SoftwareVersionMismatch

barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
So after switching a recalled brand new DP8K to an older model, I was successful in getting the console conected to the DP8K. Despite the show seeming to being running with no problems, I am getting a message on the display of the DP8K that reads "SoftwareVersionMismatch". This is displayed where it would normally say Output Active. The show is running, but what does the message mean?

Comments

  • stephenwykerstephenwyker Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Did you go into setup, network, software update and match the software versions accordingly? If the software locally on the DP8k isn't the same as what's running on the console, DMX will not be sent and output. I'm sure you have, but you may want to try hard loading the software to the dp8k as well ... might not have uploaded correctly the first time.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    I ran the update before anything. I checked that again, once I saw the message, but it doesnt say any updates are needed.
  • cmuenchowcmuenchow Registered User, Administrator, HES Staff
    edited July 2011
    What software version does the DP8000s control panel show?
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    v3.2.0(b3148)HWrev1

    Funny thing. I had a Tablet running as a server and a console running as a server. Each running a different Net number. I had to move my desk a few feet, and while I did that, the console lost power and the Tablet took over(just as you guys had designed). When I powered up the console and logged it back in, the message is now gone and I see the "Output Active" message as I should.
  • tymontymon Registered User
    edited July 2011
    barnes2000 wrote: »
    v3.2.0(b3148)HWrev1

    Funny thing.

    there's quite a handful of funny things a multi-host system does.
    looking forward to 3.2.1!
  • edited July 2011
    Is it possible you have another console (or copy of Hog3pc) on the network that's running and older version of the hog software?

    Just an FYI since you mentioned running a server on your tablet. You should not use WiFi between servers in a multi-server network. Always use hard-wired ethernet in the core network between servers. If you use a laptop or tablet PC as an RFU, turn off the server on it and join it to the show as a client console.

    Servers depend on having a reliable, low latency, network between them. WiFi has very different packet loss and delay behavior from wired networks. If servers have to synchronize over WiFi, it can lead to spurious failovers and other undesirable behaviors.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Eric,
    That is exactly what I have been doing. The Original server is a Tablet that is hard lined into the Hognet along with the console as a second server. I have another Tablet that is also logged in as a Client(no server) and it is connected via WiFi. Everything is on the current build of 3.2 and it is all working fine. No messages today, and yesterdays message was only for a brief time.

    On a side note: This is only my second time to use a DP8000. I've noticed that these processors run way hotter than the 2K, I'm assuming they take up more amps too. Case in point, I overloaded my small UPS yesterday at the end of the day. So today, I separated the DP8K onto its own UPS and moved it out of the case it was in and on top to let it breathe.
  • tymontymon Registered User
    edited July 2011
    barnes2000 wrote: »
    these processors run way hotter than the 2K

    I think the remote temperature readout is there.. ehmm, not without a reason.
  • edited July 2011
    barnes2000 wrote: »
    On a side note: This is only my second time to use a DP8000. I've noticed that these processors run way hotter than the 2K, I'm assuming they take up more amps too.

    The DP2000 has a 6 watt power supply.
    The DP8000 has a 150 watt power supply (although it will normally draw substantially less than that).

    The DP8000 has a heck of a lot more computational power than the 2000. I think we officially say it's more than 50 times the processing power, but realistically it's over 100x.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Thanks Eric. Everything seems to be running very smooth today. Just to make me feel better, I have a small fan shooting onto it. :)
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Interesting fact....Before I added the clip on fan, the CPUs were burning between 69° and 71°. I've been told that past 72° can be bad. Since the fan has been running they are now down to 40°.
  • edited July 2011
    barnes2000 wrote: »
    I've been told that past 72° can be bad.

    Whoever told you that is wrong.

    The processor used in the DP8000 is rated for a die temperature of 100 degC.

    The fans don't even turn on until one of the cores hits 71 degC. Below that it's passively cooled.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Good to know. Thanks Eric.
    What temp does the text turn red?
  • edited July 2011
    The temps are not color coded (Only the voltages are color coded).

    If your CPU core temps approach the upper 90's you should probably verify that the fans are working properly (at that point they'll all be spinning rather fast, and it will be making far more noise than usual. If they hit 105 you need to do something to cool them down.

    At some point they'll trigger thermal overtemp and shutdown automatically by shutting down the core voltage regulator. I believe that happens around 120, but I don't have the data in front of me at the moment.

    Note this is the CPU Core Temp only that I'm talking about. The other temps have very different valid ranges.

    The DP8000 does run warm (just like a lot of modern laptops). We've discussed turning on the fans at a lower temp just to make people feel better, but at that point it's just sucking in extra dust and dirt unnecessarily.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    Good point.
    I'm curious what the most amount of DP8Ks that have been stacked on top of each other is? I would imagine the heat build up is significantly more when there's more than one working.
  • edited July 2011
    In our QC testing, we test DP8000s in stacks of 10.

    A large stack just means the fans run more often. They don't really get any hotter since the fans run just enough to keep the units at the target temp.
  • bsbjuicerbsbjuicer Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Hi Scott,
    I have a DP8000 running in the perms for a set I am on now. Don't know the core temps, but the perms hit 120F on Friday. 110 spacelights in a small stage will do that. No problems! Works great!

    Bryan
  • stagelitesstagelites Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    I put a rack fan into my DP8k rack, and have not had one time that the fans fire on. Even when I am outside on a hot day.
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited July 2011
    This is all good to know. I'll stop worrying.

    Bryan,
    Are you running 3.2? What is your DP doing in the perms?
  • bsbjuicerbsbjuicer Registered User
    edited July 2011
    Started the show on 3.1.7 in March, so I'm still on it. REALLY want to make the move to 3.2 but we flip from stage to stage and have a bunch of 1st unit/2nd unit crossover with show files. 3.1.7 has been rock solid. I'll make the move when this ends in September. I have messed with 3.2 on my laptop just to check it out.
    The DP8000 is in the perms 'cause the set is built from fire lane to fire lane and DMX is running to dimmers in a mini mobile outside the stage, Dimmers in a dimmer room inside the stage, multiple Image80 trusses, floor DMX 4x4s, Hybrid LED runs (DMX over Cat6) and a WDMX transmitter for a wild LED chandelier (20 channels). 6 universes spider out and one Cat6 to the board. Once we finish 2nd unit comes in and takes over. I hand off of a show file and an ethernet cable. Weeeeee!

    Bryan
Sign In or Register to comment.