Hog 4 PC issues on startup and shutdown

Firewood1Firewood1 Registered User, Hog Beta
Hello,

Perhaps crash is not the correct term, but I frequently have issues starting up and shutting down Hog 4 PC, whether connected or not to my network.

The program is freezing on startup every couple of attempts, and on shutdown almost every time. I have to go into Task Manager (Windows XP) and end all the processes ending in -win32-golden.exe.

Any thoughts? It's quite irritating.

Cheers

Colin

Comments

  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited December 2012
    Colin

    Is this with a new show H4 show or a H3 show file?
  • Firewood1Firewood1 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2012
    This is a new Hog 4 show, but of course my startup problems are before I even try to load a show.
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited December 2012
    Does your computer have a Wireless Card enabled?
    Please discribe the laptop you are using, what OS ect..
  • Firewood1Firewood1 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2012
    Yes I believe the wireless was enabled at the time.

    It's a Dell Vostro laptop running Windows XP Service Pack 3.
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited December 2012
    Please disable the wireless and see if that helps.
    Windows XP 32 bit?
  • Firewood1Firewood1 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2012
    Yes, 32 bit, I will try this later and report back.

    Thanks
  • MichaelMaxMichaelMax Registered User
    edited December 2012
    I have just started having trouble shutting down my 4pc software. When I close it using the "x" in the upper right hand corner of my screen, it asks me if I want to "kill" the program (and possibly lose data) or wait. When hitting wait, I get no response---when I try again, I get the same message.

    So, I tried shutting down through "setup" and "quit"---and got no response---it also seemed to prevent me from manually backing up my file.

    I am running win7 on a macbook pro (boot camp), 64 bit---I do have wifi on, and believe my UAC's are disabled. I recently updated my windows software (within the past few weeks), and that may have been when this problem started---I use 4pc on multiple computers (mac mini, macbook pro---all on bootcamp) and have just recently started experiencing this problem globally.

    Hope this info is helpful!
Sign In or Register to comment.