Programming wing has no DMX out signal?

djkermiedjkermie Registered User
I just purchased a programming wing and have patched a single volkslight 13 channel and there is no signal being recieved ? should I be using the pc software ? don't get it

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited July 2012
    It is very hard to help with an issue if you don't provide the details.
    What exactly is your setup?
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    ok i have hog 3 pc software installed . im a hog ipc guy and i was told by highend that i should use wholehog software for the programming wing . oh and the details are I JUST BOUGHT A PROGRAMMING WING AND I WANT TO GET DMX OUT and am not how do i , one two is should i download the wholehog software if im comforatable with the IPC SYSTEM BUT DONT HAVE IT ANYMAORE?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited July 2012
    Well to get DMX, you also need a device that outputs DMX.
    The only ones that are currently supported are the Single Widget, Super Widget, and DP-8000.
    With just the Programming Wing you will not get any DMX output.
    Unless it is the Road Hog Programming Wing with the optional Super Widget built in.

    Do you know which one do you have?
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    i have a single widget also so no worries im just new to anything other than the ipc , so what the 3 pin comin out of the programming wing?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited July 2012
    The 3-pin is for the LED desklamp.
    Make sure that both the Programming Wing and the Widget are connected to your PC via USB cables.

    Then Patch your fixtures.
    Open the Network status window by clicking the network icon to the right of the command line, and then select the internal DP-8000 and make sure your widget is mapped to the appropriate universe there.
    Plenty of info on this in the manual if you need specifics.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    its been a year since i programmed on the ipc DUH I FEEL STUPID! yes helps tremendously! thanks
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    one more q ? should i download the wholehog software instead of the pc software if im more ipc familiar ?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited July 2012
    Not sure what the question is.
    Are you asking about Hog2PC vs Hog3PC?
    I would recommend Hog3PC over Hog2PC for many reasons, but either one will work with your wings/widgets.
    All the info I gave above pertains to Hog3PC.
    So feel free to use whichever one you are most comfortable with to start.
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    yep starting over lol yes thathelp thanks
  • djkermiedjkermie Registered User
    edited July 2012
    ok I swear I KNOW HOW TO PROGRAM LOL , SO NOW I HAVE SIGNAL AND CONTROL THANK YOU , NOW I KNOW YOU CAN plug in the dmx to your universe and all the fixtures that are there come up and you can use a ?" function" to patch the "next availavble address, ?? not just individually , etcc.. help ?
Sign In or Register to comment.