cyberlight sv problems

elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
edited November 2011 in HES Automated Lighting
Hey, im currently running 10 sv units in my rig, but im having a bit of an issue with 3 of them.

Cyber 1: lamp flickers when turned on but turns back off after a few seconds. and rehomes itself. weird thing is, is that it still follows its right lighting cues from my hog. any suggestions???

Cyber 2: works just fine but occasionally one of the wires connectected to the lamp burns off dont know if it could be an ignitor issue, i ask this because if it is then im going to have to take the unit down. all ten of my units are placed 40 to 50 feet off the ground.

**this issue is also happening to Cyber 4.

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Cyber 1: lamp flickers when turned on but turns back off after a few seconds. and rehomes itself. weird thing is, is that it still follows its right lighting cues from my hog. any suggestions???

    Probably either a bad ballast or a bad 14-pin harness between the PSB and Logic boards.
    Cyber 2: works just fine but occasionally one of the wires connectected to the lamp burns off dont know if it could be an ignitor issue, i ask this because if it is then im going to have to take the unit down. all ten of my units are placed 40 to 50 feet off the ground.

    Are you replacing the wires with HES parts, or just random bits of wire? The wires MUST be from HES as they are specially rated to deal with the heat and UV from the lamp. Also check that the woven insulating sleeve that covers both of these wires is instact and covering as much of the wires as possible. If all of this is good, then you may have a bad ignitor.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Yes the wires I use are specially made too take the heat,and the woven sleeve is still in good condition I just got 4 of the cyberspace recently from a dealer in Canada. So I'm guessing the ignitor has gone bad..thank you very much. I will see if its that 14pin harness is giving a bad headache ob that one cyber
  • jksorgjksorg Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited October 2011
    On Cyber #1, I have this problem every so often because my cybers are in an ice arena. It causes some corrosion on the 14pin header cable betweeen the power card and the logic card.

    2 of the pins of the 14pin is the 12V signal that lets the power card tell the logic card that the lamp is struck.

    Even a bit of corrosion can degrade the signal just enough to keep the logic card from knowing the lamp is on. I can usually just break the connections and reconnect them and it takes care of the problem.

    Hope this helps. Take care!
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited October 2011
    thank you, ill check again when i have the time too get up there..

    OMG....another issue just came up!!

    Cyber 8: for the 1st time in about 2 years since i had issues with it! but, here it goes, lamp is struck but the fixture wont follow what my hog tell it to do. wont rehome,or shut off from the board. brought it down tonight and unplugged both input and output dmx's, went to 1 on the personality too see if it will go through its cycle. nothing happend. tried a diffrent cyber on that same channel (switch address to clone cyber 8).. worked fine! so i hung the working cyber...but when up there!! IT DID IT AGAIN!! its like its stuck in pause or something!!wont rehome nor follow cues!! HELP!!! 4 out my 10 cybers are meesing up! giving me HUGE! headache...
  • jeeperjeeper Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Make sure the two part XLRs are locked together! I've had most of these probs in different cybers and half the time its been that, simple but a real pain in the a$$!!
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited October 2011
    hey guys many many thanks!!! i think i know whats going on with it but i need your opinion and comments on this..

    Cyber 8: i opened it up today and went ahead a turned on the fixture. unlugged and plugged back in the 14 pin connector. lamp fired up just fine, but i noticed that there we\as no power going to any of my motors, you can usually tell when there is power when you feel clicking when you try moving any of the motors. and i noticed another thing! one of the three (3) led lights from the power board was NOT on. (its green and reads 12v, center led) what do you think is the cause of this.

    once again! thank you very much for your help!! don't know what would i do if you guys aren't around!
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited October 2011
    my bad! did i say 12v... i meant +24V green led
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Likely a power supply or fuse failure . . . probably the easiest thing to fix in the fixture . . . Maybe cable, but more likely a component . . .

    - Tim
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited October 2011
    If you are missing one or more of the power LED indicators it is either a fuse as stated earlier, or (more likely) a bad transformer.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited October 2011
    I have had numerous rectifiers, regulators, and even caps die over the years. I have *NEVER* had *ANY* device fail a transformer . . . myself, it's the *LAST* place I would look - they are totally passive, and unless the wrong fuse was used in front of it, pretty hard to break . . . .

    At least that has been my experience having been in sound/lighting/electronics in general since 1979 or so . . .

    - Tim
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Well. Got it working again. Transformer was fine had to just replace the psb. Fuses in the old psb were fine, I'm guessing the psb just went bad.been used for several years without problems.

    Many many thanks. Ill probably just feed the old psb to my tigers..and BTW!! Got cyber 2 and 4 up and running.thanks guys! I use these cybers everyday.for 8 ours straight.6 days a week. They're prone to have problems once in a while.but thanks to you guys! U make my job a little mire easier
  • tadawsontadawson Registered User
    edited October 2011
    If you don't want the PSB card, let me know - I'll pay shipping. These things are pretty easy to repair . . .

    - Tim
  • elaydabrianelaydabrian Registered User
    edited November 2011
    Hey quick question. In my logic has 3 led yellow green and red, what does it mean when the yellow led is off but all other led's are on? Hmmmm.....
Sign In or Register to comment.