Default Effect size ??

ahelgorahelgor Registered User
This has Always annoyed me, but have never thought about taking up here.. but I´ve never understood why the default effect size is not 0...

-I realize that "it´s always been like that" even since H2, but that does not necessarily make it the best value.

-Can we please have a discussion about this? -What does all you other guys out there feel about this?

-Me personally I only use a few of the default effects, but for example circle I use.. I find it counterproductive to start at 180 degrees size..(after all,most pan/tilt effects usually have a size from 0 to 50 or so) the logical thing is to let it start at 0 and fade up the size.. now I "have" to either change the default when I create a new show, or start in blind and get the size to 0 before releasing blind again, to not have all my movers spin around like crazy for about two seconds..

-So please feel free to speak up ;)

Comments

  • Hans BHans B Registered User
    edited September 2011
    ahelgor wrote: »
    to not have all my movers spin around like crazy for about two seconds..
    ;)

    and after that the truss is swinging for a couple of minutes...

    So yes, I also prefer a default effect size of 0 to start with.
  • nibornibor Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    Me >>>to and I have asked Brad this, when I grab something on the fly it looks like the lights gone nuts, two years I asked for this,
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    I'm with you all, grabbing a bunch of lights on the fly and applying a circle effect just makes it look like you've lost control, OK you can use blind turn down the size and speed turn blind off and your away but its just more button presses when you need to do something quick....... I cant see why anyone would be upset if the size was reduced down, maybe not to zero as i'm sure some people would have the issues thinking that the effect isn't running but how about 45 or something like that ?
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited September 2011
    Hello All

    The effects size has always been based on half of the potential of said parameter.
    This goes for the effect palettes or when creating your own effects.
    With that being said, I do agree that for Pan and Tilt this is to high.
    I know this has been discussed before but I could not find the bug referring this, so I logged a new one.
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited September 2011
    I have logged this as Bug #15521.
    I said in the bug we need to set the P/T size to 45 degrees instead of 180.
  • XOP15XOP15 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    perfect
  • ahelgorahelgor Registered User
    edited September 2011
    I still Think 45 is way to much. 10 would be fine
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited September 2011
    Anders

    I will add your comment to the bug.
  • nibornibor Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    I am with 10.
  • ShrunkenNedShrunkenNed Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    10!
    Glad you posted! I was just about to finally post the same request!
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    I vote for 10 too...
    Because the crazy FX size I tend to start making FX in Blind.
  • skierskier Registered User
    edited October 2011
    I had just logged into the site to request the very same thing!!

    I agree with 10 as well, the smaller the better!
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited October 2011
    Skier

    I have added you comment to the bug.
  • Hugovd89Hugovd89 Registered User
    edited October 2011
    Awesome idea

    It looks so unprofessional when you start programming and all spots go nuts. Or when busking on the fly, making a effect during the show.

    10 or 0 would be a whole lot better:D
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited October 2011
    Hugo

    I have added your comment to the bug.
  • JohannezJohannez Registered User
    edited November 2011
    size 10 sounds good. Now I always start programming P/T fx in Blind mode.
    Maybe an idea to adjust the speed of P/T fx as well?
  • spcentralspcentral Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited November 2011
    Would there be a ways to add Effect Default values as a new section to User Preferences? (Kinda like default timing?)
  • leebotleebot Registered User
    edited November 2011
    I think that making it an editable user default would be the best option.
  • runbmcrunbmc Registered User
    edited August 2012
    leebot wrote: »
    I think that making it an editable user default would be the best option.

    I absolutely agree! I would set mine to 0
Sign In or Register to comment.