Group FX

srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
While I was teaching one of my studets threw this kind of idea...
Could it be possible to have a FX in amount of fixtures running the FX.

So, for example you have a rainbow in a group of fixtures containing 12 fixtures. With this modifier you could limit the FX to one fixture and when you put the modifier to full FX is run on all fixtures.

Comments

  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    I really like to here comments about this. Is there any console on the market which can do this? Is this feature requested already?
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2007
    Sami,

    I've been thinking about this a bit and I'm not entirely sure that I understand. I'm imagining a modifier on the effects wheelset that I could adjust while I have all of the fixtures in my effect selected. The problem here is how would the console know which fixture(s) to limit. If you need to select fixtures individually, then wouldn't it be just as easy to adjust the size or rate to 0?

    As I said, I think I'm just missing something here. Any clarification you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    I'm not sure how to explain this, but I try...
    If you have that 12 fixtures running and you put size to zero or rate to zero they all stop... but the idea of the group modifier is that the lower the value is the more of the fixtures go back to their base value.

    I don't know what kind of problems this leads, but it would sure look cool...
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Think about this with a wall of LEDs where you could with fader spread the FX to the whole wall and back to the center of wall.
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2007
    Sami,

    I think my confusion here is that I'm not understanding how the console would determine where to spread from. If this is just based on selection order, then the result would be the same as fanning the effect size, wouldn't it?

    Thanks.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Hmm...true I guess...maybe I'm just thinking things just too complicated. Are we able to control it by fader?
  • Kris.gKris.g Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Again Sami........
    How would the console know which fixtures to use.

    and to do you LED wall idea couldn;t depend ion fixture selection as the lights would be out of order at times.

    I think for this sort of effect you would be best with a system like Catalyst. using the Zoom on a layer with dafferent pixels mapped to tyour LED wall fixtures.

    kris.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Well, in my case it would just those fixture that were selected when making the FX. Just wondering a sine wave in that parameter...
  • Kris.gKris.g Registered User
    edited March 2007
    What we mean Sami is.
    Say you have a led wall of 25 LED units.
    Row 1 - LED 01 - LED 02 - LED 03 - LED 04 - LED 05
    Row 2 - LED 06 - LED 07 - LED 08 - LED 09 - LED 10
    Row 3 - LED 11 - LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14 - LED 15
    Row 4 - LED 16 - LED 17 - LED 18 - LED 19 - LED 20
    Row 5 - LED 21 - LED 22 - LED 23 - LED 24 - LED 25

    So you select you fixtures 1 thru 25 and applyt what ever effect it is you want.

    And you want your effect to shrink to just the center...
    How do you tell the hog 3 that it's just fixtures
    LED 07 - LED 08 - LED 09
    LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14
    LED 17 - LED 18 - LED 19

    As the console could not work that out it's self as it's not the center fixtures in the selection.

    Kris.
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Sounds like you just need to set up your Repeats and/or Buddies to create the behavior you're looking for no?
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    teerickson said:
    Sami,

    I think my confusion here is that I'm not understanding how the console would determine where to spread from. If this is just based on selection order, then the result would be the same as fanning the effect size, wouldn't it?

    Thanks.
    My brain explodes...

    Maybe this really should be called somekind of Fan FX...
    When I thought this a bit more it is just like you said, but I like to run an FX to the amount of fanning. This could work both for size and rate. Also would be nice to able to record fanning amount to a fader.

    Am I making any sense?
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Kris.g said:
    What we mean Sami is.
    Say you have a led wall of 25 LED units.
    Row 1 - LED 01 - LED 02 - LED 03 - LED 04 - LED 05
    Row 2 - LED 06 - LED 07 - LED 08 - LED 09 - LED 10
    Row 3 - LED 11 - LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14 - LED 15
    Row 4 - LED 16 - LED 17 - LED 18 - LED 19 - LED 20
    Row 5 - LED 21 - LED 22 - LED 23 - LED 24 - LED 25

    So you select you fixtures 1 thru 25 and applyt what ever effect it is you want.

    And you want your effect to shrink to just the center...
    How do you tell the hog 3 that it's just fixtures
    LED 07 - LED 08 - LED 09
    LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14
    LED 17 - LED 18 - LED 19

    As the console could not work that out it's self as it's not the center fixtures in the selection.

    Kris.
    The LED example was a bit bad cause in my case result would be like this for example:

    Row 2 - ------ - ------ - LED 08 - LED 09 - LED 10
    Row 3 - LED 11 - LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14 - LED 15
    Row 4 - LED 16 - LED 17 - LED 18 - ------- - ------
  • Kris.gKris.g Registered User
    edited March 2007
    the example you've given there sami is what WOULD happen it you were to use some sort of A fanning effect of your fixtures in your effect.

