Bug Hog PC Ver 3.1 - AutoLaunch Causes Runtime Error

tbslytertbslyter Registered User, Hog Beta
edited September 2011 in Wholehog 3 General Discussion
Just installed Hog PC 3.2.1 on a new Dell Opti-Plex 360 Desktop for an installation client.

Win 7 Professional
2 19" Planar Touchscreens
USB Super Widget
USB Programming Wing
Hog PC Keyboard

Only thing on the computer is Hog PC. When I enable AutoLaunch about 2/3s of the time I get a C+ Runtime error warning window when Hog PC launches. Hog PC will eventually launch, but the widget is unresponsive. (I.e. the cuelists won't play.)

When this error occurs you can not exit out of Hog PC with out going to task manager and manually ending all of the processes.

If I turn off auto launch and just open the show file manually through the start-up screen it is fine. Anyone else with this issue?

I tried to attach the show file but apparently the new file format is not supported in this forum?


Travis Slyter
Ruehling Associates, Inc.

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited August 2011
    Travis, where is your show file located on the hard drive that you are attempting to autolaunch? What is your wait time set to on the autolaunch? Also check to make sure your UAC settings are turned off and that all the firewall/anti-virus stuff in Windows is disabled.
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited August 2011
    Travis

    Thanks for the information.
    I was able to recreate this problem by auto launching 6 times, on the 6th time I got the error.
    I am going to look more into this, I will let you know what I find.
  • tbslytertbslyter Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited August 2011
    Hi Chris,

    Show file is located in the default show directory on the HDD.

    Wait time is the default 5 seconds.

    I will check the UAC settings. Firewall and A/V are off as the machine is not networked so there is no A/V software loaded on it.

    Thanks.

    Travis
  • Michael_GrahamMichael_Graham Registered User, Super Moderator, HES Staff
    edited August 2011
    Travis

    After more testing I can only get this to occur if I relaunch 3PC immediately after shutting it down. - in a show, quit 3PC and then relaunch 3PC immediately.

    If I wait 5 to 10 seconds after quitting 3PC before relaunching I do not run into this error.
    Can you please confirm this is what you are seeing as well?
  • tbslytertbslyter Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited August 2011
    Hi Michael,

    That may be it. Unfortunately I won't be back on site for a couple of days, but I will do some testing when I return.

    If memory serves we were testing the auto-launch feature and we might just have been hopping out of it and restarting too quick.

    Thanks for the follow-up and I will be in touch with you and see if that makes as difference.

    Travis
  • tbslytertbslyter Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited September 2011
    Hi Michael,

    It seems that auto-launch is working fine now, we just have to wait 10-15 seconds if we close the file before relaunching Hog PC.

    Thanks for your help.

    Travis
  • JeroenvanderVeldenJeroenvanderVelden Registered User
    edited September 2011
    Big shows can take quite a while to actually completely close, on Hog3PC (even on fast computers). The desktop quits, but the server keeps running for a while. We have a show that takes about 30 seconds to exit the server, even when it looks like Hog3PC is fully closed. If you use a DP8000, you can see the actual "disconnect" takes about 30 seconds.

    In the recent software versions, I get a "Server not closed, force kill or wait" dialog when quitting. Pressing "Wait" (or just waiting) does the trick, it just takes a bit longer.

    (Showfile is a mess, I have to admit).
Sign In or Register to comment.