allTouch PC's/control panel

bassmanbassman Registered User
edited October 2013 in Hog 4 OS Software Discussion
HI

4 alltouch PC's same issue. Hog4 Control panel freezes. Laptops working OK. Will try to see is problem still exist in Hog4 new build .

Comments

  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2013
    Is it windows 8 or windows 7?
  • bassmanbassman Registered User
    edited June 2013
    Sorry I forgot to mention Windows 8.
  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2013
    Is it happening when using the touchscreen?
    Or also with the mouse?
    What if you turn of the touchscreen?
  • skierskier Registered User
    edited June 2013
    Try touching a pallette then go back to the front panel.

    We have the same issue and doing above regains control.
  • mwschwanmwschwan Registered User
    edited June 2013
    Yeah, my experience with PC touch devices is that you must have some kind of window open (pallets, output, programmer etc) on the displays or the front panel will stop responding.

    Very repeatable problem. You can hit "close all" and after a click or two on the front panel, it will become unresponsive, open "pallets" view and everything becomes fine again.

    Is this the same problem you're having?

    Anyone know if this has been logged as a bug yet?

    Mike
  • Buzz313thBuzz313th Registered User
    edited June 2013
    I had the same problem.. Then I realised it has something to do with having the H4PC primary window maximized.

    Try putting the Primary window in "Window" Mode (Not maximized), then the virtual front panel won't hang on exit, or anywhere else for that matter.

    JB
  • ShortieShortie Registered User
    edited June 2013
    I had a the exact same thing happen on my Windows 8 touch device. i can move a fader or use control pannel on the device but it will lock up the rest of the panel.

    It will show changes to the Cues on the fader page (blue choose light) but nothing else works.
  • AndreiAndrei Registered User
    edited August 2013
    Does anyone know if this has been reported as a bug yet?

    I have the same issues on a HP All-in-One and also an Acer tablet which we "try" and use as a focus remote but with the front panel locking up the entire time, it makes it impossible to do.

    No such issues running MA2 OnPC on the exact same hardware, so it is definitely a software issue.

    I had a further issue this week when connecting a tablet PC running 4PC to my Full Boar 4 that after about 20 minutes the keyboard in mapping mode would stop responding and started accepting random key commands. Exit the session, restart the application and everything working 100% again for the next 20 minutes...knew I should have also taken the nano wing that day :)

    Together with 4PC crashing when you try and change a path in a cue list, I think I am ready to say (at least for my organisation) that 4PC is not currently show safe - not an easy thing for someone to say who has invested in 5 Hog consoles!

    Barco > Can you please recommend some compatible touch screen based hardware that is compatible with the current release of Hog 4PC.

    Cheers

    Andrei
  • MLorenzMLorenz Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited August 2013
    Hog4PC works fine on normal PCs.
    I have it on a old XP Machine with an ELO... Doing everything.
    Problem seems to be related to Win8 and multitouch devices
  • ShortieShortie Registered User
    edited August 2013
    You need to make sure it is running as administrator... I started doing that and i have had no issues.
  • AndreiAndrei Registered User
    edited September 2013
    I am actually running Windows 7 and also ensuring that the application starts in Administrator mode, still with no luck.

    Problem is that it is getting harder to buy non multi-touch surfaces (for focus remotes, etc) and I am not too keen on having to go back to an 11 year old operating system to get an application written in 2013 working correctly.

    Hopefully someone from Barco can give an update on when they expect to release a patch to fix things up.

    Cheers

    Andrei
  • edited September 2013
    Andrei,

    Hog 4PC running on a PC computer is not responsible for installing drivers to support the touch-screen component of the PC. Windows is in control of touch-screens in this situation.

    What version of Hog 4PC are you working with?

    Can you also please provide the specs of the computer?

    Regards,
  • AndreiAndrei Registered User
    edited September 2013
    Hi Paul

    Touch screens work 100% in all other windows applications, so I agree it is not a driver issue.

    I am running v1.2.1

    Will send you specs of the computers when next back in the factory and can get the exact details to you.

    Andrei
  • ShortieShortie Registered User
    edited September 2013
    So using HOG PC a couple of times recently i noticed that the virtual console does not respond (faders, Knobs and palette buttons) to touch (or mouse input) until you grab an item from a grop directory.
  • James MapesJames Mapes Registered User
    edited October 2013
    I'm having the same issue with an Envy 23" HP computer.

    It is a clean installation of Hog 4 1.2.1.

    Just to echo the two issues that other people have been talking about:

    First, after interacting once with the front panel, it locks you out of further interaction. I haven't found that doing other things affects that; I'll give that a try.

    Second, after a random amount of time (and doesn't seem to be based on interacting with it), it seems like the software locks the Pig key on. Numbers, specifically, start doing strange things. If I hold down CTRL, though, everything can be put in normally.

    The program is set to "Run as administrator" and in Windows 7 compatibility mode.
  • James MapesJames Mapes Registered User
    edited October 2013
    I tracked down the strange control issue that I was having. Whenever I used the alt+tab keys to switch windows (generally, between the Nano main window and the front panel, for encoder control) the controls bug out. Instead of typing numbers, the number keys select cue lists. I can hold down control to return behavior to normal.

    To employ simple lighting troubleshooting, the behavior is identical with all keyboards that I've been able to try, including the virtual touch keyboard that you can bring up in Windows 8.

    I was not able to figure out a way to undo the change of the control scheme.
Sign In or Register to comment.