DMX Status Light

dmdesignsdmdesigns Registered User
edited August 2007 in Axon
Hey guys, how about a DMX status LED on the face of the unit. I notice that when I power up axon without DMX signal flowing, I have to restart to get it to recognize DMX once the conole is online.

Comments

  • SBlairSBlair Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited November 2006
    There is a green LED on the face panel of the Axon 'S1' that indicates the presence of incoming DMX.

    You shouldn't have to reboot it.
  • LekoliteLekolite Registered User
    edited July 2007
    I realize this is an old thread, but I have noticed the same thing on our Axons. If DMX is not present when they boot, and then is connected later, they will not respond to it. I have to boot (or reboot) them with the console running or they don't do anything. This is confirmed in the DMX viewer. If I boot them with no DMX and then start the console (hog IPC) and play a cue, they will not respond and dmx viewer shows 0 for most parameters. I don't touch the console and only reboot the axons, and they come back up playing the cue correctly. They are running the most recent release of software 1.3.3 I believe with the 2.05 XPE image.
    The DMX status light does come on though.

    I assume this is not intended behavior, as it is very annoying. :aargh4:

    Billy
  • LekoliteLekolite Registered User
    edited July 2007
    Anybody? :confused:
  • cormacjackcormacjack Registered User, DL Beta
    edited July 2007
    Hi,
    I agree it is annoying but every fixture/server will have it's own special little characteristic's and this happens to be one axon server has.
    So i would patch your axon fully on your console before powering up the server but in saying this i always try to power my console before i power up moving lights as i find i usually have less trouble with fixtures not homing correctly etc.
    Sorry i can't be of more help...

    Cormac
  • LekoliteLekolite Registered User
    edited July 2007
    I understand, Cormac, and currently I am just keeping that fact in mind. However Scott's post from November seems to say that this shouldn't be the case. I wonder if this got broken in a later software revision?

    So to get a general consensus from users out there, do everyone's axons do this?

    And to HES: Can this be looked at and fixed?
  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited July 2007
    Billy,

    I will look into this issue soon (a week or two? perhaps) and let you know what I find with my Axon's here at the office. *Officially writing it down on his to do list*

    Regards,
  • schiefelsschiefels Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited August 2007
    Billy,

    I have been able to reproduce this here at the office. From what I have found, the unit must be booted from a complete power off state (no power connected at all, it will not recreate on a reboot or soft power off) with no DMX connected. When this is done, the unit will not respond to DMX until it is rebooted with DMX connected.

    In this state, however, it will still have the DMX receive light lit as if it should be receiving DMX. Looking at the DMX viewer will yield values of 0 and no changes when DMX going to the unit is manipulated.

    I have logged this issue into our system as bug #10949.

    Regards,
  • LekoliteLekolite Registered User
    edited August 2007
    Thanks for looking into that, that is exactly what I was seeing.

    I had not figured out that it must be from a total no power state yet, since once they are up and running, we typically don't futz around with the dmx any more.
  • NoStoppinNoStoppin Registered User
    edited August 2007
    Lekolite said:
    Thanks for looking into that, that is exactly what I was seeing.

    I had not figured out that it must be from a total no power state yet, since once they are up and running, we typically don't futz around with the dmx any more.

    I've found the same thing. just gotten used to leaving it for last. sometime I have to plug both desktop monitors in for the machine to boot properly, and then connect the projector to the output. once you do re-boot the axons, you'll notice the dmx values fluctuating. that stops after the graphics engine is fully booted.

    I never turn them off after that. I leave the pj's on too, just lamp on and off. seems to be pretty reliable.

    peace, Tim O
Sign In or Register to comment.