Roadhog full boar + Martin Maxedia via ARTNET

michael.berglundmichael.berglund Registered User
Hi!
To start with, I have tried searching for answers.

I'll have a setup where I use RoadHOG Full Boar and Martin Maxedia Pro.
I have a video back wall (ShowLED Animation) that I should control from Maxedia. Just using the video output.

I also have 40-50 Alkalite Trackpod TP81, which I want too controll from both the Hog consoll and Martin Maxedia Pro with Art-Net.
All the Trackpods are all placed so I can use som patterns/animations with them all.

I just have 1 dmx univers output on the Maxedia, and want it too use the univers from Roadhog.

Is it possible? how do I connect it? and what do I need?

I have 10 days to figure out something.

I hope you all understand and have som answers ;)

Michael

Comments

  • Abbe RPM Digital LightingAbbe RPM Digital Lighting Registered User
    edited March 2011
    Hi Michael,

    While not familiar with Maxxedias Artnet capabilities i think the Fullboar has one of the easiest ways of connecting things over Artnet.

    Things to keep in mind:
    - Make sure the Fullboar is connected thru the Fixture Link connector
    - Check that Fullboar and Maxxedia is on the same IP range, i.e. 192.168.100.XXX where the last number must be different between units connected to the Network. on these network adapters. There is two in the fullboar and other mediaservers has two network connections too
    - Compared to a XLR 5pin DMX, Artnet has:
    *Start Adress (Same as DMX 1 - 512)
    *Subnet 0 - 15
    *Universe 0 - 15 (Only 12 is available from the Fullboar, to expand you will need a DP8000)
    Between some brands and units there is a confusion (or difference of opinion) whether to use 0 or 1 for the First Subnet and Universe

    Good luck /Abbe
  • michael.berglundmichael.berglund Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Hi!
    Thanks, for the answer!
    so you think its "easy" to config?


    Out of Fullboar I have to use the Fixture Ethernet connections(?).
    but the Maxedia have 2 artnet connetions(one in and the other out)

    The Hog network connections im gona use to a remotelaptoe too focus lights and i going to bli linked to WYSIWYG for visualizing.

    How do the physical connections?




    Hi Michael,

    While not familiar with Maxxedias Artnet capabilities i think the Fullboar has one of the easiest ways of connecting things over Artnet.

    Things to keep in mind:
    - Make sure the Fullboar is connected thru the Fixture Link connector
    - Check that Fullboar and Maxxedia is on the same IP range, i.e. 192.168.100.XXX where the last number must be different between units connected to the Network. on these network adapters. There is two in the fullboar and other mediaservers has two network connections too
    - Compared to a XLR 5pin DMX, Artnet has:
    *Start Adress (Same as DMX 1 - 512)
    *Subnet 0 - 15
    *Universe 0 - 15 (Only 12 is available from the Fullboar, to expand you will need a DP8000)
    Between some brands and units there is a confusion (or difference of opinion) whether to use 0 or 1 for the First Subnet and Universe

    Good luck /Abbe
  • amir877amir877 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2011
    You need to use a hub to split the ethernet wires
  • Joe BleasdaleJoe Bleasdale Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Use the FIXTURE LINK port on the Full Boar. Then use the IN Port on the Maxedia.

    Thanks.
  • Abbe RPM Digital LightingAbbe RPM Digital Lighting Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Hi Michael, if i am not misstaken you have my phonenumber? Just give me a call :)
  • SspotSspot Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Artnet y Hog family no work with the 2.x.x.x Range?

    Maxedia Work with this range
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited April 2011
    Sspot wrote: »
    Artnet y Hog family no work with the 2.x.x.x Range?

    Maxedia Work with this range

    Hogs have the unique ability to use ArtNet in any routable IP range.
    Most (if not all) other desks are relegated to the 10.x.x.x and/or 2.x.x.x range as per the original ArtNet spec.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • SanderLSanderL Registered User
    edited April 2011
    One little question i have, but i think it is not big enough to open a new topic. With an IPC it is also possible to send out artnet to a node of for instance Luminex?
  • Woodj32177Woodj32177 Registered User
    edited April 2011
    There is no artnet capability in the ipc, nor the roadhog.
    Only the Full Boar, and DP8000 have this ability.

    Joshua Wood
Sign In or Register to comment.