How to tighten color flags on ColorPro HX

LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
edited November 2006 in HES Automated Lighting
I've got a ColorPro HX which has a loose color flag.

How's the best way to dissassemble the front end to re-tighten the color flag.

Thanks

Comments

  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited November 2006
    A set of must have tools are the ACELITE 99ps-40 allen socket driver set 11pc. A metric set too (99ps-41 Metric Allen hex socker driver 9 pc.) for x-spots and others and a 10" extension gets you anywhere on any fixture. :headbang: There is no easy way. But with my tools I bet I can reach in there and tighten it in place. Otherwise you must remove all upper layers to get your hands in there to tighten the lil bugger. Now dont' that just suck... Wish you would have bought the proper tools yet? You say you have 12 the same way? :17: j/k.

    A tech with proper tools is half the battle. Me being lazy, I have lots of tools and cute lil flicker lights to dazzle the gumbys with.:cool:
  • LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
    edited November 2006
    I've got some pretty long tools but when I looked at it originally since the flag is loose from the hub (not the hub loose on the motor shaft) it appears I'll have to break it down to get in there and re-glue the glass with some RTV and make sure everything is tight.

    Oh well just chores to do.... :eek:
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited November 2006
    RTV clear ought to do the job. Loose at the hub huh? Get ready for a tear down, nuthin you can do about that.:no:
  • LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
    edited November 2006
    On a completely different note, I was asking Chris a question about trackspots, have you ever seen when terminating a Trackspot if you pull the DMX line it will keep running instead of shutting down?

    I found V2 boards do this but not V3, when I swapped the RS422/485 chip from a National Semiconductor to a TI it no longer does it. The NS chips appear to be good, no operational problems, it's almost like an oscillation or something going on inside the chip yet with the terminator attached it shouldn't happen. Terminator is good and if you remove it the fixture shuts down just as it should...

    I even tried a different RS485 driver chip and it shutdown properly, almost like some kind of manufacturing difference in the NS chips
  • PuffyfishPuffyfish Registered User
    edited November 2006
    I have seen old boards keep the shutter open with the last info it had but not move. No pan or tilt. That stopped. Does not happen with my ver 3 fixtures.
  • LightGuy48LightGuy48 Registered User
    edited November 2006
    No prob with v3 fixtures, just v2. And if I use a TI SN75176 or an LT485 chip it doesn't seem to do it, only the NS75176's
Sign In or Register to comment.