Releasable Pan/Tilt

barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
I'm curious if there are any advantages or disadvantages to disabling releasable on the Pan and Tilt parameters? It seems like it works a bit like a Virt.
I was thinking about trying it out for a while. Just wanted get thoughts from others.

Comments

  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    I use this all the time. Especially for DL units.

    The advantage I like for concerts is that anytime you change pages the units aren't trying to go to default positions before/during the firing of the first cue on the new page. It just looks smoother when they go from their last position to the new one.

    It is easy enough to get back to "default" using the period key (ie - hold down "." and touch Position)

    Personally the things I always make "non-releasable" are:
    - Pan/Tilt for all fixtures
    - Zoom/Focus for all fixtures
    - Color Scrollers

    Occasionally I'll even put CMY/Colour as well so that there is always a color engaged (never unintentionally white).

    Hope this helps. :)
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    Thanks Marty. This is helpful to know.
  • z6p6tist6z6p6tist6 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    It will feel a bit like a Virt (for fixtures that are in an 'Out' or 'Zero' state). You just need to be very cautious if you're programming out of order, as (unlike a virt) you can get in to a situation where you think you've programmed the appropriate information in to a cue or scene, but it's really held over from the last thing that you played back.

    PG
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    z6p6tist6;51224 said:
    It will feel a bit like a Virt (for fixtures that are in an 'Out' or 'Zero' state). You just need to be very cautious if you're programming out of order, as (unlike a virt) you can get in to a situation where you think you've programmed the appropriate information in to a cue or scene, but it's really held over from the last thing that you played back.

    PG

    Personally I find it always useful to Record using "State" when programming out of order in this manner....then go back and "Unblock" later so values can track through.

    Should keep you from hitting any pitfalls that way regardless of if fixtures have "Releasable" parameters or not.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • Unknown Users Awaiting Email Confirmation
    edited December 2010
    If you set P+T to non-releasable, you really have to keep track of where you're moving from/to when using fixtures above that stage that are pointing nearly straight down.

    Most moving heads can focus on the same point on stage at 2 or 3 different P+T combinations. When you release back to 50/50, you always start from the same point. But if you're starting from wherever your last position was, it's easy to go end up doing a 300 degree CW pan between two cues when you really only needed a 60 degree CCW move. This doesn't hurt anything, but looks sloppy and can result in a longer/noisier cue than you'd have otherwise.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited December 2010
    While I don't completely disagree with you Eric.

    This issue is usually avoided by making proper Position Palettes to make sure fixtures always take the shortest path between positions.

    And you probably shouldn't be writing cues without palettes first. ;)

    Hope this helps. :)
  • stephenwykerstephenwyker Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2011
    Where is this described (documentation wise) -- also is it possible do to the same thing with other perimeters such as color and beam? This is one of the great features I love when programming on the virt.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2011
    Yes, any parameter can made non-releasable.
    See my post at the top of this thread for ways I find this useful.

    Hope this helps. :)
  • stephenwykerstephenwyker Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2011
    Marty- I know its sunday morning; and I may still be half asleep; I can see how it's useful, just not how to "use" it and implement it. How do I turn this function on/off?
  • jxgriffijxgriffi Registered User, DL Beta, Hog Beta
    edited March 2011
    Stephen,

    In the patch window...click Edit Fixtures. In the popup you can selected "releasable" for the different functions.

    J
Sign In or Register to comment.