Patch several fixtures with a number of specified channels DMX

stephlightstephlight Registered User
As for various reasons, the operator is not always the person who decides patch fixtures, and the person who gives the addresses is not always sure number of channels and not to have problems decides to take a higher number of channels, would be it possible to have a line of code such as for example 1 THRU 8 @ 1/ X which patch fixtures all X channels.

thanks.

Comments

  • Mike HansonMike Hanson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2006
    Not sure what you are asking??
    You can patch like you are saying as long as you give the different fixture types different user numbers.
    1 is a cyber
    2 is a mac2k
    3 is a studio color
    If I say 1 thru 3 @ 1/3/1
    This puts the cyber @ DP 1 / Universe 3/ DMX 1 the mac2k @ DMX 21 and then it will patch the SC.
    Does this help?
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User
    edited May 2006
    I think what Steph may be asking for is the ability to patch fixtures using an arbitrary amount of channels.

    Example:
    The 'designer' doesn't know how many channels a single Cyberlight uses (20). So, as he/she is doing paperwork on the ol' corporate jet, he/she guesses at a number of channels that is sure to be enough. Let's say 25.

    The cyberlights are later addressed, per paperwork, at the following addresses:

    1
    26
    51
    76
    101...

    It would then, theoretically, be nice if the programmer could patch sequential fixtures easily with an arbitrary spacing.

    Cyberlight 1>5@1(25)

    ...or something like that.

    --

    Steph? Any input?

    I'm not quite sure I would ever use a function like this. So, I'm not sure if this is helping any.

    Regards,

    Phil
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited May 2006
    Call me old school, but wouldn't it just be easier to update the paperwork after the Programmer and Head System Tech get together and sort it out?:friday:
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited May 2006
    z6p6tist6
    This is exactly what i tried to explain with my few English worlds.
    1 > 8 @ 1 / 25


    Marty
    When I work only on console, it often happens to me to arrive at work when the system is installed and patched, it is impossible then to change all.
  • Mike HansonMike Hanson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2006
    Just to clarify Cybers can only be addressed at 1,21,41,61,81,101,121 and so on no other address. So you can't even patch a cyber at DMX 25
  • stephlightstephlight Registered User
    edited May 2006
    so we will take studio color Ok? :)
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User
    edited May 2006
    Mike,

    Thanks for the catch. My mistake on the example.

    Anyhow...I generally like to patch fixtures individually in situations like this, just to be sure that everything is done properly. So, I wouldn't necessarily use this feature.

    But, I'm glad I could clarify for Steph.

    Over and out.

    Phil
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2006
    Geez Phil...

    I know I have seen you work with Cyberlights before. Wow you must be getting old to make mistakes like this! :18:
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User
    edited May 2006
    One of few times I've been accused of getting old, Brad.

    Considering how many CLs and IBs I've tech'd, I'm going to blame this one on permanent brain damage done by rodeo dirt.

    Or maybe even rodeo clowns.

    PG
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited May 2006
    Yeah I thought you would like the "getting old" comment. Don't worry it happens to all of us!
Sign In or Register to comment.