    The Example I was giving is what you wanted to happen when you mentioned
    "Think about this with a wall of LEDs where you could with fader spread the FX to the whole wall and back to the center of wall."

    The LED units in the center would be:
    ------ - LED 07 - LED 08 - LED 09 - ------
    ------ - LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14 - ------
    ------ - LED 17 - LED 18 - LED 19 - ------

    and as you just said yourself, using a fan evvect would leave you with:
    Row 2 - ------ - ------ - LED 08 - LED 09 - LED 10
    Row 3 - LED 11 - LED 12 - LED 13 - LED 14 - LED 15
    Row 4 - LED 16 - LED 17 - LED 18 - ------- - ------

    Which dosent give you your "into the cunter of the LED wall" effect.


    Kris.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Like I said it was a bad example. Also, the goal of this is not LED wall FX...
    Though it goes to center of wall (LED 13), but the spreading happens from row to row.

    But the main idea was use this for moving lights.
    This example might a bit better...
    You have a row of moving lights and the middle ones are starting to do can-can, then the FX slowly spreads to the whole row...

    How can I do that?

    I made a few tests, though my console was GMA and I wasn't able to make it. The problem with fanning was that it was giving values too soon to the fixtures in the end of the row.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    The next goal is of course to run FX to fan or being able to control the fan by fader.
    And what would happen with this with combination of grouping and buddying. Also this could look pretty interesting when fanning FX between groups of different sizes is possible.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    I now tested this a bit with Hog...
    Like Tom said something can be achieved by using Fan with FX size.
    But theres some problems.
    I used basic rainbow with 13 fixtures and fanned the FX size using center fan
    1) When I fan the size I get the result. The rainbow goes to middle fixture.
    But I cant take out the FX of the middle fixture with fan on. Though it is obvious cause that's the way fan works.
    2) Getting back from middle -> side is bit difficult cause fan starts to add values to sides, not from middle -> side. Though, again it is the way how fan works and there's no inverse center fan (or is there?)

    Maybe this also explains a bit what I'm trying to achieve.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Also my FX could be achieved, if it would be possible to delay the Size with offset
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2007
    Sami, try Fan-ing your delay times or your fade times for the FX.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Now I feel a bit :dunce: but how I do that?
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2007
    No worries.... when you create your FX scroll the FX window all the way to the right past size and length etc., and you will see columns for timing.

    Also you can simply edit the delay time in the cue.

    Select the cells you want to fan. Press Set. Then enter something like 0>330.

    So for 12 fixtures select delay in your editor, select the column(s) of the paramters you want to delay and Set 0>300. Then do the same for the next 6 only Set 300>0 to reverse the order.

    Make sense?:)
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Well something strange is going on, cause I cannot enter any time to those time columns in FX window.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Found the reason I guess...time cannot be inserted to All columns.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    It's a bit confusing to have cells presenting different things in timings of FX. All shows differences of timing between parameters and timing cells of parameter show fanning...
    I thought if I enter a time to All colour delay the time goes to all colour cells. But it doesn't...
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Also I have problems with FX rate... goes only to 0.1 with wheel and when I insert 0 rate to cell it goes to 960
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Thanks Marty for the tip! Now I at least have this working with delays. So it's works nice as a workaround.
    But, I'm back to square one...how to make that work so that it could be controlled with fader or as a parameter which can have an FX :)

    Also I wonder why there can't be FX time in the programmer?
    Also Is there any idea to make Effect Time Time # work or maybe Effect Colour Time Time #
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    A few suggestions about effects before this gets buried.

    1) Any idea to have effects on rate, size and length
    2) Effect times in programmer
    3) Effect timing in command line
    4) Curve for fanning
    5) Rate and size to work the way they remember their relation when going to zero.
    6) Inverse center
    7) And maybe that strange effect spreading effect I requested :)

    I know some of these are requested before, but I tried to gather a few of them in one place
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2007
    Sami,

    These are all good suggestions. I'll make sure that they make it onto the request list.

    Thanks.
  • srautanesrautane Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2007
    Thanks!

    And don't hesitate to ask if something needs more explaining...
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited March 2007
    Sami,

    Everything you said seems to make sense. I may have some specific questions for you as we actually implement features.

    The request for command line syntax for setting effect time is already logged. I don't have the request in front of me, but I'm fairly sure that it's enhancement #4924.
Sign In or Register to comment.