Wifi Hog3PC and iPC on 3.2 issue

MarcSMarcS Registered User
I open a new Thread, becouse i dont get Wifi (RFU) running...here is the old Thread:
(i connected iPC 3.2. and Hog3PC 3.2. as i usually did all the time before
3.2 HogPC as RFU ...it takes much longer to connect to iPC Show, but i can launch...after a while (different, some minutes ) and some button action Hog3PC crashes, in Networkwindow on iPC i can see that the PC node is alternating to offline/online before it crashes...
There is no difference if i use same or other Netnumber, IPC is Server.
i did not change any configurations in my Network prefs (Firewall off)

Hog3PC runs on XP SP2, Apple Airport Express

Never had any issues before...
Any Hints?
Thanks
Marc

It works hardwired , no crash since 30min ,..is it possible that it is a Wifi issue with 3.2? The config of Airport has not changed since 3.1.9)

The connection is very unstable via Wifi and Hog3 PC crash after a few minutes. Its stable and work with Cable!

Marc

Comments

  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited July 2011
    v3.2.0 is a somewhat more network intensive release then any release prior and it is possible that the Wifi setups are not keeping up with the realtime nature of the Wholehog application as well as before. I have been doing some performance testing here in our lab but have not incurred this problem however I will continue to collect data and try to reproduce.
  • MarcSMarcS Registered User
    edited July 2011
    I have reinstalled Hog3PC and also the Airport Express and
    did all the configurations new. The connection still does not work
    proper at Wifi.
    It seems that there are short dropouts so that the RFU lost the server
    "Console has restarted since the server has shutdown"
    In fact, the HogiPC server did not shut down.....

    Does anyone have the same problems?

    Marc
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited July 2011
    Just as a testing measure do you have another wifi router at your disposal to try? I dug up a pretty old Dell Windows XP SP2 laptop (2ghz, 1gig ram) and connected it to one of the iPCs here in the test lab and connected and ran all kinds of chases and programming for about an hour without any hiccups on v3.2.0.

    Make sure if you setup your Airport Express to serve DHCP that you disable DHCP server on both the iPC and the RFU. That is very important!

    Also make sure run server is not checked in Hog3PC settings on your RFU or any unit you are connecting via Wifi.

    Also, what else is on your wireless/wired Airport Express network?

    And finally which motherboard model is your iPC? You should be able to determine this during the startup screen during the Bios post.

    After seeing the 3.2.0 system run here like it did with the older Dell XP laptop and my Macbook in Windows 7 simultaneously running as clients to an iPC I am confident we can get your system up and running on 3.2.0.
  • MarcSMarcS Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Hello Chris,

    1) i tried a second Airport Express (same Model) today, i try another Wifi Router (Speedport) Hog PC is running on MacBook Pro Bootcamp Win XP Pro SP2

    2) i tried different conigurations..WDS and iPC serve DHCP, at the moment both DHCP off
    3) iPC is server, server is off on HogPC
    4) There is nothing more on Airport than Hog
    5) Intel Celeron 2,8GHZ

    today, i will try a different Wifirouter. As i said before, as soon as i run it networked with cable, i works perfect.

    Thanks
    Marc
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited July 2011
    Go ahead and send me your show file with instructions on what you were doing typically to cause the connection to go down. You can upload it to my email using upload.highend.com and use my email which is chris.muenchow at barco.com
  • MarcSMarcS Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Thanks Chris
    file is on the way

    ––––––––––––––––––––
    last try holds about 15 minutes before HogPC went down (without any action)
    3PC> Boot Server only, Custom IP 172.31.0.2
    iPC> Boot Server only, Custom IP 172.31.0.1

    as much as i reconnect to Show, as faster HogPC go offline
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited July 2011
    So wait. Is your router setup in the 172.31.0.X range? I mean, if you set your consoles up to obtain IP using DHCP what addresses do you get?
  • MarcSMarcS Registered User
    edited July 2011
    in the last config the router was in bridge mode. as a dhcp server the ip is 169.254......
    and i did the config with this range for for hogpc and ipc. do you think its the address range of 172.31.... which is in conflict with airport?

    standard configuration: HogPC Obtain IP using DHCP > 169.254.71.150
    IPC Cutom IP > 169.254.71.148 (DHCP and Boot Server) Range 169.254.71.149-169.254.191.200
    Router 169.254.71.149 Bridge
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Sounds like you might be having IP issues then.

    The 169.x.x.x range is used by Windows to assign an IP when no DHCP server is present.

    Try changing all your IPs on all your devices to the 172.031.x.x range with a subnet of 255.255.0.0 and see if that makes things better.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • MarcSMarcS Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Thanks Marty,
    in this config, the iPC hands out the IP, i had it before all set to 172.31...(this was perfect with 3.1.9 ) ...i still have in all my trials with different IP configs dropouts...i mean, the Console and HogPC always connect, but after a while HogPC loses the Server (iPC). At the moment, i have no idea, what to do...and i will focus via Cat5

    Maybe, someone can give me a good working setup for this? (Apple Airport Express)
    Greets
    Marc
  • snowmaniac153snowmaniac153 Registered User
    edited July 2011
    or any wireless router, I can still not run my laptop with the wireless network on. I have to disable it to work.. Tell this gets some sort of work around I will sadly be reverting back to the last version
Sign In or Register to comment.