note off messages afect this command? I'll probably specify to have the trigger in the form of a quarter note so nothing unusual happens.

Comments

  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited February 2007
    I'm pretty shure it takes the note on as a button down event, and note of as button up event.. That way you can "hold" buttons as you would do on the desk with pig,set,choose etc..

    edit: -for the midimap file.. If i remember correct, i've used midimaps with only a coupple of lines in them without problems..
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited February 2007
    OK, we did the show and it worked great.
    The only issue was what the laptop thought note 72 was and what I thought it was. Turns out that in Ableton Live, note 72 is 'B3', not C5 as I had thought. It only references notes as names so there was a bit of trial&error. There is a lot of discrepancy with things that generate MIDI notes. Some products start at 0, while others begin at 1.
    I wish hog3 would implement MIDI notes soon.
  • erockerock Registered User
    edited February 2007
    This post brought up a question i had about Ableton Live and midi. I've been trying for some time to get Live to output midi, preferably timecode, but notes would be great too. Is this possible and if so, how do you get it to work. I even went so far as to talk to someone at Ableton and they said that this wasn't possible. I'd be very interested in any info you might have
    Thanks
    Eric
  • ChrisTallChrisTall Registered User, DL Beta
    edited February 2007
    Eric,

    I don't know Live, but I have been thru this with Sonar 6.

    Does Live let you plug in a MIDI device like a keyboard and record what you play onto a track?

    CAT
  • erockerock Registered User
    edited February 2007
    I don't know Live to well either, in my limited experience with it, I've discovered a window that you can bring up that lets you link the midi in/out to a piece of hardware. I'm using Hog2PC and we use Live to play sound for our shows. I'd like to be able to add a timecode track to the soundtrack to sync up lighting cues with the sound

    Thanks
    Eric
  • ChrisTallChrisTall Registered User, DL Beta
    edited February 2007
    For our Christmas show I did that but using Sonar 6.

    Hardware goes like this...
    A laptop running Sonar 6 (audio studio)
    A USB to MIDI device (help you find that later if needed)
    A MIDI Map Device (midisolutions.com)
    A keyboard controller (it is a keyboard with no sounds in it, a normal one would do)

    We had 2 tracks of audio, a 3rd track for the "MIDI" lighting cues.

    The 3rd track was set to just record normal music notes.

    The 3rd track was also set to send out the notes thru the USB device.

    So far all this is normal audio studio stuff. I would expect Live to do this.

    The trick then was to program the MIDI mapping device to convert the notes into MSC commands.

    Of course if you are on Hog II, you could leave the notes and change the midimap.txt file.

    I found the mapper easier and more flexible. Actually, I was on Hog3 on iPC so I needed it anyway.

    CAT
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited February 2007
    Ableton Live will not generate timecode, whether it be SMPTE or MIDI. It can only slave to external sources. The work I've done with it so far only utilizes MIDI notes as triggers to the hog.
    You set Live up as if you had an external synth you want to trigger. The hog can be set to listen to all MIDI channels or a specific one. You connect the hog MIDI in to the PC MIDI out and when you record specific notes on a MIDI track in Live, it will output the data to the hog.
  • erockerock Registered User
    edited February 2007
    Thanks for the info, do i need to edit the midimap file as well or do i just use specific commands in Live that trigger go, go to cue, etc?
  • AndrisAndris Registered User
    edited February 2007
    If you want to trigger a specific fader on the hog then you do have to modify the midimap.txt file. Most of the info for using MIDI triggers is in the latest hog2 manual. All Live does is send a note out at the appropriate moment on the timeline. Make sure the note is something relatively short like a 1/16th note so the note on/off timing is as short as possible.
    Note on= button press, Note off= button release.
Sign In or Register to comment.