Internal DP question

MTDLawrenceMTDLawrence Registered User
edited April 2014 in Hog 4 Networking Help
Hey. Sort of a curiousity/theoretical question.

If you have two Hog4s running live backup (both set as servers, on an ethernet switch) and you're running data out of the internal DP on console 1, will you lose signal communication if console 1 suffers a software crash?

Obviously you will if it loses network or loses power.

Comments

  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2014
    It is depending on which part of the software crashes, if the server crashes the DP will continue to work, if the DP8K process crashs it wont ;)

    Good way: use both DPs and a DMX Switch. Set DP on console 1 to net# 1 and dp on console 2 to net#2, then clone the dps and you have output on both
  • MTDLawrenceMTDLawrence Registered User
    edited April 2014
    Fair enough. I have a client who is very concerned about backup redundancy but is not willing to purchase a separate DP8000, so I'm just collecting info.
  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2014
    Even if you are using external DPs you would need to have 2 if you are trying to setup a full-redundancy.

    With the method described above you can handle 95% of the typical backup-situations
  • MTDLawrenceMTDLawrence Registered User
    edited April 2014
    MLorenz wrote: »
    Even if you are using external DPs you would need to have 2 if you are trying to setup a full-redundancy.




    Edit: Nevermind, I'm half asleep. I know this.

    Thanks for the responses!
  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2014
    Same way like you would do it with internal DPs

    Connect them via HOG-Net, net# 1 & 2, have a DMX-Switch at the outputs....
    Something like this:
    http://rocksolid-technologies.com/products.html

    There are a lot of options around for DMX switching
Sign In or Register to comment.