What is "Show Pips"

Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
Hey, I had an operator ask me a this a while back, and I didn't have an answer....

From the Programmer window select the "O" next to the printer icon to open the configuration window and under Editor there is an option "Show Pips"

What does this do?:confused:

Comments

  • Akito.HAkito.H Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2006
    This raises the resolution of the effect parameter on the programmer.
    As a result, a detailed setting can be done by a lot of fixtures, effects, and using it.
    So,Please set this to turning on and edit the effect parameter.
    You can see what is "Show Pips"
    Akito
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2006
    :beerchug:
    Cool, got it thanks!

    Turned it on and I'm seeing that FX rate, offset, and length are now Beats+Pips on the encoders, but you still see Cycles, Degrees, and %s in the Programmer and FX windows.

    Nice one!:headbang:

    Why does it not revert when you disable it though?:confused:

    I had to log off and re-launch before it would go back to normal.
  • Akito.HAkito.H Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2006
    Marty,
    Which console are you using?
    Hog3, iPC or Hog3PC?

    Thnaks,
    Akito
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2006
    Hog 3
    1.3.8.8 b(988)
    Fixt Lib v4.0.96
    1 - Console
    1- DP
    1- Ethernet switch
  • jthatcherjthatcher Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2006
    That is very cool.

    I just tried in build 956 and it does revert back.

    The console setup is the same except the build is one behind.
  • Akito.HAkito.H Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited March 2006
    Marty,
    I also discovered this by an old version.

    At that time, there was not a problem either.

    You might have newly found the bug.

    You might begin a new thread in Wholehog 3 Console v1.3.8.8 Software.
    And, a new bug number will be made.
    Thanks,
    Akito
  • Marty PostmaMarty Postma Registered User
    edited March 2006
    I will certainly do so.

    Thanks again guys!:friday: :headbang:
  • barnes2000barnes2000 Registered User, Hog Beta
    edited April 2006
    So what does Pips stand for?
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited April 2006
    Picture In Picture
    Personal Injury Protection
    Python In PHP
    Project Integration Program
    Parametric Integer Programming
    Peer Information Protocol
    Press Institute of Pakistan
    Postharvest Institute for Perishables

    And for more interesting information about pip, take a look at this:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pip

    And now for the real answer.
    As far as I can tell, in this case pip doesn't stand for anything. If you take a look at the wiki page, you will see that a number of the definitions of pip refer to it as a small unit of numerical significance. Using the show pips option on the console will use pip units to show you some of the actual numeric values that are being used for internal calculations. This isn't usually of use in a show situation, but is another tool that we can use when trying to track down problems.
  • bradpepebradpepe Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited April 2006
    Well Tom was not "with the company" when I explored this a while back. Here is a great page that further explains the use of Pips as it relates to timing and BPM and it will help you to understand its intended use here.

    http://www.miketodd.net/other/gts.htm
  • teericksonteerickson Registered User, HES Alumni
    edited April 2006
    As much as I'd love to go edit my post and act like I already knew that, I must admit that I've learned something new about the Wholehog 3 today.

    Good info, Brad.
Sign In or Register to comment.