Putting CMY on handles

rigbybmjrigbybmj Registered User
Hey guys,

How do you record your CMY onto 3 handles so you can mix between C M and Y off of handles? Is it the same as recording efx to a handle and scrolling through efx with the handle?

Thanks!

Jay

Comments

  • Mike HansonMike Hanson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited October 2006
    What you need to do is only record Cyan into a cues list and not have any info for Meg, or Yellow, this will be one cuelist. Then put just Meg into a second cuelist and in that list there can not be any Cyan or Yellow info. Then make a third list with just yellow and no Cyan or Meg. After you do that you want the fade time in all three cuelist to be 0 sec. Then open up the option for the first cuelist and select (Crossfade IFCB) for the fader action, and (+go) for the flash button action. And you also want the make the manual fade time 0 sec. This should do it for you. But remember it only will work if you do not have the values of the other parameters recorded into the cues. To get rid of the parameter information in the programmer push and hold the undo button and then turn the wheel you want to knockout of the programmer.
  • rigbybmjrigbybmj Registered User
    edited October 2006
    I am doing exactly this. When I bring up all mac 500's in a stage wash at 100, then move the cyan fader it just goes to the single cyan color, when I do the same with the megenta fader it goes just to megenta, same with the yellow. I have all of the fade times at 0, both q list and manual, and i have the faders and the q lists at fade IFCB as well as + go.... what am I missing?

    Thanks again!

    Jay
  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited October 2006
    mmm.. maybe becouse a mac 500 dont have cmy mixing?? only a static colourwheel??!!
  • MitchMitch Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited October 2006
    It sounds as if the Cyan cue has the Magenta and Yellow values at 0. As well the Magenta cue sounds as if it has the Cyan and Yello values at 0. The same goes for Yellow.
    Each cue needs to only have a value for the single color at 100. The other two color values need to be transparent in these cues.

    You will need to go into the Control Panel of the console, in the lower right corner there is KEEP PARAMETERS SEPARATE, and it has buttons for IFCB. You will need to select the C for Color. This will allow you to record a cue that only has cyan value without any magenta or yellow values, etc. Repeat for the other colors.
    You will need to rerecord the cues after selecting this.

    Mitch
  • rigbybmjrigbybmj Registered User
    edited October 2006
    Still the same thing, as soon as I touch the fader it goes straight to Cyan/Meg/Yellow. It might be the way I am recording the colors into the que list. I am going All Mac 500's @ 100, then selecting Cyan, then record into the que list, then repeating for the other two colors.... Is this correct?

    Thanks again for your patience!
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited October 2006
    Jay,

    Based on what I'm seeing in the fixture profile and on the Martin web site The MAC500 does not have CMY colour mixing. It only has 2 colour wheels that each have 9 colour slots (plus open).

    The steps that Mike and Mitch offered should work for setting up handles, but it looks to me like it's not going to work in this case because the fixture doesn't support colour mixing.

    I hope this helps.
  • rigbybmjrigbybmj Registered User
    edited October 2006
    Wow, don't I feel like an idiot...

    Thanks guys. I did exactly as you said for the Mac 2k's and it works perfectly. Again I appreciate your patience!
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited November 2006
    Jay,

    It's certainly no problem at all. I had to do some digging with this one because it sounded like it should have been working for you. I'm glad to hear that you have it all figured out. Please let us know if you need anything else.

    Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.