Kinds mask

srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
edited February 2013 in Hog 4 OS Software Discussion
Just wondering... Would it be useful to have clear mask button, cause we have now a quite amount of masks... or did I miss something?

Comments

  • Akito.HAkito.H Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2013
    I'm completely agree with Sami.
    I also would like to have clear mask button under every selections.
    It's should bigger than the others.

    Thanks,
    Aki
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2013
    As before, no masking is applied by default when recording scenes or cues. The only way you would end up with lots of masking turned on is if you turned them masking on manually.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2013
    Chris,

    Did you check what happens with update?
    All masks on except time. Like it should be.
    I think clearing mask might be handy...
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2013
    Gotcha. Not sure why auto-update does this. The masking should be default I think. I will look into this.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2013
    I think the reason is that in update all is recorded except time unless you select time too.
    It has been that way always and so it should be... In update usually we want to record everything...
    Now we just have a bit more than IPCB :)
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2013
    Yes, but the point being that when no masking is specified, then everything gets recorded. So, we should start out unmasked instead of fully masked. Make sense?
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2013
    But in update we cannot start without masking... cause the default is all except time.
    That causes the situation where all others are selected.

    Leaving one parameter out causes a situation where all others have to be on.
    And that causes a situation where we need a button to clear masks if we want to update just a couple of parameters.
    Before we had only IPCBE on and T off and selecting and deselecting them was quite fast, usually max 4 buttons.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2013
    To be clear, If you select Intensity, Pos, Col, and Beam in the masking scheme then the user kinds are in consequential. The answer here is not to include user kinds or time automatically in the auto-update procedure. This way the procedure will be no more or less troublesome as it was before.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited January 2013
    I'm a bit confused...
    What is your suggestion?

    What we cannot do, is change the default. Timing should be not recorded in update.
    If we start to record all + time (nothing selected in masks) in update that will be a real mess.
    Do we agree on this?
    If you select Intensity, Pos, Col, and Beam in the masking scheme then the user kinds are in consequential
    Does this mean that if I select beam, all kinds that belong to beam are selected?
    If so...right now there's no visual feedback that is happening. I mean if I use for example color mask all (kinds) masks belonging under color should follow.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited January 2013
    If you record, merge, or update an object without any specified masking then all touched fixture functions including timing are included.

    Now speaking directly about v1.1.0:

    When you do an auto-update, the console's default masking should be Intensity, Position, Colour, Beam, Effect, and Control.

    Right now in v1.1.0 user kinds are also being masked in by default when auto-updating.

    The functionality change that we will make in a future patch is that we will not mask in user kinds by default when doing an auto-update.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited February 2013
    Just want to be sure...
    So, in future there will be IPCBE selected in kind mask when doing auto-update?
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited February 2013
    Correct, just as before.
Sign In or Register to comment.