Backup console as wing?

chiefochiefo Registered User
Hi,
Been reading this forum for a while but this is my first post, just took delivery of 2 full boars and am very happy about this! They've both gone straight out on a month long run of shows, one as a backup desk. Some of the shows are going to be busked, but since we haven't yet got any wings available, we were wondering could we network the desks in such a way as to have separate playbacks on each, while using only the main desk's dmx outputs?

Been searching quite a bit and haven't found anything, so guessing it's not possible, just looking for a definitive answer really, or if there are any known workarounds.

Cheers, very useful forum by the way.

Comments

  • chadlchadl Registered User
    edited June 2011
    There is a work around. Network the 2 like you have been, and run 1 as a backup, then use different pages on each console.

    It has been a while since I've done this, but I'm pretty sure a grandmaster on either console will act as a grandmaster for both.
  • kurtiswilkkurtiswilk Registered User
    edited June 2011
    Unless I am mistaken and missed network backups. when you log into a show with a second console. The console is simply a very fancy wing. every change you do on console 2 is technically recorded on console 1.

    A few shows with limited time, I've had a second programmer log in wiuth a laptop to facilitate faster programming. Takes a bit of getting used to.

    i believe Chadl is correct with the experience I've had doing so
  • chiefochiefo Registered User
    edited June 2011
    Cheers for the help, fairly new to this, no console networking experience bar connecting wysiwyg to Hog 2PC and Hog 3PC.

    So yeah I guess what I was really asking was could you run separate pages on networked consoles, I'll take that as a yes then! Thank you.

    One more thing, exactly what hardware do I need to achieve this? Again I haven't been able to find anything definitive about connecting 2 consoles and nothing else. Do I need a hub/router, or will a crossover cable do the trick?

    Cheers again, sorry I know this will probably have been covered elsewhere, just eluded me!
  • GordoGordo Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited June 2011
    I BELIVE that a crossover cable will suffice, but I have not used it myself
  • jussikamunenjussikamunen Registered User
    edited June 2011
    Crossover should be enough. If you have more than two devices in same network (DP´s, laptop for hog3pc, laptop for wysiwyg...) then you need a router. I would go with a router in any case.

    Since you are using two different pages anyway in your consoles you can record over your GM with a cuelist on your wing-page. This way you dont need to worry about unplanned blackouts.
  • chiefochiefo Registered User
    edited June 2011
    Thanks all, done and working, excellent!
  • JeffMJeffM Registered User
    edited June 2011
    There is also another way you can do this.
    Doug Flenor makes a device for combining dmx from 2 consoles allowing 2 to be on the same universes at the same time. One is usually the backup to the other so if one takes a dump the other can be used to pick up and continue the show. With this you could always just program different cue lists and pages for additional playbacks and looks.
Sign In or Register to comment.