global effects

LukVonTrugLukVonTrug Registered User
hey,
I'm struggleing with the FX-engine.
I'm trying to build global FX (position/color/etc) but every effect doesn't work for any fixture even when i press the global button in the recort menu..........:dunno:
what to do?

Comments

  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2014
    What version is your console running?
  • Buzz313thBuzz313th Registered User
    edited January 2014
    If your including individual offsets for specific fixtures, you can't make the fx palette global.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2014
    If you're running the current build, make sure you have the attributes you want to include in the effects palette enabled in the Efffects Directory. This is nicknamed Kinds Lock. It's the ICPBETL icons in the Directory Header. By default, the E is the only attribute enabled for the Effects Directory. Try enabling Color and Position to add those values into the effect you record.
  • etmakesmoviesetmakesmovies Registered User
    edited April 2014
    Had the same issue but I think a combination of both your responses might answer this for me.

    But, just in case...

    I have recorded a simple three channel fire effect. It's essentially Rand2 with an offset of 0>300 and some adjustments to the fx rate, length, etc... I even tried it eliminating the offset (which somewhat defeats the purpose of the effect but I wanted to try).

    No matter how I record it I can't get it to work on any fixtures other than the three desk channels I first programmed. Any advice? Running 2.1.2 on Hog 4
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2014
    Recording An Effects Palette with fanned values will not allow you to apply the Palette to other fixtures. This would require a sequence effect, which is currently not available...yet.
    There are a couple of work arounds.
    First, before you fan any values of the effect, record the effect as a Global Effect in a palette. You only need one fixture selected for this. Make sure you mask Effect and any other Parameters you want included in the Effect before you select the empty palette. Once you have the effect recorded, you should be able to apply it to any fixtures with that parameter. After which, you can fan whatever you like before recording it into a cue.
    The other trick that I sometimes do is grab all my channels, and create one gigantic effect across all the channels. I do this in Blind of course. Then I shuffle the order and fan the offset, maybe even add Grouping to have the effect repeat a bit(depends on how many channels I'm playing with). Then I record that as an Effect Palette. Now, no matter which channels I grab, I can apply the fire effect to them. They might require a bit of tweaking, but not much, and if I do tweak them, I just update those channels into the effect palette for later on.
  • etmakesmoviesetmakesmovies Registered User
    edited April 2014
    Thanks Scott. That helps. I'll play with that.
  • lainer3lainer3 Registered User
    From what I read on this forum is:
    that you cannot make an effect for one fixture and record for all fixtures even though they are the same type?
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    Not true. You are able to make any kind of effect using a single fixture and record it as a Fixture Type Effect palette or even a Global Effects palette. This would allow you to apply the effect to any fixture. Now, if you create an effect using more than one fixture, and you fan any of their attributes, then recording those fixtures together into an Effects palette would only work as a Per Fixture effect. The Per Type and Global settings would not work since each fixture has different values because they were fanned. There are plans to bring back what was once called Sequence Effects. Not sure when or if it will even be called this, but the effects engine rework is something High End intends to work on.
Sign In or Register to comment.