Custom Naming

PryderiPryderi Registered User, Hog Beta
This has been touched upon before (specifiacally in the library requests) but here goes. I understand about the way libraries need to be constructed, as as a result certain fixtures - like Pulsar Chromabanks and Thomas Pixellines have their effects sections mapped as Macros (which appear as slots). So instead of 'white strobe' you get 'fourteen' or whatever.

In an ideal world there would be another layer that allows a user to construct their own labels (especially with media servers like Catalyst) - The 3 is aware of the true reference, your own comments merely piggyback on top of it. This however is probably a major chunk of work as it involves a core piece of code fundamental to how the console works (I guess). I assume the reason the Chromabanks and Pixelines etc have the numbered slots is for much the same reason.

However, is there a way to create an 'Automenu' for the functions? They can appear however they need to on the slot, it just would be helpful to not have to go through each function individually every time and create a pallette giving it a useful name.


Cheers,

Pryderi

Comments

  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited June 2006
    Pryderi,

    Feature request #6042 requests the ability to have user-customizable slot names.

    It seems that in this case, where you are working with a fixture that will always have the same macro definitions, that we should get these into the library so they are correct. Could you send me the list of fixtures that you're having this problem with and the macro names for those fixtures and I can work with Steve to get these properly updated?

    Thanks.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited June 2006
    Hi Guys,

    See attache PDF for Pixel-Line Macros. (or not - uploader tool is acting up on me?!?)



    http://www.pixelpar.com
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited June 2006
    OK, so until I can get the PDF uploaded....

    Go to:

    http://www.pixelpar.com/download/1044/1044user.pdf

    Page 11 of this PDF details the macros for both the 1044 and the 110ec strips.
  • PryderiPryderi Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2006
    The Pulsar Chroma range is at http://www.pulsarlight.com/ChromaZone.htm.

    The uploader seems not to work - I will e-mail the PDF to you Tom.

    Best wishes,

    Pryderi
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited June 2006
    Pryderi...

    What happened with the uploader? I assume you mean http://upload.highend.com ? I just tested and it seems to be functioning correct.

    thanks,
  • PryderiPryderi Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2006
    Hi Brad,

    No, I mean the 'Attach Files' section in the Additional options. whenever I try to attach a file I get


    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.


    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

    I am running Mac OSX 10.3.9, With Firefox as my web browser. I did, however send some file to Tom. I trust he recieved them.

    Best Wishes,

    Pryderi
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited June 2006
    Ah right. Yes the upload via the forum is not very useful (Scott will comment on this I am sure). You can always use the http://upload.highend.com to send us files.

    thanks,
  • SBlairSBlair Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited June 2006
    Uploading the files into the forum as attachments is limited at best. Typically for http based uploads there are server-based timeouts that cause the issue for larger files or slow links.

    When I try uploading that pdf I noticed it fails right away though so I'll look into it.

    Thanks.
    Scott
Sign In or Register to comment.